We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique Traditional Cave House with Stunning Views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and terrace
Pool and sun terrace Sunrise from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Pool and terrace
Pool and sun terrace
Sunrise from the pool
Terrace with pergola
Sunrise on the terrace
Spa pool
Shaded seating area with hammock
Courtyard in bloom
Courtyard
Dining area
Living room
Living room and dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3
view from house to the island of anafi
Local taverna 'Metaximas'
sunrise from the house
Neighbouring village of Prygos at Easter
sunrise from the house
sunrise from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kate M
1 review
“Unique Traditional Cave House with Stunning Views!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful traditional cave house offering a very unique experience. It has all the facilities you need and is very well maintained. The rooftop terrace was amazing, with fantastic views across the village and down to the sea, perfect for a dip in the plunge pool and even for my morning yoga session! We would highly recommend the local taverna: Metaxi-mas for delicious Greek food, plus the Mexican restaurant: Senor Zorba with very friendly staff and huge portions, not to mention the fantastic sunset.
Santorini has so many places to visit and enjoy.
A truly amazing holiday, and we always find the Greek people are super friendly!
The only downside was that the path that leads up to the villa can be quite steep in places, so just need to be aware if you have walking difficulties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cavern House”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

I stayed at the Cavern House with three friends who had flown over from Melbourne, Australia for a European Tour in September 2016.
Sarah was very helpful in arranging a car hire and collection to and from the airport for us. Her manager met us at the house and was very helpful in arranging trips and general advice . An additional treat was the bowl of fruit, something for lunch, water and cold beers in the fridge. Everything you could want was in the house, the decoration was very well thought out and it was spotlessly clean. There was also a BBQ in the small outside patio area. We only discovered the DVD's and CD's the day before we left.
There was a short walk up hill along the outside track to the plunge pool but it had glorious views. The house next door had their own access from the patio up some steps.
Happily on arrival we were driven up the narrow road to the house, otherwise the car park was at the bottom of the hill by the red roof church and the walk up hill in the heat is not for the faint hearted. We decided to sit outside and have salads and a drink or two of wine in the glorious evenings after a hard day site seeing in the sun but we tried the nearest restaurant and it was very good, but busy.
Don't expect many traffic directions in Santorini, and the words don't drink and drive does not seem to appear in their language judging from the amount of wine drunk at the tasting sessions at the local winery. All in all a very happy holiday. Thanks Sarah.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K
1 review
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked to stay at Villa House Anthea for our holiday in Santorini and absolutely loved it. Sarah (the owner) and Iro (villa manager) were so helpful in making our holiday stress free and definitely one to remember. We visited Santorini for a wedding and the bride used to villa to get ready in and for her pre-ceremony photos. The location/accommodation was stunning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dadio77
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and property!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just returned from a week in stunning Santorini and really enjoyed our time at the cavern! Don't think I could live in one permanently but it felt so much more authentic than the hotels we considered. For a house built into the cliff it was very modern and had pretty much everything we needed.

It was Iro's first week as manager but she looked after us really well, arranging a number of things for us whilst we were there, very happy with her service, and Sarah's help before we arrived.

Parking was at the church down the hill, which was great for walking off the many fantastic meals we enjoyed, though harder work with bags, shopping etc. The path is also steep in places, but then so is the whole island so this shouldn't put you off.

Wifi was excellent, we were able to stream the football (as there is no channels, just a tv with DVDs). Bins are a decent walk away and the cleaner comes once, though Iro deferred to arrange more visits if needed.

The location is perfect, Kamari (10 mins), Perissa (15), Fira (20) and Oia (30) all accessible via the essential hire car. The view is also amazing, especially from the terrace. The pool is more of a plunger than a swimmer, but the beach isn't too far and the water is great (esp. Perissa onwards).

Highly recommend Anemeloos, Metaxi Mas, Pyrgos restaurants, Santo Winery and Mylopetra bakery which are all nearby.

All in all, we were really happy we chose Anthea as our base for one of the most scenic places on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Hi Nathan,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our house and although it was Iro's first week i am glad you felt she looked after you "really well". The parking is a short walk away but guests are able to load and unload their cars approx 20 meters from the house.
Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, traditional property in great location.”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed a great Easter break at Cavern House Anthea that was intended as 7 days but got extended to 10 due to Greek industrial action. This extended break enabled us to enjoy more of what Santorini has to offer. :-)

The property is very well equipped and a traditional cavern house in a very nice traditional village. The views are stunning and there is plenty to do in the location and further afield. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the top terrace in the warm sunshine, relaxing with a nice glass of the excellent Santorini wine.

The house is a short 10 minute uphill walk to the traditional village of Pyrgos where there are a number of tavernas and a couple of small supermarkets. Down from the property are a another number of tavernas. Our top recommendations are Cava Alta (Pyrgos) and Anemoloos (Meze, in Exagonia). The later one is only open a few days a week but was the best meal by far all the time we stayed in Santorini.

The house is located near to some great wineries - Estate Argyros was our personal favorite at the bottom of the hill. Very friendly people and fabulous wine. The Donkey Brewery is also in the same location and well worth visiting to pick up some supplies.

There are plenty of places to visit and nothing too far away as Santorini is compact island. The location of the property is outside the traffic hot spots and centrally located, so very convenient for trips out.

Finally, the service and help provided by Sarah and Kimberley really made for a great relaxing trip. Nothing was too much trouble, especially when we got delayed for a number of days and had to extend our stay.

Many thanks for all your help and recommendations in making this a very memorable holiday. We will certainly return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional property and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 231
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing