We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located”
Review of DGI-byens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DGI-byens Hotel
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nicely located”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the DGI-byen Hotel over Easter break.
The hotel is strategically positioned near the train station and 10 minutes walk from the center of the city.
The rooms are pretty small, I booked a double for single use, and to be honest it would have been small for 2 persons.
The concierge does not look directly to the room floor entrance, so to get in your room corridor you need to use the key card, the same that will open your room.
The rooms are simply decorated but functional, the cleaning is all right, I have seen worst.
The breakfast is included in the room price, and is served at the nearby restaurant. It was pretty poor, with no hot food at all except for coffee and tea. The staff does not do a good job to keep the trays and basket full, and I had to ask for bread, or croissant or butter because something was always missing. I didn't have dinner at the hotel restaurant.
They have pools, sauna and other SPA treatments but I didn't use any of them.
I enjoyed having a parking garage nearby, and on sunday when street parking is free, I found plenty of space just outside the hotel.
Maybe because it was a holiday weekend, but I often found only 1 person at the concierge desk, and if you are so unlucky to have in front of you someone that needs all sort of touristic information, then you'll have to wait a while to pay your parking ticket!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Light-Traveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    168
    164
    75
    24
See reviews for
129
113
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

DGI-Byen Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Copenhagen main train station. The complex includes a separate restaurant, conference centre, bowling alley, swimming pools and a variety of sports were catered for in the sports complex. While I stayed at the hotel there was a March deal so you could use the swimming pools and fitness centre free of charge.
Check in is from 2 p.m., but it is possible to store to luggage there until check-in, or after you check out. However, there was no check on which luggage you put in or take out which was a bit worrying.
Nearby there are quite a few restaurants. The 1A bus stopped closest to the hotel at one of the entrances to the train station. Its route went through the city centre for easy access to the major attractions there.
The room wasa bit basic looking but I put that down to the architect keeping the hotel design in line with its industrial roots.The hotel was built in 2004 on the site of a meat market and warehouses. However, the room was light and airy, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was big and it was quiet at night despite being so close to the railway lines.
The only down side to the room I stayed in was that it needed a coat of paint to freshen up the walls and woodwork. The shower area had nowhere to put your own toiletries whilst showering. In the room there is no central light switch so you can't switch off the lights from your bed.
I travelled to the hotel by train from the airport. The fare at the time of writing was 36DK one way. Tickets last for an hour so you have to buy them just before travel. The airport is 3 stops from the central station. Trains run every 10 minutes.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful and when the lift broke down, ensured guests could use the service lift.
The restaurant is in the closest of the renovated warehouses. If it rains, that could be a problem. Luckily, it was good weather during my stay. The breakfast had a good range of food on offer. Each day I chose a boiled egg. Every one was pefectly cooked with the yolk runny but the white solid. I think this is difficult to achieve. Fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad were also on offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaksvik, Faroe Islands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Only a 5 minute stroll from the Copenhagen main train station, this is an ideal conference centre. My own meeting wasn't at this place, but I had a look at the facilities, and they looked great. There were sport facilities free of charge, although I never used them.

I arrived at 12 noon, and the check-in wasn't possible until 2 p.m., but it was possible to store to luggage there until check-in, and there are quite a few restaurants nearby for a good lunch.

The rooms were nice and clean, and it is situated just long enough from the noisy streets, so that the place itself is quite quiet, although in the centre of Copenhagen. There was no problem falling asleep. I didn't check when the hotel was from, but it seemed quite new.

Very easy to reach from airport and train station; about 20-30 minutes from the airport by train (directly) and then a 5 minute walk. If you prefer a taxi, just ask the reception, and they can be there in no time, or you could book it to pick you up at a certain time the following morning.

On the downside, and this is unfortunately very typical for Scandinavia, by no means just for this hotel: Your room key is also the key to the electricity in the entire room. This means, 1) that you can not leave your room with your key and leave e.g. a cellphone or a razor there to charge, while you are not in. 2) The key slot is placed right next to your room door. So you can't switch off the lights from your bed, but have to get up and remove the key.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A good hotel for few days. its actually at the center and very close to cental train station (3-4 min walk).
Within the hotel area there are spa and wellness center, a gymnasium, a sauna a large swimming pool and a bowling center. You have to pay for that but you have discount as DGI customer.
breakfast room is outside of main hotel building (just 15 sec walk but if it is rain its a problem)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tra-addicted-vel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Finding the hotel for a weekend isnt easy...
This hotel provides good location very close the CPH central station but the rooms are exceptionally dull and simple and poorly equiped. No Wif-Fi. Very poor beds and as I asked for two extra pillows got the answer they had only one...
Breakfast poor.
But location s great. So if you dont care where and how you sleep. And if you are prepared to pay for location only. This is it.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of each other. No rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sefranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#49 of 117 in Copenhagen
778 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#29 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,080 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 117 in Copenhagen
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#40 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,230 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
401 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#67 of 117 in Copenhagen
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DGI-byens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DGI-byens Hotel

Property: DGI-byens Hotel
Address: Tietgensgade 65, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,138 - ₹ 21,914
Hotel Class:3 star — DGI-byens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DGI-byens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dgi Byen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing