We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Set in the bay of Elounda, close to the buzzing fishing villiage and overlooking the famed Spingalonga Island ( subject of the book The Island) is this perfect, spotlessly clean, impeccable hotel. We treated ourselves to a room with private pool, but the main hotel and pool are just as lovely. Private beach, clear water, hotel restaurant serving fine food plus the added bonus of a Relais & Chateau restaurant set in the stunning grounds. No construction in sight. No flies, either. Just the sound of the clear Mediterranean lapping on the shore outside every window. The service is perfect. Access to the Spa s via a shuttle service. Local tavernas in the village are authentic. It is a perfect holiday in the perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    67
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
209
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting;it feels more as if you are entering a large villa surrounded by a cretan village due to the gardens, bungalows and the few shops surrounding the lovely orthodox church within the grounds.Although the hotel was busy it was always very quiet -no rowdy quests here[is this what a previous reviewer thought snobbish?].We preferred the peace and quiet; generally the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.We were on a dine around package but the penisuls gulf hotel was already closed so could not try there; we ate in the yacht club for the fish night which was very good but the old mill was excellent - we have stayed at relais and chateaux hotels with 1 and 2 michelin stars and food at the old mill was as good if not better.My only complaint is that the pool was not heated - advantage was very few people using pool so it felt like aprivate pool but I was shivering in pool at first.We had a look around some of the other 5 star hotels around elounda and plaka but thought this was the most beautiful as it was smaller, had beautiful gardens and small .beach area

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

For true luxury on Crete, Elounda Mare is the perfect hotel. Perched on the edge of a beautiful, desolate peninsula at the most Eastern point of Crete, the Elounda Mare literally has its toes dipped right into the bright blue Mediterranean sea. There’s a pool which you would expect, but there is also beautiful sandy beach front and the room options include individual villas with their own private pool. The villa I stayed in has all the standard hotel features that I love so much and then a lot more. There were deep, beautiful baths with air jets, huge flat screen televisions, wifi, antique furniture, local art and lashings of high end toiletries.

Elounda Mare is a Relais and Chateaux property and so of course the food is sensational. So good in fact that we did not venture anywhere else on Crete for our three nights there. Shameful I know. I have popped some photos and a fuller review up on my blog: http://www.gourmet-chick.com/2011/10/elounda-mare-gourmet-chick-in-greece.html

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We absolutely loved the Elounda Mare - we stayed in one of the private bungalows with our own private garden and pool and can truly say it was some of the best accommodation we have experienced. The bungalow, the view, the pool, the garden, the room service, the food, the staff, the bar, the library to find more books to read - absolutely everything was perfect - we will definately be going back...

Room Tip: Bungalow 36 - perfect garden and pool - sun until 5.30pm in October !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, null, Monaco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Absolutely fabulous location and building - but overall it is VERY disappointing.... The staff basically do not care whether you are satisfied or not. We asked to change rooms and were told that we were already in a wonderful room and what was our problem ? We asked to have the fireplace lit this evening as the weather is bad and we ordered room service and watching a DVD in room and wanted to light one of the two fireplaces we have - But we were told that they could arrange it for tomorrow but not tonight !........ Its not really of Relais & Chateaux standard we are very disappointed ..... Food is very disappointing and very expensive. Location is great though. Front desk staff very off hand also. We could have spent our week and money elsewhere........ Apparently we have now been told that the fireplaces are 'decorative' and are not supposed to be lit - its now a chilly October evening and raining and we have two fireplaces yet we cannot light them...... Not really up to standard at all and its a huge shame as they have the bones of something very special here but we haven't seen a Manager of any sort since we have been here and the whole place seems like a rudderless ship........

Room Tip: Room 52 is far from reception and beach and we would not recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 925Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for your kind words regarding the architecture and location of our property elounda mare. These are two important factors among many that have made our hotel receive many awards, have so many positive reviews and an impressive number of 35% repeat clients. An other important factor is our restaurants and excellent staff, that we are really sorry that you did not enjoy.
Regarding your comment about your bungalow, please note that what our staff have told you is that you have been upgraded to a superior bungalow that is by all means spacious and with a fantastic view, and that there was no other suitable availability. Even nearing the end of season, the hotel is almost fully booked.
Regarding your main complain about the fireplace in your room: The outside temperature last evening was 21°C with no wind and rain. Our restaurants were very busy with guests having dinner outside. So as you understand, we were not prepared for a request to open the fireplace and we are really sorry about that. Moreover please note that we do not encourage our guests to use the fireplace for security reasons.That is why we never promote the fact that all our bungalows have a fireplace. Of course, since this was something so important for you, we arranged today through Housekeeping to have your fireplace working.
Finally, we thank you once again for taking the time to review our property and we remain at your disposal for any assistance during your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.5 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
0.7 km away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
2.2 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.4 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,368 - ₹ 44,479
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing