We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in April '12. Copenhagen was so kind to us, and this hotel was the icing on the cake. Just fancy enough for my taste. Quiet, classy and convenient. The beds were very comfy. The shower was a bit unwieldy, but I felt that way about everywhere we stayed on this trip... So maybe it's just me.

The front desk staff, especially Eden, made us feel right at home and we ate breakfast brunch at the hotel 3 mornings. I give it a B, the eggs were strange but it was super convenient and since i'm 4 months pregnant, I wake up ravenous... So it was quite welcome despite weird scrambled eggs.

I definitely recommend this place and the city of Copenhagen... It was a time I'll always treasure.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieStrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 768 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have to say the pictures of the hotel we saw are of only a handful of the actual rooms in the hotel, so it was a little disappointing that our room was as small and not as lavishly furnished as we thought. that aside, the staff here were excellent and a real asset to the future success. all the front desk staff were friendly every time we walked in, the free wine at night is a great bonus to sit in reception and read one of the many books and visitors guide. the local knowledge was also very helpful. location is unbeatable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at the Alexandra Hotel in downtown Copenhagen on April 5th for one night. This hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from the central train station (which is also a 15 minute train ride from the airport). So needless to say, getting to and from the airport is a breeze. The hotel is right next to city hall and Tivoli Gardens. The lobby is small and quaint. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. They allowed me to check in well before check in and there is bag storage in the basement as well.

I stayed in a single room. The room is very small, probably 12 by 15 feet with a full bathroom. The room was small, comfortable, clean and overall I had a good stay. There was also free high speed wireless internet. One night after coming in, the person at the front desk had a bottle of wine on the counter and gave me a complimentary glass for a night cap. All in all, it was a good stay and the price was right. This is the perfect hotel if you just want somewhere with a clean decent bed a nice hot shower and close to all the action.
I would stay here again but probably would look for something a little more upscale if I were trying to do a romantic week with someone.

Room Tip: If you would live a view, you would need to request rooms on the front of the building, otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for 2 nights and we quite enjoyed it, especially the breakfast.

The location is as good as you are going to get in Copenhagen if you are on foot, it was very quick and easy to get to from the airport (train and then some walking using our phone's GPS system to guide us) The staff are very friendly and, like most in Copenhagen, speak perfect English.

After an initial mix up where we were given the keys to a twin room (we had booked a double) we were given the keys to our double. The room itself was pretty basic and fairly small, but that seemed to be part of the design, think retro minimalism with some quirky design features/furniture thrown in. The bed was comfortable (two beds pushed together to make a double, the usual European bed layout) and there was a small TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very small but had everything you needed (three quarter bath with power shower over) toilet and sink with vanity mirror and shaving point.

The breakfast was very good and had a wide range of foods included (the waffle making machine was good fun) and they had the usual meats, cheeses and cooked breakfast ingredients. You could easily fill up on breakfast and not have to eat again until dinner time with the amount available (handy in a place as expensive as Copenhagen)

This hotel is recommend is you want basic comfort in a very good location with excellent breakfast and great staff. Great base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Room tip: ask for a room not facing the main road if you are a light sleeper, our room faced onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a business trip last week. Check in was fantastic - it was late, we were tired, and the charming man was friendly, quick and immediately offered us a glass of red wine - a lovely touch!

The service was helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast buffet was very nice - not the best we've had but perfectly enjoyable.

Wifi was free and it was relatively easy to register initially. This seemed to be the case in a number of hotels we staying in during our stay. UK and US take note - this is what travellers want!

Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, but, as other reviewers have stated, it was very compact!

The hotel has a cosy and comfortable feel but if I had to point out a negative it would be that the 'look and feel' is a bit old-fashioned. They take pride in all the famous Danish chairs around the building (I'm a huge fan of Danish furniture, so I really enjoyed this touch), but I like hotels which look a bit more upmarket - and some nicer surroundings would have shown off their furniture much better - however for the money the hotel seemed good value.

The hotel is in an excellent central location, and it was nice to feel a little more looked after by the staff than at some of the bigger 'chain hotels'. We stayed at the Scandic hotel last time, and if the choice were between this one and that I think we'd go here again as they had felt very impersonal, and this one is more central.

We were put up here for business, and so didn't choose the hotel - if i was going to Copenhagen again I might choose something a bit more exciting or boutique-y, but in this price bracket I think the Alexandra is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,653 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
344 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: ₹ 8,333 - ₹ 23,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing