We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Copenhagen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Weekend in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here on a work related trip. This hotel is all about location. In close vicinity you will find Nyhavn which has lots of restaurants and the canal boats also has stops here. Also close by is several shopping opportunities.
Some five minutes walk away you will find the Kongens Nytorv Metro station. From here it is approx. 15 minutes to Copenhagens airport Kastrup.
The hotel it self is a bit warn down but nothing that should stop you from staying here. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have flat screen tv as well as iPod docking station.
Front desk service is very good and breakfast is really good.

Room Tip: The hotel has bikes for rent at dkk 150 or approx. 18 euros/28 us dollars. 50 meters up the street y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    547
    202
    34
    12
See reviews for
140
540
96
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poynton, cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent choice of hotel because of its inclusive breakfast & free wi fi. Lots of variety and the staff did well to keep it topped up over the busy Easter weekend. We upgraded to the Superior room because we wanted somewhere to sit if the weather was bad. Our room was on the 5th floor with 2 chairs and a sofa, quiet and comfy. We did turn both the radiators off & kept the window open a lot of the time; I can imagine that it gets very warm in the summer months.
We stayed for 5 nights, walked a lot as its in an ideal position to reach a range of sights & also took the train,coach up to Louisiana & Bakken. Enjoyed the zoo, the brewery & the underground glass museum.

Room Tip: The 5th floor Superior room were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillwindyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
342 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Free wifi great start. Guess it is 3 star because it doesn't have a pool, spa or shop. Am I bothered, certainly not. Smart clean originally decorated rooms and common areas count for far more than unnecessary extras. Breakfast is busy but top quality. Recommended as an ideal base for tourism.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

OK, the hotel is better than the average and in other circumstances, I would have given it a 4. But really, having a Traveler's Choice award and being ranked 10th in Copenhagen is clearly not deserved.
Let's see things point by point:
- the single room was small but bathroom was, comparatively, pretty large. Furniture & carpet are outdated -in good shape though-. Management tries to emphasize the chairs were designed by some supposedly famous designer most people have probably never heard about before. So the feeling once in the room was average.
- staff in the lobby was nice and helpful. However, they spend most of their time in the backroom and there is no bell: it's up to you to find imaginative ways to make noise
- breakfast was enjoyable, yet nothing crazy. Some cheese, pastries not necessarily very fresh, (powdered?) egg, bacon and sausages.
- on the first night, the neighbors had a party. It was noisy up to late at night. I cannot blame the hotel for that, however better windows would have helped.
- wireless internet was reliable and free
- location is good and allows you to access everything if you aren't afraid of walking a bit. But don't expect a metro station in front of the door!

I think the stay was OK, but I felt a bit cheated by the ranking here on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ggllk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KClausen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear GGLK and guest

First of all thank you for choosing Best Western Hotel City for your Copenhagen stay. I am sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied as this is obviously what we strive to achieve for all our guests. And as you have read on Tripadvisor, and maybe other sites, then we generally succeed in providing a very good hotel experience compared to the price our guests pay.

Yes, some of our rooms are small and I wished they were bigger. But compared to other 3 star hotels in Copenhagen and other ciites I dont think we are too bad off.
Our furnitures are mainly designed by Arne Jacobsen and GUBI, internationally known designer and company. Whether you like them or not is obviously entirely up to you and I respect this.

I am sorry to hear the staff was not attentive enough and I will certainly adress this and I can assure you that we only serve fresh fruit. The scramble egg is made from bottled eggs as fresh eggs are not allowed, only as the hard bolied eggs we serve.

Finally, I dont think anybody wants a Metro station on the doorstep of a hotel but I am not sure you meant that either.

Thank you again for your comments and we will use them to improve our hotel and create more good experiences.

I wish you a pleasant day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at Best Western Hotel City for 6 nights in March. I booked it through www.booking.com. If you are coming from the airport, take the metro to Kongens Nytorv. The hotel is situated in a quite and small street very close to Kongens Nytorv. It is within 5 minutes walking distance from Nyhavn and within 10 minutes from Christianshavn and Stroget. Some of the rooms look towards Inderhavnen.
The hotel is newly renovated. The rooms are very clean and large enough. The breakfast is amazing compared to all other hotels in Copenhagen I've stayed at. They have a great variety of sweets, meat, cheese, fruits and even hot meals. The staff is always smiling and very helpful.
There is also free wifi in the rooms and several computers in the lobby which guests can use for free.

Room Tip: I personally liked the rooms on the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,903 - ₹ 23,788
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing