We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well⋯⋯just a landmark ”

The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue)
Ranked #32 of 349 things to do in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Born of a fairy tale by Danish author Hans Christian Andersen, the statue incarnation of the Little Mermaid has watched over Copenhagen's harbor since 1913. In 2010, Den Lille Havfrue, as she is known in Danish, left her post to represent Denmark at the World's Fair in Shanghai.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A place crowded with people. This is one of the landmark of the city. Worth to go but nothing special indeed. You may walk down a bit to get closer to the sculpture. Must be patient to get a good picture as people may come and go around it all the time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"iconic statue"
in 140 reviews
"life size"
in 79 reviews
"nice walk"
in 235 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 192 reviews
"hop on hop off bus"
in 146 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 88 reviews
"hans christian anderson"
in 85 reviews
"visit copenhagen"
in 142 reviews
"symbol"
in 291 reviews
"harbour"
in 508 reviews
"land"
in 161 reviews
"denmark"
in 286 reviews
"nyhavn"
in 310 reviews
Filter

1,272 - 1,276 of 13,928 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The Little Mermaid is little- no surprises there! it is quite hard to see it without a lot of other people there taking photos down on the rocks. We went later in the day and it was a bit less busy. Nice walk along the front from Nyhavn opposite the Opera House.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mayatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I know a lot of people say the Little Mermaid is overrated but I loved her. She’s sits sadly looking out to see and is an iconic part of Copenhagen. It wasn’t particularly busy when we visited, there were people around but still possible to get a really nice picture, and we saw her from the water too on one of the boat tours. Don’t miss her out !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank FiPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

When visiting Copenhagen you have to see the Little Mermaid. It's associated so much with Copenhagen and it would be a pity to miss it. We saw it from out canal boat and then I walked out to see it close up. It is a nice walk out. I passed the Marble Church and the Amalianborg Palace. I went later on in the evening and there were very few people around.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Imeldac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is actually unique. When you see it from far, it looks like a mermaid has came out of the Fjord and sitting on the rock. As you go closer, the excitement increases.

A good place to relax and click pictures.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank IAmShubhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue) also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing