We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor bathroom- otherwise a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I booked 3 nights B-B with otel online.. We arrived and had a nice water front room on the 5th floor... the bed and bed room was nice- lots of character in our room and all thro the hotel.

The bathroom was of poor standard-we wondered if there was a problem with drainage at one point! The fittings are very basic- like a uk youth hostel! Our end room was next to the maids store room, and was noisy early in the morning, this didnt trouble us , but would if you intended to have a late sleep it would be a problem.

The breakfast had everything you could want- also good service, this set us up for the day.
The location was good, a very short walk to nyhavn- a lively nice spot..
All the staff were helpful. reception staff were good.

We probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,383 - 2,387 of 4,179 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. We had emailed the hotel rather than booking directly online - worth doing, as we got a good deal including breakfast. The room and bathroom were spotless, overlooking the harbour (the other rooms overlook the street). The entrance into the room was a bit cramped, as the wardrobe was placed awkwardly. Also, as mentioned previously, the safe was difficult to access. However, these are minor quibbles; the situation, near Nyhaven, was superb, as was the breakfast - a huge buffet set us up for the day! Do get into breakfast by 8 to 8:30 though - there were queues when we came out at about 9:30. We thought that the food in the Salt Restaurant was superb, and good value (a relative term in an expensive city). All the staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. We ate at one of the local restaurants recommended by reception (Fiat) - good Italian food. Also very helpful telling us where to get the train across "The Bridge" to Malmo for the day.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Admiral Hotel for five nights. It is a very interesting and historical building which has been cleverly converted from warehouse to a hotel. The staff were pleasant and most helpful, and we were given a lovely, spacious (& quiet) room overlooking the harbour and the Opera House. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel; there seemed to be everything you could wish for on offer. The only problem was that it was extremely popular and on Saturday and Sunday there was a very long queue and a waiting time of approximately half an hour. Perhaps extending the time for service until midday at the weekend would alleviate this problem somewhat. One problem was that the room safe was placed in the wardrobe where there were hanging clothes, there was no light (fortunately we had a torch) and it was extremely difficult to access. Another was that there was no mirror in the actual bedroom, only one in the bathroom, and one full length mirror just outside the bathroom. It would improve things if a reasonable sized mirror could be placed above the desk in the bedroom area.

Apart from breakfast we used the Salt restaurant twice, once when we arrived and then with two guests on our last night. The food on the last night was embarassingly poor, and we told reception the next morning about this as it would have been difficult in front of our guests. The
girl handled this extremely well, was very charming and apologetic and used her own initiative to deduct a small amount from our final bill. Much appreciated. Now to the reason why it was so poor. Whoever was in charge of the kitchen that evening (23.4) ensured that the salt in Salt restaurant was liberally and overwhelmingly used on all the food served to us. When the
covering on the fish dish was removed, for example, the fish beneath (lemon sole) was delicious, but the coating (which included vegetables) inedible. Why, when three types of salt are offered on the table, is so much salt added to the food unasked? The desserts were very poor too.

It is a pity that our final evening should have created such a poor impression of the food. However, it should not be too difficult to correct the problem as the dinner on the first night was perfectly acceptable. Different chef maybe?

However, this is a lovely hotel and when we visit Copenhagen we shall definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonyc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

2 Weeks ago my husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting a conference in Copenhagen. The Admiral Hotel is a large hotel, situated on the water's edge. Eventhough it is a very large hotel, they have succeeded to maintain a lot of character. Service is good and the rooms are comfortable, although smallish for my taste. We had a deluxe room, unfortunately on the roadside. If I would book again,I certainly would choose a room on the other side, since these rooms are fairly noisy. At 5 in the morning the noise of garbagetrucks emptying the cans can be quite overwhelming.
Breakfast is good, good coffee (which is quite a rare these days), all in all it was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. The hotel is very well located, near Nyhavn harbour, the palace, close to Kongens Nytorv metro station & bus routes.

Our room was spacious enough & we could have upgraded to a harbourside view, but given we weren't planning on spending much time in the room, didn't bother. As it turned out, the harbourside view wasn't fantastic given a Norwegian naval ship was taking up most of the view.

We didn't go with the option of paying for breakfast, given the Danish are known for their pastries. There are some great bakeries/cafes to be found behind Nyhavn harbour with fresh danishs and super coffee - all within easy walking.

We did hire the hotel bikes for a day. This is an expensive option for about £12 each per day, but we weren't near to a bike stand, so it served it's purpose in being convenient.

We tried to have a drink in the hotel bar about midnight one night; service was non-existent & we left after 20 minutes of trying. The bar was busy, and given it was a holiday more than 2 staff should have been available.

Aside from the non-existant bar service, this was a pleasant hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
350 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,660 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: ₹ 9,489 - ₹ 31,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing