We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect villa on the mountains”
other travellers have booked this property
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety
Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Spacious garden area with trees, flowers, swimming pool, sun beds, umbrellas, sitting area, etc.
Sun beds & umbrellas by the pool.
Relax and enjoy your stay in our garden!
Garden-park area
Garden - one of the two outdoor dinning areas under the tree
Balcony - outdoors dinning table in the veranda next to the kitchen with view!
Spacious living room
Living room
We offer you light hiking equipment for free!
Fully equipped kitchen and indoor dining table!
Kitchen with direct exit to balcony with the outdoor dining area
Main bedroom on the first floor
Main bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
Veranda on the ground floor with outdoor sitting area
Veranda on the first floor with outdoor sitting area
Our villa offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea, Mt. Psiloritis and the whole area.
Amazing views from all our balconies & verandas
Free bicycles and new removable safety fence for young children in pool
Barbecue with wood oven and sink, we will provide everything like charcoal!
Hammock under the tree for relaxation..!
Pool and garden area with view
Outdoors area
Fenced parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
finntrave...
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Perfect villa on the mountains”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Eleftherna is beautiful and very well maintained, thanks to family Vasilakis! We enjoyed the wonderful garden and the pool. The well kept house includes everything you need for your holiday. If there was anything we needed, we could always ask the friendly hosts! We were a group of four adults and four teenagers, and the house had perfect layout and good space for two families. It was easy to make day trips to south coast, Rethymon area and also Iraklion with Knosos palace. The nature is beautiful in Eleftherna area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amelie d
Paris, France
1 review
“villa Elefterna in June”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

the villa is fabulous, you'll find there all the ingredients for perfect holidays. Beautiful and comfortable rooms, very nice pool, barbecue, garden with flowers... The village is calm and quiet with nice places to visit, beaches and Rethymnon city not too far. Kostas and his family are the perfect hosts, making sure everything is all right during your stay! A big thank to the Vasilakis family, we will come back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisfied...
Oldham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Villa Eleftherna and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering booking. The villa is beautiful, very well maintained and immaculately clean. From making our initial enquiries about the booking with Kostas to arriving at the villa and being welcomed by Kostas’s father George who owns the villa everything was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Kostas even recommended a car hire firm who he had negotiated a discount with for his clients so when we booked we got a great discount from them as we had rented a villa from him.
The drive up to Eleftherna from the motorway is beautiful, I didn’t before appreciate how mountainous Crete is. Even though we had lovely weather the mountain behind the villa was still snow-capped and gave a beautiful contrast to the views from the rear of the villa and pool from which you can see down to the coast at Rethymnon.
The villa itself is even more beautiful than the pictures show. Georges hard work in the garden since they built the villa has paid off and the colours and scents of the roses, honeysuckle etc were beautiful he has even planted a lovely herb garden. The villa layout is ideal, there was only the 3 of us staying but it worked out so much better than a hotel as our teenage daughter was able to have her own space and bathroom. Each bedroom has a terrace or balcony, the terrace off the master upstairs is huge with views down to the coast, the twin room upstairs has views over the snow-capped mountain. If you were travelling to the villa as a group of friends or 2 families the terraces and layout would mean you still had plenty of space to be alone if you wanted to.
The kitchen was really well equipped with appliances, cooking utensils, glasses, plates – everything!! I can’t think of any amenity the villa didn’t have that I would have liked to have been there they have thought of everything. For us, the thing that made the week so special was the hospitality shown by George. We were made to feel so welcome and relaxed straight away and he kindly gave us a beautiful welcome basket with his homemade olive oil, olives, wine, raki and fruits on arrival. We really enjoyed making full use of the bbq and pizza oven in the garden which George ensured was all ready to use with charcoal, wood etc when we got there. At the end of the holiday George cooked us a wonderful bbq which we really enjoyed, made more enjoyable with his great company. We were sad to leave and wish we had booked for longer but we will definitely return. If you are looking for a relaxing break away from it all with genuine warm hospitality in lovely surroundings don’t hesitate to book you won’t be disappointed.

A few tips. The map facility for directions on iphones worked great as a sat nav if you enter the co-ordinates Kostas gives you for the villa, it takes the stress out of trying to read road names in Greek! If you fly in to Chania and hire a car there is a Lidl just off the E75 motorway at Rethymnon on route to the villa (we missed the exit but it was easy enough to loop back)it is pretty well stocked and will enable you to buy all of what you need food and drink wise for the villa and we were surprised at how cheap it was. The villa is about 25 minute drive from here. Kostas’s recommendation of booking a car with Autodifferent who are a subsidiary of Budget was a good one, they met us in arrivals and took us through the paperwork and then walked us the short distance to their site for the car, the car was in good condition and it was also a great price with the discount. Happy to answer any questions anyone may have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Cretian Village Retreat”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you are looking for something a bit different from a normal beach holiday choose Villa Eleftherna.

George and his family went to great lengths to makes sure our holiday was a complete success.

The Villa was exceptionally clean and well kept with immaculate grounds and swimming pool and not mentioned in a stunning location.

Close by are walks to Roman Archaeological buildings and other Historical Buildings and caves.

A car would be essential but it is only 25 minutes drive to the nearest beach in Rethymnon.

This villa provides the ideal location for a Greek holiday.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The grounds of the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
style_unc...
Scandinavia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning city escape and views in the mountains”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in with my family in August 2014. It takes a good drive to reach this house on the top of a mountain hill village, but it is worth the effort.

Setting the navigation beforehand is essential.

As many pictures will show, the venue is beautiful, highly functional and also well equipped. Local service and support is generous to say the least; George and his family totally spoil you with attention, maintenance and pleasant surprises during your stay.

When writing this back London in April 2015 I still remember the wonderful views overlooking the valley all the way to the sea miles away.

I also remember the invaluable peacefulness that in my view justifies the journey on its own. One really gets a geuine soul healing break from the big city concrete jungle. With the always refreshing pool and an excellent BBQ facility in the grown up and aesthetically manicured garden, nobody will miss busy hotel facilities or its accompanying tourist mess.

Up here. One can hear the wind whisper and birds singing. One can hear bypassing bees while enjoying breakfast in what almost feels like your own valley.

The village is great for walks. Supermarkets and butchers are some 15 mins drive downhills.

A top tip is a day-long excursion to the Matala Beach on the south side of Crete. Satnav is essential and make sure you drive a l l t h e w a y home too during daylight. Doing so ensures not only road safety but also magnificent mountain panoramas along the way.

I happily recommend this venue for anyone seeking a quiet family retreat in a luxurious setting and with ample opportunities for car excursions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing