We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa da Colina

Casa da Colina Monte Novo village,Paderne
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa da Colina Monte Novo village,Paderne
Spacious 3 double bedroom property with en Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Casa da Colina Monte Novo village,Paderne
Spacious 3 double bedroom property with en Suite
Adult and children's swimming pool with poolside shower.
Two secluded shared pools
Dinning suite that comfortably sits six people.
Spacious open plan living room with two family size sofas.
Well equipped kitchen and breakfast bar.
Alfresco dinning with bbq in rear terrace.
Double En-suite bedroom with solid oak wardrobes and draws leading on to small terrace.
Master en-suite with solid oak wardrobes and draws leading onto roof terrace.
Double size bedroom at rear of property with solid oak wardrobe and draws leading onto roof terrace.
Double size bedroom with two single beds.
One of two upstairs bathrooms.
Sunny roof terrace, ideal for breakfast or lazing in the sun.
Quiet village of Paderne,with coffee bars and restaurants just 10 mins walking from property
Look inside the village church,surrounded by nearby orange trees.
10 minutes walk to village and local supermarket for fresh baked rols.
Beautiful village of Paderne with surrouding orange groves and vineyards.
Minutes walking distance to the charming village of Paderne
Paderne village church at night with small selection of bars and Restaurants close by
one of many local markets
Benegil beach just a small drive away
Many beautiful beaches just 20 mins drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Paderne, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Absolutely loving our holiday here in Paderne. Colin couldn't be more helpful. We'd mentioned to the cleaners half way through holiday that washing machine wasn't working (no big deal), by end of weekend we had new washing machine. Colin couldn't do enough to help. House itself is fantastic. You will need a car to get the best of the Algarve, but you can walk into Paderne in 10-15 minutes. Great local restaurants and cafes, and a couple of great general stores (cheaper than supermarkets). if you want to experience the real Portugal with all the comforts of home, then this is the place for you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you to Phil and your family for a great review, I am always glad to hear that guests are enjoying their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debypar
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely house in lovely village”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed in July 4 Adults 2 children, everything we needed for a great holiday. Plenty of space, all kitchen equipment you need to cook in, and a BBQ. Nice patio garden to the rear with nice seating area with a canopy, to escape the midday sun.
Pool area clean and tidy and we mostly had the pool to ourselves.
A bonus was the wifi as this was not advertised.
I would recommend, although a car a advantage if you want to go out and about lots, we used transfer taxi and the local buses.
The village is lovely Portuguese village, everyone friendly and always a Bom Dia on our way to the village shop.
Os Arcos our favourite restaurant and cafe Algar for coffee on our way back from the village.
Colin a great host, any questions you have he always answers promptly.
Thankyou Colin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you Debra for your kind comments, it's always nice to know that guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you Liz for your kind comments it's always nice to hear that guests enjoy their stay and that the property lived up to your expectations.
It was a real pleasure to have met you and your family and thank you again for respecting my property, I look forward to seeing you back soon,
Regards,
Colin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LynnBentl...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Had a fabulous time great accommodation very clean with fantastic amenities everything we wanted, plenty of room for six of us, close to various beeches and towns, great local shop and bars etc. can't wait to go back and see more

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAW9DV
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little home away from home ....”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Casa da Colina is essentially a terraced house located in a gated community in the Village of Monte Novo, just a stone's throw from the larger village of Paderne in the Algarve region of southern Portugal. The house itself has three, well appointed bedrooms, a good size and well equipped kitchen, a large lounge/dining room and a carport at the front of the property and a courtyard at the rear with seating outside for up to six people. There is an outside balcony on the upper floor which can be accessed from either the main bedroom or the second bedroom. The property benefits from three toilets, two bathrooms and air conditioning units in almost all of the rooms. Tile flooring is used extensively throughout the interior, allowing for a very cool environment in the summer months. This part of Portugal which enjoyed temperatures of between 35 and 37'C when we were there, does cool quite rapidly after dark, down to a more comfortable 26-27'C. Doors can be opened to allow that coolness to come into the property which negates the need for extensive use of the air conditioners. Remember to leave the net doors closed to keep the insects out! The property owner has installed a large fridge/freezer unit, a dishwasher and a washing machine should you decide to eat in on some evenings and if you wish to wash your clothes before returning home. A nice touch is the provision of umbrellas, deck chairs and some children's beach toys which can be used when you go to the beach, saving on the costs of renting these items at the beach location. The property also benefits from car parking space within the gated area, in addition to the carport. When we were there, the carport had items located within it that meant we could not use it for our rental car - but this was never going to be an issue for us and it should not be for anyone else, since space is reserved for the owners/renters use anyway. Note that you may unload outside the house but you MAY NOT park a car outside the property for any length of time. The main gate is opened and closed remotely (units are provided by the owner as well as keys to the house) and the large gate slides back allowing you to drive into and out of the courtyard. There is a shared pool which is available to all residents of properties similar to the one being rented here (properties are owned by people from Holland, Portugal and the UK, some residential and some rented) and is quite large. There is a mini pool also for really young children. We enjoyed these facilities and the pool is set in very nice gardens. Outside of the main gates, you can find large green bins for any waste you accumulate during your stay. Colin, the owner, provides extensive written details both when you contact him to make a booking and held within the property, explaining this and other things you need to know, including where to eat and visit locally and further afield. The property is fairly easy to find (again, Colin provides extensive details on how to get there) and the village of Paderne is within walking distance of Monte Novo, enough for you to leave the rental car and drop down for a meal and some drinks!

Monte Novo and Paderne are pretty cenrtally located and can be reached easily by road from Faro (if you arrive into Faro airport) or from Lisbon (about a three hour drive). We entered southern Europe via Gibraltar and chose to cross the border into Spain, rent a car from Europcar and then drive the four hours and five minutes to the village. There are many attractions along the Algarve Coast including Albufeira, Portimao, Lagos and many other resorts such as Vilamoura (a great harbour and nightlife area recommended for an evening visit).

A note about driving in Portugal for foreign visitors - In 2011, the Portugese government removed all of the toll booths from the motorways and made everything electronic which caused chaos for many drivers, especially drivers of foreign registered or non-Portugese vehicles! Now that chaos has been sorted out and you can choose several options for paying for toll road use. We drove up from Gibraltar via the A381 road out of La Linea towards Seville then took the E5 west to the Portugese border. On reaching the border, you can link a credit or debit card to the registration of your vehicle which allows you to use the toll roads without issue and have your number plate read electronically and the toll charged to the card. At the border, a chap will help you to do this and provide you with a receipt that shows proof of the transaction and crucially describes how to "un-link" or cancel the agreement at the end of your holiday by going on-line or telephoning to cancel the link so that your card is not then charged for use by the next renter of the vehicle! Very easy to do and we encountered no issues at all with this method. You can also pre-purchase "E-Cards" to the value of up to EUR40 which can then be linked to the toll system via and SMS/TEXT from your mobile phone. This can be topped up as necessary using the same method. Google this to locate the Portugese website that will show you a map of the toll system and the charges. They are not expensive. We used the A22 main motorway to get to and from Portugal into and out of Spain as well as now and then when on holiday. My charges have not exceeded EUR20 for the whole time we were there. This is important for tourists to be aware of though which I why I make mention of it here in this review.

Given good weather, Casa da Colina is a lovely little place (the weather was changable before we arrived but was just awesome while we were there) and is an excellent place to use as a base for visting all the resorts along the Algarve. Take the kids to AqauLand and ZooMarine for some water fun and games - very good. Beaches are great and english is widely spoken by very friendly people in a friendly country. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and clean
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing