We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“In Copenhagen short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In Copenhagen short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Easy connection from airport via train to the hotel. Very modern (afterall it's in Denmark!) & clean. Help was professional. Breakfast was very nice as well. Rooms are small (but we believe typical for Copenhagen), but very sufficient (bathroom is just fine!), . Not too close to anything (except a mall next door), so expect to take taxis, trains, etc. Long walk but do-able to Tivoli. Would stay there again for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    949
    329
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
834
101
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We loved our stay and especially the view over the water. We payed extra for that, but it is a must!! Excellent breakfast. Clean. Modern. BUT too FAR from City center to walk. The S-ban is just 3 minutes away, one stop to Central station. we will come back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I selected the Copenhagen Island Hotel because the rooms were air conditioned. The humidity of the harbor area made the a/c welcome. The room were on the small side, but comfortable. The restaurant was fully satisfactory. The hotel is a large one but convenient to a shopping mall and S-Bahn transportation.

We elected to spend 2 nights in Copenhagen prior to taking a cruise around the Baltic Sea. Because of the boarding time for the ship, we needed a later checkout. The hotel was willing to work with us on that issue.

The front desk staff was very helpful to us, and one young man directed us to an ATM in the shopping center close to the hotel.

The one drawback to the hotel is that is was a fair distance away from the city center and a long cab ride away from the passenger ship docks.

The hotel has large conference facilities and, when a conference was not in session, the devoted 6 computers the guests could use for internet access. The support staff for conferences was willing to answer questions about computer use.

Good hotels in Copenhagen are not cheap in terms of price, but this one was at least comfortable despite the somewhat diminutive room.

Room Tip: I did not use the pool or the spa. Ask for a room that overlooks the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBBY29209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights before our Princess cruise. The hotel is impressive with lots of glass and tiled areas. The staff were efficient. Our room was on the fourth floor with a harbour view, very good. Our room was terrific with a clean and bright bathroom and comfortable bed and a large glass door that opened which let fresh air in or the airconditioning was good as well. Breakfast was included and was excellent lots of choices and good value when included with your room. The business centre has free computers with internet for use by hotel guests which is very handy. Internet was free in the hotel as well, (Copenhagen has free internet everywhere). We were worried about the distance from Copenhagen Town but we were glad that it was fine. The trains are only a few metres away and easy to catch when you work out directions and the local ferry service wasn't far away either. The Hop on Hop off Boats were also within an easy walking distance.There is a huge shopping centre 200 metres away with food outlets and a supermarket if you didn't want to eat in the restaurant at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mack1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at this location as part of a tour group traveling with our soccer children. The parents stayed here while the children stayed at Farum Park Hotel.
The room was adequate with a nice bathroom. It was clean and modern looking. The beds were quite small and not terribly comfortable. It was a good thing most of us were so tired from our trip over so we slept anyway. I did hear reports that several of our parent group actually rolled out of the beds.
I was most pleased with the breakfast buffet. They had mostly edible eggs (I am world's pickiest egg eater so this says a lot), a lovely assortment of pastry and cheeses and fresh fruits, yogurts and a wide assortment of grains and nuts and seeds and such. I was a bit puzzled by the dry oatmeal. A nice warm little pot of cooked oatmeal would have sent my tummy to heaven. Each table had its own pot of coffee and it was refilled when requested.
The location is a bit out of the way. It is right next to a mall and movie theater but other than that it is a walk to any of Copenhagen's sites. We walked home from Tivoli Gardens, with tired, tired feet and it took us a leisurely 20-30 minutes or so as we meandered.
A major knock was the bar staff at night. We went as a couple and the hostess tried to sit us next to a large group with 4 children playing loud video games. When I asked if we could sit in another area away from them she pointed to the bar area. That is where we wanted to be anyway so that worked; in theory. Nobody would acknowledge us and after about 5 minutes of watching other tables being served we got up and left.
The hotel itself was fine, but if we were to return to Copenhagen I do not think we would pick a location so far out. I would look to something a bit more "in the middle" as the hubby and I enjoy stepping out of our hotel and being in easy walking of activity.

Room Tip: Request a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#20 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#33 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,185 - ₹ 16,438
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing