We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tivoli Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$ 192
US$ 168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 340
US$ 295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Island Hotel(Copenhagen)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 184
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 132
US$ 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$ 230
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 159
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 262
US$ 183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Generator Copenhagen(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
US$ 133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$ 298
US$ 272
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,245)
Filter reviews
2,245 results
Traveller rating
948
875
303
81
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
875
303
81
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscozy hourspa roomking arthurnorreport stationfree glass of winelovely hotelfood marketeach eveningjunior suiteminute walkwet roomno air conan upgradecity breakpublic transportexcellent breakfastboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,245 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Very noisy hotel, no air conditioning, a lot of steps, beds & pillows very average. Average bathroom, nothing special. I expected better considering the price. There are nicer hotels to stay at that are more stylish. I spent my last two nights in a smaller boutique hotel which was absolutely lovely, quiet, great buffet breakfast and cheaper.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very serious, whether it is positive or negative. We appreciate you taking your time to get back to us.

We are sorry you didn't like our design style. We usually describe it like a mix of vintage and chic, and we have many antique furniture among the new and modern. The main space of the common area is furnished with comfortable sofas, a lot of pillows and a fireplace, all these details conquer to create a cozy atmosphere.
June and May have been hotter than usual. Normally we only have around 10 summer days in Denmark. Due to sustainable reasons we have chosen not to have air-conditioning. Instead we have installed every room with a fan. In case you need anything else, don't hesitate to contact the reception. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations.

All the best
Amalie Holm / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is a chi-chi hotel in a good location--quiet yet convenient to the Central Station.

But, there are many buts.

1. We had 3 luggage bags. And the first thing that greeted us was not somebody but two flights of steps and apparently no ramp to get the luggage up. When we went to our room, there was a flight down. On the day we left, there was fortunately an Indian tourist who helped me with a bag.
2. The room we had was small. Yet there was a large and a smaller buddha head on the ledge next to the bed. We could use the space.
3. The bathroom was of such a design that whenever one of us took a shower, the whole bathrooom is wet. What passes for the shower curtain is so small that there is no way to shower properly without your body touching the curtain. Eek.
4. Water pressure was low.
5. Amenities like soap was given on some days and not on others.
6. The bed was too soft for us.
7. The room had no aircon but it had a desktop fan that we had to use with the window opened.
8. And puzzlingly, there was no way to lock the door from the inside. I could not wedge the chair against the door like in the movies because it was an executive chair with roller wheels.
9. On the last night, my wife caught a hair on a new towel.
10. You get a buddha head of heavy metal as the keychain but the device to unlock is tiny. So you leave the key at the reception. But we had to wait 5 minutes once just to get the key.
11. The elevator system was struck by lightning so there were a few days that we could go up but had to walk down. To be fair, it was fixed on the day that we checked out.

It was the worst hotel of our 4-hotel stay on this trip. And we stayed in places without elevators. If the price is right, and you want the location, and you are prepared to tough out the room then you might consider.

But I don't see myself returning.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you very much for taking your time to get back to us. We appreciate all feedback, whether it is positive or negative.

It is correct, that due to we were struck by lightning, we have had some troubles with the elevator, but this is all fixed now. We have a few stairs you need to pass before getting to the reception otherwise there are elevators all over the hotel.
This month and May have been hotter than usual. Normally we only have around 10 summerdays in Denmark. Due to sustainable reasons we have chosen not to have airconditioning. Instead we have installed every room with a fan. In case you need anything else, don't hesitate to contact the reception. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations.


All the best
Amalie Holm / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights in the hotel, and overall it was a pleasant experience. At check-in we were welcomed by a rather unemotional staff member who mainly pointed out that breakfast was not included in our room rate although we had booked directly via the hotel webpage and not via an agency. We have to clarify this issue later with a different, this time very friendly staff member. The bathroom was rather old, but I assume this is due to the fact that the hotel wants to be CO2- neutral. Nevertheless some of the interior might need replacement. The Spa is very nice and breakfast delicious with lots of local organic food. However we were charged extra for cappuccino and espresso which to me seems inappropriate considering the room-rate. The hotel rents bicycles, an cycling is a very good way to explore the city, however the bikes are only one speed. Overall there is room for improvement.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrisimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. We very much appreciate your honesty and take all feedback very serious, whether it is positive or negative.

As you mention our New Nordic breakfast is made of local and organic ingredients and we focus on sustainability in all we do.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced some problems at check-in, but pleased to hear that you got it all sorted our later on at your stay.
Our bathrooms are currently getting renovated gradually. So hopefully next time you are here, you will have the chance to experience one of those

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you back some day.

All the best
Amalie Holm / Hotel Kong Arthur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel, small, classic European and clean. The front desk staff are friendly, helpful and speak immaculate English ( as did all the Danes we met). Breakfast buffet was superb, room was cozy. Disabled or mobility challenged would have trouble with stairs here and there. Nice but expensive restaurants nearby. It’s a 20 minute walk to the main tourist areas.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gidon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We very much appreciate you taking your time to get back to us and we take all feedback very serious, whether it is positive or negative.

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Copenhagen and at Hotel Kong Arthur. It makes us truly happy to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and the room and that you enjoyed our New Nordic breakfast.

Our buildings are from another century - a time when the architects mindset was different. However, we have made some reconstructions in the interior and we have elevators allover. We also have another entrance without stairs. But I am sorry if the stairs caused you any inconvenience.

Hope we have the chance to welcome you back.

All the best
Amalie Holm / Hotel Kong Arthur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights in a Junior Suite room. This was meant to be an upgrade, non-standard room. The room itself was quite comfortable. There was fee WiFi that worked reasonably well. However, it was hot in May and there was either no air conditioning or it did not work. Fortunately the windows could be opened and this cooled down the room to a comfortable temperature...until...the weekend night scene across the road blared music well into the night. Even closing the windows (despite the hot room), the noise was loud enough to prevent one from sleeping. Until after about 2am.

My other gripe about this hotel is its stairs. There is a large flight of stairs to even get into the hotel at the front entrance. There is no facility/lift for anyone with a wheelchair. And you have to carry all luggage up the stairs to the lobby. Our room was located towards the back lifts of the hotel, and this required more stairs going down before reaching the lift. So just to get from your room to the street/vice versa, this requires going up one flight and down another flight of stairs. Don’t recommend for anyone who requires wheelchair access, has a stroller or any significant amount of luggage, unless you are very strong and happy to be carrying up and down the stairs.

The ambience of the hotel was quite lovely and the staff were very helpful.

I liked Copenhagen very much and would love to return. However, I don’t think I would stay here again. It is physically too hard (for me, at least).

Stayed: May 2018
Thank auspoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurHotels, Receptionschef at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

We try hard to give all our guests an experience of our mindset: Come as guest, leave as family.

We know you are unhappy about the 10 steps at the main entrance, but no matter, we can't change the old mansion's facade. Our buildings are from another century - a time when the architects mindset was different. However, we have made some reconstructions in the interior and we have elevators allover. We also have another entrance without stairs. We welcome walking impaired like all other guests, of course.

As we have often stated, we don't have air-condition. it's not normally used in Scandinavia nor in Northern Europe. However, my best advice is to book a room in one of the new high-rise buildings in the outskirts. Usually they have air conditioning installed because there you can't open the windows. Air conditioning is probably necessary when you live in a hot climate, but it really is an energy consumer, and to tell you the truth, you are lucky if you experience Copenhagen when the temperatures is above 22 Celsius.

We are really sorry that you are dissatisfied though. We want all our guests to be happy - when they stay with us and when they leave.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews