We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but need up dating”
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aegli
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
mykonos
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Okay, but need up dating”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We just came back from staying at this hotel for one night, we were lucky and had 2 front rooms with a balcony that you can at least see the water and harbour.

This is a the one of the oldest hotels there, which they have renovated, but with being so old no matter what they do, it really cant get better. The rate was 70 euros with breakfast and taxes included. There is one space of parking along the road, or you must go across the street and pay for parking, which wasnt a big cost and we did.

When we were taken to our room we either had to take a very old elevator, which is kind of scary, or walk a very long walk, up the stairs and around many hall ways which felt like being in a maze.

Our room was very small, with a shower bathroom which had a curtain, it has the tv on the dressing table, which I think should be put on the wall, as it takes up space. The towels were good, and they gave you slippers, which I defintely used, because what really turned me off was the carpet which was full of stains, and defintely needs changing or at least washed proffesionally.

They said that they are continuing to renovate, but it was difficult because it's open all year round.

I would stay there again if they changed their carpets.

The breakfast is with large selections, but their omelettes were watery, and the fried eggs were like plastic, they looked like they had been prepared alot earlier, maybe they had because they have 77 rooms and cant make them fresh.

If your there for one night I guess it is okay, and I looked around basically most of their hotels are in the same conditions.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorergr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    107
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
55
110
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My wife and I stayed in the hotel overnight in September on our wandering trip around Greece. The hotel was very reasonable in terms of tarrif, clean, good breakfast and the room had views of the harbour. It was a little run down overall but this wasn't a major issue. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My title says it all. This place was filthy and the girl at reception so rude compared to everyone else we dealt with in Greece! The bathrooms were foul, the water in the shower backed up after two seconds, and they have the hide to call this place a 4 star! This was worse than a dodgy hostel. The only positive about this place is that it is located directly opposite the ferry port.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOzza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The room was booked on occasion of a seminar in Volos.
The hotel is on the harbourfront just accross the entrance, into the heart of the city.
Parking is payed during shop and night hours and very difficult.

Actually it is two pre-war II hotels renovated and jointed in one. This makes corridors and lounges a little confusing.
The Hotel is in very good condition and very clean.
Our room was internal with a window overlooking a service shaft!
The furniture was new and simple but decoration was inexistant.

Breakfast is from an adequate buffet in a tiny restaurant in the basement.

Our stay in this kind of room was for two nights and was acceptable, given that the price was payed by the conference organizer.

  • Liked — new furniture, clean
  • Disliked — Internal room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volos hotels
1.3 km away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 32 in Volos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.6 km away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Volos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#6 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#19 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 km away
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
5.2 km away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Property: Hotel Aegli
Address: 24, Argonafton Street, Volos 382 22, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,866 - ₹ 9,148
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Aegli" hotel is the historic hotel of the town of Volos. Built at the beginning of the 20th century, located at the city center, by the seaside, it constitutes a timeless accommodation choice at Volos. "Aegli" hotel is located at the most privileged spot in town, with a fantastic view on Volos port. With special attention to detail and aesthetics in all hotel areas, we guarantee an unforgettable stay in a friendly, modern and luxurious environment. The hotel has 72 sleeping rooms, 6 of which are luxurious suites, and which have been radically renovated in 2012 and 2016. All of the rooms are equipped with a private bathroom with hair dryer, central heating, TV set, satellite TV, refrigerator and amenities. Start your day taking your breakfast at the American type buffet or drinking your coffee just a breath away from the gulf of Pagasetikos. Our multilingual and well trained staff is always at your disposal in order to serve you in the best manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing