We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but never take a room on first floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Location: It is a within 10 mins walk from Kogens Nytrov metrol station, within 5 mins walk to Nyhavn, but it is in an office area, pretty quiet day and night. Main entrance is easy to miss and there are a few steps you must haul your bags up.

Service: not a lot of staff at front desk , staff are courteous and helpful. Breakfast staff are very efficient.

Room: I could not say a positive thing about the superior double room and it is definitely is not 26 sq m, bathroom is small to a small person like me, especially the shower cubicle, very uncomfortable in the shower, once the shower head runs, the thin shower curtain keeps flying in due to the air movement. It is not very clean. crumbs on table.
my room on first floor windows facing the roof top of breakfast area or lobby ( see photo )that I dare not open the window on a pretty hot day and night. we stayed four nights, while we were told no other superior room was available.

overall I can say it is a 2-star property. The closet is not clean and with an odor.
The corridor is so narrow, for those with Clusterphobia is an issue.

I do not agree to the positive reviews that I researched before I tried this property.
Most reviews raved about the excellent breakfast, the breakfast offers a good spread of variety to start your day.

Overall, I was rather disappointed at my choice, Maybe if my room was not on first floor I might have a more positive perspective.

Room Tip: Never take room 106 or in that range on first floor window cannot be opened onto a rooftop on a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yrtx4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We are planning a renovation of the entrance, to get rid of the steps.

Yours sincerely,

Claus Hegelund Bruun
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

You probably cannot beat this hotel's location - it walking distance from the M1 and M2 lines (Kongens Nyrtov) which means you have one 20 minute ride from airport to hotel. It is also 3 blocks away from Nyhavn and the new Copenhagen Street food centre called Papioren.

The check in and check out was easy and although we were given a room on the top floor it was a super tiny room with two small beds. The bathroom was also super tiny and it was puzzling how anyone who was bigger than average in terms of size could fit in the shower stall! We also noticed on our last day that the shower curtains were moldy at the bottom but decided not raise it as we were leaving anyway. There is a small safe in the room and a fridge. No complimentary water is offered so take note.

The breakfast buffet was included in the hotel rate we purchased and the spread was quite generous with plenty of juices, pastries, breads, cheeses and cold cuts provided. The usual fare of scrambled eggs, beans, bacon, etc were also available but there was no variety in the 3 days that we were booked at the hotel. No fresh fruits but some cantaloupe and pineapple slices as well as a fruit salad was available.

Staff were very courteous and polite and helpful specially at the Front Desk because you had to leave and retrieve back your room keys every time you would leave and return to the hotel as they really have metal keys not the more common key cards. And they are heavy. :)

OK for short stay but would definitely look for other options in the city if we have to go back to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaVictoria0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Arrived early which meant we didn't get a good room but rather one that was ready - which was OK as we were very tired from a long overnight flight. Staff were excellent. Interior of the hotel is lovely and modern. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Good stay here with no complaints. Can't beat the location - easy to walk to so many things yet on a quiet street. And a quick walk from the metro station with easy access to the airport. Very good breakfast with many choices. A few people have complained about the price on here - it's Copenhagen - everything is pricey!! Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We usually do not choose Best Western when we are in Europe but were very happy we chose this hotel The location was the best. Close to Nyhavn, Rosenborg Castle, Christianborg palace and Amalienborg. We found our room to be slightly larger than the tiny ones we are used to in Europe. Rooms are very quiet...we could even leave our window open at night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcanucks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear travellingcanucks55,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms exceeded your expectations. I am also glad that our central location provided you with the possibility of exploring some of the major sights here in Copenhagen and that it was still quiet enough to leave your windows open.
Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again some day if you decide to come back to Copenhagen.

Kindest regards,
Claus Bruun
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,523 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,345 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#16 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#7 of 118 in Copenhagen
445 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#20 of 118 in Copenhagen
633 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: ₹ 9,653 - ₹ 30,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing