We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeding expectations”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the villa Villa Stratos - private swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
view from the villa
Villa Stratos - private swimming pool
Villa Stratos - garden
Villa Stratos - garden with barbecue and woodoven
Villa Stratos - kiosk
Villa Stratos - veranda and unrestricted view
Villa Stratos - living area
Villa Stratos - fully equipped kitchen
Villa Stratos - bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nigel S
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectations”
Reviewed 4 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
9
people found this review helpful

Villa Stratos not only lived up to the description and previous reviews, but exceeded our expectations. The villa is situated in a very quiet location yet only 12 kms south of Rethymnon. It had everything you could want to have home from home. What made it really special was the friendliness and hospitality of the family that own and run the villa. This was definatively the most memorable part of our holiday in Crete. Being showen how to make local delicaies and sampling some wonderful food will remain in our thoughts forever. Whilst Villa Sratos did not have wifi we were able to use the owners wifi at Villa Maria which was encouraged and highly recommended for the hospitality that was received, probably the most enjoyable Greek coffee in Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy of the Villa and the hospitality of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Genuine Cretan hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
10
people found this review helpful

You just have to go to Crete to meet this family! Never mind the Villa - the family will just make your holiday. We were warmly welcomed by Maria, invited out for supper on our first night and then provided with fresh garden produce(so much we couldn't eat it all), breakfast cake and wine and Raki from the family vineyard. They are lovely warm people who have a genuine interest in making their guests feel at home but in an unobstrusive way. Eva will also cook meals if you require during your stay at a very reasonable price.
Villa Fouli where we stayed was beautiful. It was also immaculate and catered for all our needs. The view is great. I watched the dawn more than once and it was stunning. The location is good because it is only 20 minutes from the city of Rethymnon. It made it easy for us to visit in the evening when it was cooler. Plenty of places to visit in the area and in my opinion a week just isn't long enough!

A couple of points to bear in mind. If you have young children I would pick the villa Stratos because it has the children's pool. Fouli's pool is all the same depth (no shallow end) and there is only one way in, down the vertical ladder. Not so easy if you are infirm/disabled. Having said that - its a great pool for older children who can swim. I also need to mention that there are several stairs to negotiate in Fouli and there are no handrails.

We never go back to the same place twice but I think we may make an exception with Stratos villas!

Eva, Stratos, Maria and Fouli - thanks for making our stay so perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning rural location
Liked least: The stairs to the swimming pool.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikael_le...
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stratos Villas are the best way to experience Crete: hospitality, kindness and efficiency abound.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
12
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from a wonderful, awe-inspiring holiday in Crete, staying at 'Villa Maria' in Kaloniktis which is not far at all from Rethymnon. We used this as a base to do many excursions around the region including Chania. We had the honour and pleasure of meeting Eva, Stratos and their family. The villa was beautiful and perfect in every sense; we had everything we needed including a lovely view from the huge terrace. The air is so pure and fresh at night, I have never slept so well in all my life ! As for the food, it was absolutely delicious and a lot of it came from Eva's garden and kitchen! If we hadn't packed in so much sightseeing, I would've loved to have spent time with Eva learning how to cook some of her mouth watering Cretan dishes. I'm just dreaming of the day when we can return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and the location.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabraalet...
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful house- ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 27 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
14
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in Crete in the the Villa Maria. It is the best holiday house I have stayed in yet; beautiful house, very well equiped, impeccably clean and with lovely views. To top it off the Stratos family were wonderfully welcoming to the 3 of us, providing us with everything we needed- a welcoming pack, information on where to visit, treats from their kitchen and garden and a delicious meal to top it all off.

Couldn't recommend this place more highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Reviewed 24 June 2011 for a stay in August 2010
16
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The hospitality of Stratos's family+the location of the villas!
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing