We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
146
260
107
44
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
260
107
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor taxi rank where breakfast is served venetian walls floor restaurant nice place to stay modern rooms cretan hospitality would definitely stay here again rooftop bar booked this hotel breakfast room air conditioning the bus nice room min walk close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Our plane to Athens left at 8am in the morning so we had to stay overnight the night before in Heraklion. It cost us 10 Euro from the airport to the hotel but 15 Euro from the hotel to the airport. The taxi driver didn't care that there was a difference but it didn't leave a great taste in our mouths, especially since the hotel said it would be 12-15 Euro (which we mentioned to the taxi driver). The hotel was a too far away from the airport. I would probably choose a closer hotel now knowing that airport shuttle is NOT included. The hotel itself was very quiet and the restaurant on top of the hotel was nice. The hotel was older and had carpet starting to show its age, broken tile on the corner of the main steps, glass on the Skybar that needed more cleaning, but overall, the cleanliness matched the surrounding area and we found it acceptable - not perfect. The bathroom is super tiny and they didn't have an extra roll of TP for you - this was an issue. However, the staff seemed very willing to accommodate if you ask. We just needed a comfortable and quiet room and this is what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BoloBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for the time you spent on this review, the opinion of our guests is respected, accepted and evaluated. this is the reason why we have made such steps forward and we are every day improving. Concerning the cleanliness that you mentioned, the vast majority of our guests have reviewed us with a high score. Everybody has their own opinion and we are respecing them all.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel, nearby the centre of Heraklion. Bus station is also on the courner. The room was clean and nice. Not very big for 3 persons but if you are not staying long then it's okay. Breakfast was good and with beautiful view.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank gaszpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,
we appreciate your kind words about the breakfast and the room. We never stop offering our guests top class service in order to create nice memories.
Thank you for your stay,
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Although the Castello City is on a busy roundabout, very little traffic noise was audible inside this pleasant and comfortable hotel, which is also well away from the airport flight paths. Location is excellent for getting around the city generally, and to the main archaeological sites - a taxi rank opposite proved very useful. Our hotel room was on the small side, but we were only in there to sleep and shower, and found the bed very comfortable and the updated bathroom had everything we needed. The air conditioning was quiet, and the WiFi good. As other reviewers have remarked, the Castello City staff are extremely helpful and friendly, particularly the restaurant manager who went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the excellent breakfast and evening meals we had there.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank judithmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Mrs Judith,
we appreciate your kind words about the personnel, the breakfast and the room. We never stop offering our guests top class service in order to create nice memories.
Thank you for your stay,
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We stayed for three nights in order to explore the museums and city of Heraklion. The hotel is located on a very busy roundabout, but the taxi rank is just across the road so very convenient. The rooms are clean and well equipped and have everything you need. However, there is no furniture on the balcony - disappointing. However, the staff are the best thing about the hotel as they are warm and welcoming. One exceptional member of staff is the helpful restaurant/bar manager who always has a smile and never seems to sleep! Breakfast offers a very good choice with something to suit every nationality. We had dinner in the hotel twice and the set menu is good value.

Room Tip: Expect the usual noise from a city at night, but close the balcony door and put on the aircon if street noise is a problem
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peregrineventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Good location. 10 minutes walk to the historical center.
Clean rooms and nice breakfast with plenty of choice.
Very good price according to the quality and service !

we had a room for 2 adults and 2 children well equipped with a balcony, fridge, bottle of water and sufficient size.
Bar at the roof offers a nice view.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babadeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Babadeda,
thank you very much for your nice words. Mrs Fidelis is always attentive in the needs of our guests. We have the responsibility to keep our guests happy because we respect the fact that they honored us with their choice.
Castello City Hotel is conveniently located very close to the center of the city, everything is within walking distance. People are walking up and down 24 hours, our city is one of the safest.
The stores of the center are 10 minute to the east side on foot and the beach is 15 minutes to the west.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews