We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
33
5
4
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
5
4
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place to stay unique place sea turtles the ground floor air conditioning marie mediterraneo ismael suite kastelorizo terrace port island accommodation boat
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had spent a few days at Mediterraneo last year and kept day-dreaming about the view from our room, the relaxing atmosphere and the finest hospitality by Marie, Ismael, Natalie and Alayna. The picture perfect port of Kastellorizo was in full display from our window. After the rich breakfast and the outstanding service we would dip in the water, literally two steps from our door. We loved watching the sea turtles sticking their heads out of the Southern Aegean to catch a breath. At night, we would lounge in the chaises looking at the stars. What a treat it was catching the full moon of September in our beloved Kastellorizo. We cannot wait to see you again dear friends!

Room tip: The front rooms have unparalleled view
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Angie100815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Chosen for a few days stay the first week of Sept., the small, quite and very pretty hotel of French Marie, was a very good start. A few steps from the centre, fish restaurants and the port.

The building is a colourful traditional one, with seafront and garden view rooms, sea towels, free sun beds, flip flops and an excellent view. Enjoy your breakfast at the terrace with traditional goodies and fresh fruits.

The very welcome, always smiling and extremely helpful couple of Esmael and Natalie" are ready to satisfy all your needs round the clock. Right in front of the hotel, a small ladder helps to dive and if you are lucky you may swim with a sea turtle!

When sun burns and you relax at your sun bed, Esmael and Natalie serve cold ice tea with fresh, hand made lemonade.

Tour the island by boat and visit Plakes, Blue caves, Agios Georgios beach and the tiny Ro island. Airport is 10 min by car (transfer via Rhodes island and Athens).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 128MARIAM128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed at the hotel ground floor room (the suite). The hotel is beautifully decorated and only 2 steps from the sea with an amazing view on the island. Seeing and swimming next to the sea turtles is quite an experience. The staff is very friendly, attentive and effective and really made a difference in our stay. Breakfast was not rich but the items were well selected and enough for a good start of the day. Also the staff offered us a spare room to settle for a few hours when we unexpectedly arrived too early due to a change in flights

However, we read the trip advisor report only the day before our stay and we fully agree with some of the comments that the amenities of the hotel need improvement. It is not reasonable for a 200+ Euro/night room not to have air-conditioning in the sweltering July heat. This really degraded the entire experience for us. Also, the bathroom/toilet has no doors - could be romantic or could be annoying, depends on your perspective. A cappuccino machine would have been good . The ladder to the sea is rusty and needs changing.

It is a unique place and with some improvements in amenities (mainly air-conditioning) it would have been a great choice. It is worrying though that guests reference the air-conditioning issue for 5 years now and it still remains a problem.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

It has been more than 25 years that I had visited a Greek island and Kastelorizo came as a nearly new experience. Old classic charm.....boat arrives and hundreds of visitors fill in an island.

Mediteraneo hotel lies at the corner of the island at the other end of the boat. A charming small hotel full of Greek delights. Spacious room overlooking the island and a breakfast patio on top of the blue water. Courteous service by Marie and Ismael and his wife who were always there and available to assist! One can spend hours staying in. Lying just outside the hotel and diving into the deep blue water. There is no beach. Only the sea. And here one swims with turtles. Once they decide to show up.

Little boats can take you away for the day to places like St George island or the Blue Cave which is indeed a place out of this world. As the name suggests it is really a blue cave and as already said.....a place out of this world.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Costas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This is a very special place. We had the time of our lives in Kastellorizo and our stay in Mediterraneo contributed substantially. The owner, Marie, is a true visionary. She created beautifully decorated rooms and a most hospitable space. The staff, Ismael, Natalie and Aleyna :) made sure we were spoiled with an abundance of breakfast items and refreshments. From our window, the view of the port was of postcard quality. Mediterraneo lends itself to meeting your neighbors. We became like a big family and took trips and meals together. Merci beaucoup, chere Marie

Room tip: Each room is unique. The suite at the first floor is most spacious and atmospheric.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie100815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews