We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George C
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely superb!”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here with two adult children . The accommodations are fantastic and the view incredible. Chantel and her staff were warm and accommodating in every way. Our stay here was the highlight of our vacation in Greece. The location is perfect. The breakfasts were amazing. We highly recommend and can't wait to return. Truly wonderful .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadsqaud
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An incredible home away from home!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six (3 teens and 1 tween) loved our stay at Seahorse! We arrived after traveling European cities for a week to the villa that Chantal has set up to feel like home to the travelers who visit. The chefs were a fantastic team and provided our every dining need. Breakfast each day was delicious and the view could not be surpassed! They worked tirelessly to make sure we were pleased with our meals. Dinner at the villa on our last night was our best meal on our visit to Santorini! Anna the housekeeper took care of a giant pile of laundry we had accumulated. Chantal gave us great advice on our adventure to the beach and took care of reservations, transportation needs and answered many questions during our stay. The whole family looks forward to going back to Santorini in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast, service and the view!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liam C
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible location, incredible service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The villa is overlooking the Caldera, a beautiful bay created by a volcano. It is right beside the town of Fira, yet is completely private. Therefore you never have to get a taxi unless you want to explore other parts of the island, yet once you are in the villa, you feel a million miles from the hustle and bustle. The villa is looked after by Christina and Themis (spelling?), who provide warmth, fun and incredible service. Your laundry is done without even asking! A beautiful breakfast is provided each morning. They are warm and efficient, a great combination.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine t
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kalliste (Santorini), the most beautiful one”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Santorini in ancient times, was known as Kalliste, the most beautiful one.
From a distance, the cluster of pure white buildings on the rim of the volcanic caldera looks like a coating of fresh snow.
The sight of the rock face gouged with striations of red, black and ochre, was staggering.
Santorini is the crescent-shaped remnant of an island blown to pieces in one of the largest volcanic eruptions in recorded history, 3600 years ago. The eruption left a broken necklace of islands encircling a deep sheltered lagoon of emerald-sapphire water with an active volcanic crater, Nea Kameni, in the centre. The cataclysm may have caused a giant tsunami which led to the collapse of the great Minoan civilisation on the island of Crete.
Christina met us at the foot of the zigzag road and took us to Seahorse Residence in the caldera-top village of Firostefani, next to the island’s capital, Fira.
Sea Horse Residence is a breathtaking vision of dionysos white marble.
The only touches of contrast are the sparkling blue/green of the jacuzzi and swimming pool, aqua glass seahorse statues, shocking-pink bougainvillea and a stately araucaria.
Built around 1720 into the volcanic rock on the wall of the caldera, the villa was originally a convent, and was once owned by a German prince, Karl von Hohenlohe-Öehringen.
Carefully restored from 1982 to 1988, Sea Horse was purchased in 1998 by current owner Chantal who created its present beautiful form.
Chantal is now developing the villa into a wedding, conference and reunion venue beyond compare, ably assisted by manager Christina and her husband Themis, the most hospitable, generous people you could ever hope to meet.
Built on four levels or terraces linked by a network of steep winding steps, Sea Horse is a series of luxurious fully self-contained suites which can function as one large venue or many individual apartments. The villa accommodates 18 people and hosts weddings and parties of up to 50 people.
Each room and suite is unique — there’s a shower cut into the volcanic rock, a shell-shaped bath, sculptures in a rock inset by gifted Santorini marble sculptor Grigoris Kouskouris, and stunning paintings by local artist Georgia Paraschi, Greek artefacts, urns, statues and Italian glassware. All the suites have balconies facing the sunset-over-the-Aegean view that tourists long for.
At pool level, a long outside bar with a white marble bench and adjoin a kitchen which is ideal for catering for large numbers in a climate where every summer day is cloudless and the nights are warm.
We had the spacious second top level to ourselves, with a full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and balcony, and a panoramic view of the whole island from Oia to Akrotiri. Lying in bed, I could see Therasia and the active volcanic island of Nea Kameni.
Above us was the famous, much-photographed blue-domed chapel of Agios Theodori with its triple bell-tower.
Hard-working Ka Anna serviced the apartments daily and took our laundry away to wash and iron.
Towards the end of our week in Santorini, Christina and Themis hosted a Greek barbecue for the guests at Sea Horse. Christina seasoned pork and lamb kebabs and tasty village sausages with black and white pepper, sea salt, lots of oregano, olive oil and lemon juice, using a half lemon on the end of a fork to mix the ingredients and coat the meat. We watched the sky turn lilac and vermillion as the sun set behind the island of Therasia, learned Zorba’s dance, drank exquisite Lava rosé, and savoured Santorini delicacies like white aubergines and cherry tomatoes with an incredible intensity of flavour.
The sunsets from the caldera rim are so dazzling that people flock in their thousands to the village of Oia at the far end of the island where they jostle and scramble for the best position to take photographs, and cheer and applaud as the fiery orange orb sinks into the Aegean. We felt smug because we had our own spectacular sunset heaven on the balcony by the Sea Horse pool where we toasted the "iliovasílema" at the close of each day.
Santorini is paradise photographers, artists, volcanologists and historians too with its well-preserved Minoan ruins at Akrotiri. It is also heaven for hikers, shoppers, gourmets and beach-seekers. Fira, the island’s main tourist village, is a fascinating maze of bustling alleyways, with shops selling everything from local art and crafts to exclusive fashions and jewellery.
But Sea Horse was like a magnet. We were constantly drawn back to our idyllic, peaceful haven away from the crowds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing