We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could stay longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night on our return to Australia from The Faroe Islands. The location was brilliant - perfect views from our window over the picturesque harbour setting. Great selection of amazing cafes and restaurants the moment you step out the front door. A short walk from the closest metro station linking directly with the airport. Our room was spacious, bed was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was decent. There was a bit of noise coming from the street, but it was also the night when Denmark beat Netherlands in a World Cup game, so it would have been noisy wherever you stayed in Copenhagen that night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 465 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

I asked the friendly people at the desk what the building had been and what somandshjemmet meant. Turns out that it was a place for seamen to stay waiting for a ship. So that is what we were. We were there for a night before and a night after our Baltic cruise. Easy to get to/from the airport on the metro and days worth of sightseeing within walking distance once you are there. We took a cab to/from pier just for convenience. The breakfast is wonderful european with many different breads, pastries, cheeses, and what Americans consider lunchmeat.The rooms are fine and just like the pictures so you know what to expect. The view is wonderful out the canal side and actually our friends heard a bit more noise on the street side. This is a good value for Europe. There is a computer in the lobby or wifi for your device. They stored luggage in the lobby since we got in at 9:30am and even cheerfully agreed to print my boarding passes for the next day. I would definitely stay there if I am ever in Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is small and charming. Meticulously clean. Beds are so comfortable it was dreamy to crawl into after a long day of sighseeing. The view from our window on the canal was out of a post card. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the adjoining dining room was simple but delicious with creamy Danish cheeses and rolls, eggs, cereal and some fresh fruit and vegetables. Definitely not your large, modern Holiday or Ramada Inn but oh so much more Danish. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Bethel. I'd read that the front rooms were noisy so requested a quiet room and got it! There was no view (the back of shops) but it was indeed a quiet room, and there was a light-eliminating blind that shut out the early light very well. The shower, as other reviewers noted, consisted of a shower curtain around a drain, but at least there were sufficient towels to mop up the floor afterwards. The pillow was also too small as previously noted, but there was a second, uncovered, pillow in the cupboard which I managed to shove into the pillowcase with the first pillow to make it usable. The breakfast was enjoyed greatly by my husband, but as I can't eat bread or cakes, it was minimal for me. Apart from all that, the hotel felt warm and inviting, coffee was available 24/7 in the dining room, and it's little spot in Nyhavn was simply the best. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view but noise at the front, quiet rooms with no view at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penesloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The location is excellent, the staff is very friendly & professional, breakfast was good, the room was very clean, but too small & very-very basic. The beds were comfortable, but pillows were too small. Bathroom size was OK, but again-very basic. The check-in & out was prompt. We will come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,554 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,086 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: ₹ 8,142 - ₹ 12,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing