We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed four days in the Axel Guldmeldsen and enjoyed it very much.The room was nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable.We stayed in a superior room that had a large bathroom with a stand alone shower and a bath.
The room also had a small balcony
Breakfast was OK but the coffee was poor.
The location of the hotel is good and the red light aspect didn't intrude in an area that is moving upscale fast
We will stay here again

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest option as the bathrooms are to small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    571
    213
    64
    16
See reviews for
149
704
96
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We loved the look and feel of the Axel, very charming and what you'd expect from a botique hotel. We also loved the locale - an easy walk from the train station and in walking distance to several great restaurants and easy enough if you are a walker to get to all the hot attractions.

The only drawback to be aware of is that when it is busy season the standard room typically assigned to singles is offered to couples and it's simply far to small for a couple. Cosy and quite funky even, but just too small, and quite noisy being located about courtyard terrace.

Otherwise a great option.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MkerrCanmore_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The design was very cozy and it has a homey feel. The only problems we had were cigarette smell kept coming into the room from somewhere and the wifi was not good. Otherwise, it was convenient located from the central station. I still would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackngan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I love this hotel and I strongly recommend it. It is cosy, confortable, healthy breakfast. You feel like you are in a house but with all the confort for working. My third time at this hotel

The receptionnist on the night should help to take the luggage upstairs when you chek in. Above all if it is a woman with 2 luggages, no?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
state college, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in June. Our room had a nice "vibe" with a tasteful "spa-like" decor that was hard to place (Bamboo? Driftwood? South Pacific?), a wall-mounted flat-screen TV and organic towels. The hotel is a short walk to the train station with some restaurants nearby. Although I initially had concerns about the location of the hotel given reports about nearby "adult novelty stores" in the neighborhood and a "strip club", such concerns would seem exaggerated to me if it were not for some negative reports otherwise that still make me wonder. The area seemed safe at the times of day that we were out and this hotel is adjacent to other hotels off a main street. I would second the kudos that the hotel receives about the friendly staff. At the same time, our bathroom was very small and hard to maneuver in for a normal size person. I found that it was easier to step out of the bathroom into the alcove to dry myself off after showering than doing so in the bathroom. I could see some of the issues that others mention about the cleanliness of the grout in the shower and the inability to keep the water in the shower area from spreading to the bathroom floor. Climate control issues as well (related more to the hotel than to global warming).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHAVA_SUMMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,432 - ₹ 22,749
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing