We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We will come again as soon as possible - it was a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa-Gonia

Villa Gonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Gonia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa Gonia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
HighMaint...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice villa, however....”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Although the villa had many good points, as per previous reviews, there were a number of negatives which need highlighting. We were a group of four adults (me, my husband and my husband’s daughter and her husband), and before hiring the villa I emailed Marianna to enquire whether there were two double beds, as this was an important requirement for us. She assured me that the twin beds could be converted to proper double beds and wouldn’t be a problem. Just before our holiday I emailed her again to remind her that we required two double beds. I also asked for a fan in the bedrooms due to the lack of AC and hot weather. She also assured me that she would be at the villa to meet us and asked what time we expected to arrive. I estimated it would be around 3pm, and we actually arrived at 3.10pm. Upon arrival there was nobody at the villa. We buzzed the intercom a number of times and shouted over the wall but the place was deserted. I then tried phoning Marianna from my mobile 3 or 4 times, but there was no answer. This was obviously not the best start to the holiday, as it was 38 degrees outside and we’d had a long drive from Heraklion in a car with broken AC. We decided to try and locate her tavern in the village (luckily I’d heard about this on tripadvisor reviews), which we eventually did. Fortunately, she was there and seemed surprise to see us, saying she’d been waiting for my phone call (even though she never told me I had to phone her). I pointed out I’d called a few times with no answer, and her reply was, “Ok, I’ll be there in a few minutes.” No apology or anything. She arrived at the villa to show us around; everything downstairs all looked clean and in order. However, when we got to the bedrooms we discovered..... ONLY ONE DOUBLE BED. I reminded her that we needed two double beds, her response to which was to just push two of the single beds together??! I asked if she could at least put a double sheet on the beds to try and disguise the crack somewhat. She seemed quite put out by this, but agreed to do it. I also reminded her that we asked for fans in the bedroom, she said she only had one fan and would bring it later. This was quite a concern, as the bedrooms were like saunas due to the heat-wave Crete was experiencing, but there wasn’t much we could do about it because it was a Sunday and the shops were closed. Suffice to say; none of us got hardly any sleep that night as the rooms were unbearably hot (even with a fan), and because we had to have to windows open there was the constant noise of dogs barking and cockerels crowing all night – it was a fairly miserable start to our holiday. We had also planned on doing a lot of cooking on the BBQ whilst there, but we discovered the villa didn’t even have a BBQ?! So, the following day was spent driving around trying to find somewhere to buy a fan and a BBQ, at our own expense (hopefully future guests will benefit from these items).
The main lesson I learned from our trip was that I will NEVER stay somewhere that doesn’t have air-conditioning during the summer months ever again. It is untrue that the villa is designed in a way to negate the need for AC – none of us slept well for the duration of our holiday, as the bedrooms were like saunas, despite keeping the shutters closed all day as instructed by Marianna. It’s a good job there was a swimming pool at the villa, as it was the only possible way to cool down, and it’s where we spent most of our time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: NO Air conditioning!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1flower1
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“We will come again as soon as possible - it was a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the Villa for two weeks with our four children. The Villa is very beautiful and everything inside and outside is very tasteful. The photos tell the truth. Everything is new and beautiful and the pool is fantastic. By car you can drive to the beaches on the north and on the south coast easily. Rethymnon is very close, too. In Gonia there is a very small supermarket where you can buy the necessary things. The highlights of our vacation were our visits in the tavern from the owners, Maria and Nico. The tavern is in Gonia about 150 metres away from the Villa. Maria and Nico are sooooo friendly and hospitable and the food is sooooo good. First we wanted to cook for ourselves in the great kitchen of the villa but then we tried the tavern and could not resist to eat there anymore... Our whole Family wants to come back as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect villa, holiday and hosts!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Villa Gonia for 10 days this May and we had the most wonderful holiday. The villa was stunning and much bigger than the photos suggest. The décor throughout is immaculate and remained that way due to the cleaning service every 3 days.

We were welcomed by Marianna at the villa and she had left us some bits and pieces in the fridge which was so kind! Especially as the shop less than 2 mins walk away has all the basics and fresh fruit and veg. The bigger supermarkets were 5 mins drive away and there was a lovely deli and patisserie in Agripopoulis too (2 villages down).

We ate at Marianna and Nikos' tavern on the first night and Nikos' 'Mama' had made a Mousakka - the best we've ever eaten and accompanied by the mixture of starters and the house wine (made locally by Marianna and Nikos) the meal was perfect and such good value. We ate there 4 times during our stay as the stumble back to the villa was so convenient but also because the food was excellent and it was lovely to see and chat with Marianna, Nikos and their children!

We would recommend hiring a car and we went into Rethymno most days for a wander, spot of shopping or dinner - we went to 1600 or Raki Ba Raki which was a recommendation from Marianna and it was brilliant. Avli opposite is also a brilliant restaurant but a little more upmarket.

The villa itself had everything we could ask for - dishwasher, washing machine, a Nespresso machine, a DVD player, all manner of cooking equipment in the kitchen but it was also the little touches like having washing up liquid, coffee, olive oil, salt and pepper and all the basics in the cupboards when we arrived. It made such a difference. The beds, bedding and towels were all really good quality and comfortable and the villa is in a great location and very private.

Overall a perfect holiday - 10/10 and we have already booked to come back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annie563
LYTHAM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa & hosts”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were met on arrival at the villa Gonia by our host Marianna who gave us a tour of the villa & explained how everything worked. The villa is set in a small village & is truly superb, spotless & has everything you need plus the coco-mat beds are so comfortable & to die for.
Marianne & Nikos make sure everything is ok for you with the villa cleaned & bed linen & towels changed every 3 days . They are on hand to help if you need anything plus give advice on where to visit.
The village is well placed to visit many parts of the island by car or bus Chania & Knossus are 1 hr away, Rethymnon 10-15 minutes & the south within easy reach .

A definite must is a visit to Marianna & Nikos taverna around the corner . The food is superb traditional Cretan food with a very warm welcome from Marianna & family .

We loved our stay very much in these wonderful surroundings, beautiful villa & fantastic hosts. Thank you so much Marianna & Nikos for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrille D
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay in Crete's quiet countryide”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I rented the villa for me and my family (5 people) for a one week holiday stay in Crete. The villa is located in the quiet village of Gonia which is in the hilly area south of Rethymno, about a 15 minute drive away from Rehymno with its fortress, pretty streets and harbours. Gonia itself is small, very green with trees and bushes, has two restaurants and a small shop. The location is in Crete's narrowest part, which means that it's easy and quick to reach the Southcoast even though the North coast is close. The villa is spacious, very clean and very well equipped including the kitchen. We particularly liked the interior clear design and the beautiful pool. Maria and her husband are very warm welcoming hosts, communication via email or phone were prompt and efficient and very friendly. They invited us for dinner in their restaurant on the first night, the food is excellent. We used the villa as base for day tours around the island, slept in long in the mornings and used the kitchen extensively for cooking in the long evenings. We enjoyed our stay a lot and felt very much relaxed after this holiday. We can recommend the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quietness, modern and new house with good equipment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing