We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
934
179
36
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
179
36
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus homemade cookies rooftop restaurant great hotel top floor appointed rooms corner room turn down service breakfast buffet luxury hotel archaeological museum sea view small pool perfect location sitting area would definitely stay here again amazing breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I booked the hotel for its terrific location. Close to all the transport facilities. The bus to Knossos is virtually in the parking lot at the front of the hotel. Our ferry to Santorini was a short walk, even with luggage.
Great breakfast each morning to start the day. Well designed room with a mix of wood and stone on the floors. Our room had a double balcony which we didn't use. It's warm in Crete!
It seems all of the folks that we've had the pleasure to meet while in Greece have been remarkably free of the "surly" gene that's common in the States. The staff at this hotel was no exception. Friendly and helpful from the top to the bottom. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ερη Α, Assistant manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Hugh T,
thank you very much for staying with us and for writing this lovely review. The GDM Megaron hotel is indeed ideally situated at the city center, next to the port, the bus station and easily accessible from the airport. Add the free private parking space and you have the perfect combination either for sightseeing in the city, shopping or further exploration of the island. Thank you for you kind compliments regarding our rooms, the decoration, the breakfast and above all the service from out team. We would love to see you again soon!
Best Regards,
the GDM Megaron hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I stayed here for 4 very peaceful, comfortable nights. The quality of the rooms is very high - they are extremely comfortable & so well sounde-proofed you think you are in the hotel by yourself. Breakfast if of a high standard, with lots of choicer and absolutely no rush. The hotel is located 10 mins walk from the centre of town (shops, restaurants etc) and 10 mins walk from the world-famous archaeological museum. Oh, and the staff are great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ερη Α, Assistant manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear starmanUk,

thank for choosing to stay at the GDM Megaron Hotel! We are very glad that your 4 nights with us were very peaceful and comfortable and that you found the staff, the location of the hotel, the high standard of our breakfast and the quality of our rooms to your satisfaction. All our rooms are indeed fully soundproofed in order to provide our guests with uninterrupted moments of rest and calm. We hope to accommodate you again soon!
Best Regards,
the GDM Megaron team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Very good hotel. Excellent service, top breakfast buffet, free parking in front, old world charm in the hustle and bustle of Heraklion. Room was charming although bathroom was a bit cramped. Had debated whether to base ourselves in Heraklion but this was clearly the right decision as we explored east and west coasts in our stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank amm1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ερη Α, Assistant manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Andrew M,
the city of Heraklion is a great base for exploring Crete since it is in the middle of the island, it is well connected with a very good bus system and as a city it has a lot to offer, from archaeological sites, beautiful quaint spots and shopping districts. We are very glad that you chose our hotel for your stay and that you were satisfied by our service, the free parking area, the breakfast buffet and your room. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at the GDM Megaron hotel!

Warm Regards,
the GDM Megaron team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We just returned from Greece and had the best hotel we've ever stayed at in our lives! As I see it there are only two "challenges" to this wonderful place and I wouldn't even call them negative challenges! Those being that they are in the flight path of the airport (bring earplugs to wear at night and you'll do fine!), and the water pressure in the shower is not what I'm used to but is still very functional. That being said my husband and I have concluded that we WILL definitely return to Crete specifically for the purposes of staying at this wonderful hotel! I believe this is a 4 or 5 star hotel and it definitely should be 5 stars particularly for their fantastic customer service!
The staff is beyond exceptional! They are kind, friendly, accommodating, thoughtful, and more than happy to help with anything you may need during your stay there!
The rooms are gorgeous! Ours had a view of the ocean and the waterfront where ships, boats, and ferries arrived quietly and you could see them any time of the day or evening. The bathrooms are very spacious, the ceilings of the rooms are at least 15 feet tall but probably taller than that! The sitting area was quite comfortable with a couch and a few chairs. The decor is what you would hope for in a Greek hotel--beautiful! Everything about this hotel is exceptional. All guests get breakfast every morning while staying here and it is so much more than just a breakfast buffet--they have such fabulous selections that I'm certain I gained a pound or two while visiting! The breakfast buffet starts at 7:00a and ends at 10:30a.
They have a nice swimming pool that overlooks the ocean and they have a small exercise room as well. On the same rooftop area as the pool they have a lovely restaurant where incredible food is served! We were able to experience so many different herbs and flavors that each dish was exceptional and a new experience for us! My husband and I were there for our wedding anniversary and the staff went overboard and out of their way welcoming us and wishing us well with wine, and special drinks to mark our day.
Whenever we wanted information about how to find a place they directed us and provided a map with great instructions. Whenever we wanted to know where to buy something they provided us with multiple choices of where to go. On our last day there our plane was due out many hours prior to their fabulous breakfast buffet so they packed a great meal to take with us.
This hotel is spotlessly clean ALL the time! I was so impressed with the housekeeping staff--warm, friendly, accommodating, and very respectful of coming back when you were ready for them. I'm not sure how old this hotel is but it is in such pristine condition that it seems brand new! I just don't have enough positive words to describe how special this hotel and their wonderful staff is! They make it abundantly clear that they are there to make your stay great and they achieve that every single day from every single staff member! Each night at bedtime you receive a little inspirational note card delivered beneath the door of your room which is very nice.
The views from this property are exceptional. We'd wake up in the morning to see this great ocean view with a great old fortress in sight.
Another reviewer wrote that the planes go overhead about every 20 minutes--we didn't find that to be the case--sure you would hear them from time to time but I don't feel it was that frequent. As I wrote, we wore little ear plugs at night time and I am an extremely light sleeper who did not awaken to the airplane noises!
We stayed in a hotel in Athens where the air conditioning was literally non-existent and the air conditioning at the GDM Megaron was outstanding! It worked very, very well in a very warm climate!
The hotel is in a great location for either walking up to the City Center, down to the ocean, or to a bus stop. We rented a car and one of the staff members rode with my husband to show him how to get to their parking lot--what incredible service! They are truly in the business of making your stay as wonderful as they can! We can hardly wait until our next visit to the GDM Megaron Hotel!

Room Tip: Enjoy being spoiled; ask the staff for anything and they will help guide you. Get a waterfront view--they are great views to wake up to!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kaww0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ερη Α, Assistant manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear kaww0502,

the whole team would like to thank you for your amazing review! Reviews like yours are the best awards we can receive and the motivation to keep striving for perfection. Thank you for appointing the GDM Megaron 5 star hotel as the best hotel you have ever stayed in and for your praising compliments regarding the service from our staff, the breakfast, the 5th restaurant with it's signature artisan cuisine, the rooms of our hotel, the location, etc. We, as well, can not wait to welcome you back. Until next time!
Warm Wishes,
the GDM Megaron team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

What an amazing hotel! If you're staying in Crete and have the opportunity to use their very impressive bus system (takes you anywhere on the island for very cheap rates), then the Magaron should be your hotel in Heraklion, It's located right next to the bus terminal and is a top notch place to stay. The facilities are immaculate, the staff is courteous and professional, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the restaurant/bar on the roof are magnificent. It's location right in the heart of downtown makes it ideal for trips to Knossos or the many museums in the city.

Room Tip: Request a harbor view. There's a nightclub on the city side that can be noisy late into the night.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D9975ATstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ερη Α, Assistant manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear D9975ATstevens,
many thanks for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel rooms, the restaurant and the staff, which I will pass on accordingly. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future!

Best Regards,
the GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews