We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 19.35*
and up
Copenhagen Pub Crawl Including VIP Entry
Ranked #2 of 131 Nightlife in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For hundreds of years the Danes were an unstoppable force of warriors, explorers and settlers – uniting Scandinavia, discovering America and bringing terror to the shores of Europe. Today Copenhagen’s history of fire and bloody battles lies hidden behind picturesque streets and colorful harbors.As the days of conquest passed, Danish power was replaced with a rich cultural legacy of writers, artists and philosophers. The fairytale feel of the city where Hans Christian Andersen wrote is the home of incredible stories and unbelievably true histories: Viking adventurers; pirate-hunting Bishop Absalon; daring Danish WWII resistance fighters and more.Our local expert guides will take you on a 3 hour walking tour through 6000 years of Copenhagen’s history and you’ll find out why the Danes are some of the happiest people in the world!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

By now in Sandemans Tours have been getting good reviews. I've been my way around the free tours in Europe and Sandeman is the best! And by far Copenhagen guide was my best guide in whole Europe. Anna was intelligent, funny, cheerful and for 3 hours it didn't stop. She was funny and answered all our questions and was her enthusiasm kept on going for the Christiana tour in the evening as well. Love her and advise everybody to get her tour definitely!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mqe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip T, Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our tours, we will pass on your comments to Anna and I'm sure she'll be very pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,726
    313
    60
    30
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have taken Sandeman's tours in several cities now and I find them to be hit and miss. I have never had a guide who is local to the country-- they always seem to be people who have been bouncing around the world and end up in a particular place. That said, their information is often the opinion of an outsider and under-researched. It's like they read Wikipedia before they go out. Appropriately, the information always caters to the lowest common denominator and isn't great if you're actually interested in history or culture. A lot of dumb jokes!

The tours are usually okay if you get an interesting guide-- for this tour, we had Garreth and he didn't seem too into it. He was smoking the whole time and seemed like he would rather be doing anything else. We ended up leaving halfway-- these tours are unbearably long.

In my experience, Sandeman's tours are worth checking out, but of you don't get a good guide, they're usually disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank emilybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Q, Guest Relations Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Emily,

thanks for your comments. We no longer work with Garreth. I can assure you our tours are usually of a far far better standard, and that our guests are far more discerning than you give them credit for. I really apologise that your tour wasn't up to the standard we both expect.

Best
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

my friend and I had a tour with Simon and his London accent. Great tour, he pointed out a lot of cool things in Copenhagen as well as different places to buy beer. 5 stars

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tour guides! You must check it out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My friend and I went on a free tour with Rikke...the 3 hour tour was very informative, and we were able to see a lot of Copenhagen in a very short amount of time. We were so satisfied with the tour that we decided to sign up for the pub crawl (our pub guide was excellent too, but his name has escaped me...British fellow) and the harbour cruise (which is basically a few ferry rides and a lot of walking, so make sure you wear appropriate footgear!) with Igor, which was also a fantastic tour since it covered everything that had not yet been covered in the free tour. Igor even had a drink with us in Christiania once the tour was done...above and beyond the call of duty. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iammultilingual6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip T, Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
We're really glad you enjoyed all of our tours here in Copenhagen. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walking city tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The tour was excellent! Our guide Igor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, charismatic and very well organized for such a large group of people. His English (American) is perfect and speech is clear(important in the city noise). We had our tour after sleepless overnight flight from US and completely forgot how tired we were. Thank you so much for making this tour the highlight of the trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zvonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen also viewed

 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing