We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the two best pub in town”
Review of Hyttefadet

Hyttefadet
Reserve with
Hyttefadet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 2,822 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 35
Cuisines: Diner, Danish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Hyttefadet (old Danish word for "keg of fish") is an authentic and small restaurant in the middle of the old and romantic Nyhavn. Outdoor lunch and dinner service from March to October and live music every Thursday to Saturday from 10 PM. The front of the building is decorated with a robe painted by the famous Danish painter Asger Jorn, forming the word Hyttefadet. The history of Hyttefadet goes all the way back to 1736 where the building were hosting its first pub guests.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice pub by the Nyhavn, where customers can seat outside when the weather allows it. Good food and friendly service, that is what a customer needs ;-). Few meals available (typical danish-pub). Not so many beer-choices.
This review has been written after few visits.
As usual this review is based on food quality, staff attitude, location, value for money and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manchontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

The area is nice with the canal lined with restaurants. The food quality is just ok, so I would enjoy the views and move elsewhere to eat.

Thank Harry833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We chose this restaurant because they advertised fish and chip and that is what my husband wanted. I chose the Smørrebrød, a Danish open face sandwich. Our food was good. The restaurant offered blankets to handle the cool winds which we enjoyed. The waiter was a bit arrogant and often ignored our signal. Several people around us ordered the veggie burger which is supposed to be specialty but they were not pleased asking the server to explain the ingredients and then sending it back or not eating it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyttefadet N, Chef  at Hyttefadet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello Rowand

I am abit curious about the fact that we dont have a Veggie burger on our menu and that it is supposed to be a specialty. Are you sure you have been in Hyttefadet in Nyhavn ? We are famous for our great service and i would be suprised to hear that our waiters have acted arrogant. ? Would you mind takeing an extra look. Maybe its one of the neighboors. there are 25 restaurants here in Nyhavn..

Best Regards
Kasper Korshagen
Hyttefadet, Nyhavn 25

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I went here with a colleague and sat outside. The waiter was very inpatient until we had decided what to order. She did not ask what kind of sauce we wanted, nor how we wanted the meat. Fortunately we could tell her anyway ;)
The steak was raw although We ordered medium.
We got a new steak, this time it was well done and chewy. I gave up eating.
The waiter said they had other complaints and was sure it was the meat. I think they need a new cook instead.
They did not charge us for the food, but it still ruined the dinner and we were still hungry when leaving.

Thank Dorthevalsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyttefadet N, Chef  at Hyttefadet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello Dorthe.

I am very sorry to hear that you have had this bad experience. I am very interested to hear when this accurred as we had some problems for few weeks ago. This has been fixed and i am sure that we can live up to the expectations now. I would like to offer you and your colleague 2 x Steak on the house with the hope that we can change your ideer of our restaurant. (which i am sure off)
Please write us an Email on Info@hyttefadet.dk. and we will do our very best to change this situation.

Best regards
Kasper Korshagen
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Hyttefadet offers traditional Danish sandwiches. There was a good selection of different options and all in our party found good options. Portions are quite big, There was two big fish fillets on top of a small piece of bred so I don't know if a sandwich is a correct term.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _jamius2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyttefadet also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Hyttefadet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing