We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nereids Guest House
Ranked #4 of 31 Hydra B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Lovely clean, comfy rooms. High standard. Had a room with amazing view and enjoyed sitting out on patio area....so peaceful. Very friendly owners.
Planning to return in April, we hope.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    20
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It is quite rare to come across accommodation of high standards at a very reasonable price and this is why I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered Nereids. The apartments look lovely on the website's photos but in reality they are even better!

Spacious traditional high ceiling rooms restored to high standards, with original features and tastefully decorated. Sparkling clean also, with plenty of storage space and a comfortable king size bed. Outside our apartment we had a shared veranda with the most amazing view of the sea, of Hydra Town and the surrounding mountains. (Not all apartments have sea view but all the views are beautiful) This is an idyllic place to stay, 5-7 min walk from the bustling port but at the same time tucked away in a quiet part of the old town, where the only thing which can wake you is the morning call of the rooster.

It has been such a pleasure staying at Nereids and I will definitely return there in the near future!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the shared veranda and the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank blured_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

my friend and I had just returned form our annual vacation abroad and since we still had a couple of days left before starting the hectic winter schedule we decided to go to Hydra for a 3 day- 2 night trip and we we decided to book at Nereids Guesthouse after looking at the photos of its website.
From the moment we arrived our stay was simply excellent. The weather helped a lot because although in the beginning of November it felt like late summer with great temperatures ( we even went to swim and the water was great).
Kostas and his brother the owners of the establishment were polite, friendly and helpful all the way. They advised us where to have a good coffee, where do they serve decent greek food in great price or even how to get to the top of the hill where we had spectacular views of almost the whole island.
Our room was comfortable with a great view towards the hills and the harbor, the veranda outside really cozy and had all the amenities we could need such as TV, big closet, night tables, fridge, big mirror, really cool toiletries in the bathroom.
If we could have a coffee making facility it would have been just great.
Nereids is a guesthouse for any season and we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August and for sure we will return back. The guesthouse is built in three levels, all easily accesible with steps. There are various mini-verandas for the just 9 rooms, offering the feeling of privacy when you want to just enjoy and relax. One thing to appreciate is the traditional architecture (stones and wooden ceilings) which -among other things- make the rooms cool in the summer days -- air-conditioners are available in each room, too.
The rooms are spacious, with a typical island design. The bathroom is separated by a double-curtain from the rest of the room, which might be a problem for people who don't know well each other. On the other hand, this fact adds a bit more to the total traditional-Hydra-feeling. Depending on your taste, you could find the mattresses relatively hard, but we never complained for a bad sleep.
The owners (two brothers running the hotel) are very friendly and will offer you advices anytime. Wi-Fi is available but the signal is not that strong; for sure you can use it in the yard where the owners are having their reception or in the verandas but probably not in the rooms.
We found the location attractive, as you are a bit away from the port, which at times can be noisy and crowded. You just take the first road from the port and you keep walking for approximately 700 metres. There is no sea-view but it is very quiet and at nights the hill brings always some fresh air. One disadvantage is that Nereids serve no breakfast, but the guesthouse is co-operating with one of the port cafe's and there you get a 20% discount on the catalogue prices (only for being served there, not for take-away). Another option, is to buy your things and store them in the room fridge. There are several bakeries in walking distance as well as a creperie and two mini-markets. No coffee facilities are offered in the rooms. But we really liked to walk in the morning for 10 minutes here and there, collecting a different breakfast-menu each day from here and there.
In total, we enjoyed our stay and we couldn't ask for more. The price range is average compared to the rest of the island and the local colour is present at all times. If you are searching for a quiet place to sleep, for some veranda to read, drink, relax and empty your mind, for a Hydra feeling (several other hotels we checked could easily be located in any European capital but not in an island...) then Nereids is for you. On the other hand, if you feel like being in a more noisy spot, with more clubs, bars and cafes, then you should better give a shot for a hotel closer to the port (keep in mind that it might be double or even triple priced, though). After all, in an island the sea is never too far away and all you need is some nice and clean place to sleep, no? :-)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are slightly more expensive, but are more spacious with a simple hydromassage facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcellogp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I would definitely not recommend to make a reservation here. What ever you do, do not transfer money to the owner if you still wish to stay here. Don't make the reservation through their own website. Me and my girlfriend did and unfortually the big strike hit Athen and no boats were leaving the harbour. We talked to the owner during this time and he promised us our money back, we should just have to pay the transfermoney. Because we wasn't sure if we would be able to leave the island if we would get stucked there, so we took that offer. Back home again he refused to pay back the 2 nights, just for one of those.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nereids, Owner at Nereids Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Sir,
We are very sorry you that you were disappointed by our services. As refered to your review, we told you indeed that we would return to you the 2 days of your deposited advance, on our first phone convirsation when the strike was going on in Athens, although we had informed you that there was a way to come to the island. Nevertheless I would like to remind you that after that telephone conversation, you've sent me an e-mail changing the days of your reservation for the days of the weekend to come. Furthermore, after that e-mail, you cancelled your reservation at a last minute's notice fearing of a new strike that never happened. Thus we found appropriate to return one day of your advance so that you didn't lose both days of your deposit.

We will be glad to welcome you another time.

Best regars,

Kostas Voulgaris,
Nereids Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 km away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#7 of 21 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 km away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 21 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 21 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereids Guest House

Property: Nereids Guest House
Address: Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,811 - ₹ 5,297
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nereids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing