We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant with probably the best fajitas we’ve ever had”
Review of El Viejo Mexico

El Viejo Mexico
Reserve with
El Viejo Mexico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 2,665 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Winner of Tripadvisor's prestigious award, Certificate of Excellence, in 2014, 2015, 2016 & 2017.! Upscale Mexican restaurant located in one of the best areas, close to Queens Palace. Announced as the best Mexican restaurant in Copenhagen by Borsen, one of the most well known newspapers in DK. High quality, nice atmosphere, professional and service minded staff have made El Viejo Mexico to one of the most famous Mexican restaurants in Copenhagen. We probably have the best selection of premium Tequilas in DK plus a nice selection of Mexican beer and wine from famous European and overseas houses. People love our Margaritas and Mojitos. Good recommendation for food will be menu 1.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Having just arrived in Copenhagan after a long day travelling we were looking for something to eat and found a lot of restaurants were not open in the area we were staying (perhaps due to the time of year) so we’re delighted to come across this cosy Mexican restaurant. Really nice ambience with lots of candles. Just wanted a main course but got some lovely nachos, salad and salads while waiting. Fajitas were absolutely delicious! There were 4 of us and meal came to 1020 kr (one course each, 2 beers and a glass of house wine). A bit expensive compared to the UK but was expecting it to be. Would recommend a visit if you like authentic Mexican cuisine- so fresh!

Thank Phunter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina B, General Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your time and business. Are pleased to make you feel home.

Happy New Year and see you hopefully back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

I found very few Mexican restaurant who serve very tasty food. El Viejo Mexico is one of them. we were 10 people, but they serve very well, they hosted very well.

the only things, toilet was not clean, which can be improved. also the chairs I don't like.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saeedmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina B, General Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your visit and the review. Yes there are different meanings about the Equipales which are the real hand made chairs. But we do also have normal chairs for your next visit. :))

Thanks for mentioning about the toilets. These days are very busy and there are lots of traffic at the toilets. We actually do check the toilets with regular time frame, to avoid bad experiences for you guys.

I guess the timing was just not right. I am sorry for that and I will make sure that we do our checks often.

Thanks for your business and Merry Christmas & Happy New year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We spent a very great time with the food and the spicy Mexican flavors! The food was good and the design of the is very characteristic.

Thank Etretat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina B, General Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Guest.

We are pleased you enjoyed your wedding and were satisfied. Please tag us on your pictures:))

Thanks for your business and the best luck for the wedding couples.
Merry Christmas & Happy New year. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

While in Copenhagen we were looking for a restaurant nearby to enjoy dinner on our last night! After searching trip adviser we found this lovely Mexican restaurant just round the corner. First impressions were really good and the staff were very friendly! We started with a margarita and I have to say it's one of the nicest margaritas I've had! They then brought us a complimentary appetiser which was a salad with tomato and mango salsa. We all had different main courses and all were delicious! Quite small portions though but I found it was enough. One person had dessert which looked really nice. It was quite expensive however I would say it was the best meal we had in Copenhagen so it was worth it!

Thank GlasgowStephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina B, General Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your kind words and thanks for doing the review. Really appreciate it.
Thanks for your business and we look forward to have you guys back again.
Merry Christmas and Happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Visited this Mexican restaurant during a business trip and wanted something from the hotel food you normally find. I was in the mood for Mexican food and found this lovely place. Great Service, great food, enjoyed the atmosphere. Definitively will go back for another meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marcel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina B, General Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting us and we sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Thanks for your business and see you hopefully back on your next trip to Copenhagen.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Viejo Mexico also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to El Viejo Mexico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing