We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
30
78
79
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
78
79
24
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel was so dirty. Never again. And the staff was not friendly at all. Our friends had to move room because the room was so dirty, and the new room was even worse. I don't recomend this hotell at all. The pictures are from our room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny J, General Manager at Hotell Ostersund, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for wrighting about us. I`m very sorry about what happend during your stay with us. I have spoken with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

A really enjoyable stay at this hotel in the centre of beautiful Ostersund. Spacious and very well cleaned room, a delicate breakfast and service-minded and friendly staff. In all, a stay well worth the money. Hope to come back for the next Europa League fixture!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank rick199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny J, General Manager at Hotell Ostersund, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time and wright about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel right in the centre. The hotel provides free parking at the backyard, but it is quite difficult to get an empty slot. There are however plenty of places on the street and these are free during night. The breakfast was nice, fresh and tasty – nothing to complain about. The check-in was very fast and efficient. Personnel in the bar is polite and friendly.

During our visit we got a small leaflt that this hotel is leaving Scandic chain during 2017, and this is sad, because it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAMA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny J, General Manager at Hotell Ostersund, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks for taking your time to wright about us.
Scandic is leaving us but the hotel will stand and a lot of exiting thing will happend during 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visit this hotel again, its been maybe 10-15 years ago, still on the same place....., very close to centrum of Østersund Jamtland Sweden.
A typical weekendhotel for visitours, family or couples who visit the city.
We was 4 adults and 2 kids, 1 & 4 years old and rented junior suites, 22kvm with a double bed and a double sofa/bed. Nice rooms on 4th floor, clean rooms with tv, chairs, ref. free internet who works fine.
Park for free on the back of hotel if you find a vacant place, parking tickets at the reseption. Other you can park in the hotel basement for 120kr for 24hrs. Or get a ticket to Q-park next building for 60kr, we choose the last and didnt touch the car from we arrival on friday until departure on sunday.
The clerks on the reseptions was helpful, same with the waitress when we visit the resturant.
Why do I give only 3 points.......
Because of very noicy outside the hotel resturant at nightime, even I know that because of the location and been there before, so I accept that.
Breakfast was a dissepointing, even if it looks like a lots it was almost no variation, cheese x 3 same, liverspread, several type of salami...., thats more or less breadspread mix with som vegetabilies.
Bacon and scrambel eggs......, what cook do they have who can not make scrables eggs but only some half done eggs floating around.....?
Saved by bread and jam......
Was with the kids and eat, the food was a big dissepointing.., so just take a ceasar salat and a pizza......, pizza must been made by same cook..... half done and end up half eaten. The waitress was nice...., until the bill was paid and I didnt tip because of the food then the friendly smile evaporate.
If I will stay there again...., maybe because of the location and the room...., but not the food. There are a resturant just 5 minute walk away called Resturant Dalwhinnie..., good food good service and the best resturant I visit in Østersund during all my visit there, I been in Østersund many times.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hommelvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny J, General Manager at Hotell Ostersund, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking your time to wright about us.
We will look into the critic that you are writing about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting friends. The hotel is in a good location next to the shopping streets and plenty of restaurants - all reachable within walking distance. The hotel and the rooms felt a bit dated but all was clean and well kept. The breakfast was good with great variety but a little bit chaotic due to many guests (Storsjöyran). I felt that the hotel was perhaps a little bit expensive for what it was but that may also be due to the high rate of guests visiting Östersund this particular weekend. Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny J, General Manager at Hotell Ostersund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks for taking your time to wright about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews