We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay in Elounda”
other travellers have booked this property
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Spinalonga, inspiration for Victoria Hislop's best seller 'The Island' The pool with a Blue view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Spinalonga, inspiration for Victoria Hislop's best seller 'The Island'
The pool with a Blue view!
Elounda Solfez Villa
Elounda Village
140 sq.m. Terrace with BBQ
Agios Nikolaos nearby city (10km)
Blue Sky...
Top floor Bedroom
Living room with modern amenities
9 - Hole Par 3 golf course nearby
Top floor Bedroom with private Balcony
Relax in Privacy...
First Floor bedroom
Almyros Beach with a fresh river pouring into the sea (12km)
First floor bedroom with single beds
View from the pool
First Floor bedroom, direct access to the pool
Privacy guaranteed...
Fully equipped Kitchen
Crop from our Bio - Garden
Living room with operating fireplace
The Mystique of Mirabello Bay and the Cretan Sea
Relax all you can...
Elounda's Canal
At least on vacation...
Kalo Horio beach (15km)
Our Herb and flowers garden
Small scale events, like vows renewal...
Electronic Safe
Washing machine and dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mr_A_Shah
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Elounda”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent welcome and great view and own pool is fantastic. Great place for families and groups. Thanks to Hippo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine t
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Crete holiday”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned to New Zealand from a wonderful trip to Crete and the Greek Islands, a highlight of which was our time in Elounda at Solfez Villas.
I "met" Nikolas Lygeros, the e-marketing manager for Solfez Villas by email back in June and by the time we arrived, I felt as though we were friends. He was the most obliging person to communicate with and there was nothing he would not arrange for us from a traditional Greek dinner party, to golf and spa treatments at the neighbouring five-star resort, to introductions to the best restaurants, beaches and tourist attractions.
When we finally arrived we were delighted with what we found. Solfez Villas are absolutely stunning. Perched on the hill above dazzling Mirabello Bay on the north east coast of Crete, the villas are three-storeyed with balconies on each floor so every room has a spectacular view.
The real value is that what you see on the Solfez Villas website is what you get, which is always our first concern when it comes to vacation rentals. We loved our private, gorgeous infinity pool and huge patio with an outdoor dining area overlooking Mirabello Bay, and their bio garden (next to the villas) where they grow Greek vegetables, which were delivered daily to us, free of charge.
We arrived late in the evening after driving from the airport in the Cretan capital, Heraklion, to find Nikolas had stocked the fridge with fresh fruit, Cretan wine, cheese, bread, terrine, honey, nuts and other delicacies. It meant we didn’t need to try and find a place to eat at that late hour. Very thoughtful.
The three-bedroom, two bathroom villa was immaculate and spacious, and had everything we needed including air-conditioning, a full kitchen and laundry, built-in BBQ, wifi, TVs/DVD/sound system.
Cretan hospitality is legendary. The dinner Nikolas organised for us at the villa next door featured every Greek delicacy imaginable.
On his recommendation, the next evening we dined at a modest-looking taverna in Elounda, just a short drive away. From the outside, Taverna Akrohoria presents as a humble, family-run restaurant with a few rooms to rent upstairs, but the food was fabulous and the view over the Cretan Sea and Mirabello Bay from the dining area was divine.
Next day, Nikolas introduced my husband to the golf pro at the five-star Porto Elounda Golf and Spa Resort one of the top courses in Crete while my daughter and I met Elli, manager at Six Senses Spa, ranked one of the world's leading spas by Conde Naste. It was exquisite - soothing fountains, soft lighting, luminous pools, and the best massage I have ever had.
Elounda itself is an interesting place. Its development began in the 1970s when the first 5-star hotels were established. Built on the hillside around a picturesque fishing village and beaches with emerald waters, Elounda is now frequented by celebrities, royalty and film makers. Restaurants and high-end jewellery and fashion shops abound but the village has maintained its slow-paced, rustic charm.
Historic Spinalonga Island is just a short ferry ride from Elounda. The TV series The Island was filmed on there.
The difference between a place like Solfez and a faceless resort or hotel is the personal touch and the warm engagement with guests who actually become friends. And it does not cost a fortune especially if you share the price with some friends or couples.
We were there at the end of August and enjoyed day after day of cloudless skies. Elounda has everything - history, scenery, food, wine, beaches, and some of the friendliest people we have ever met.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apart from the fantastic views, the personal engagement with Nikolas and his team
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0924Nessa
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream villa stay in an idyllic part of the world”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 10 day vacation at Elounda Solfez Villas and all I can say is AMAZING! Everything about this place is top class - the view, the property, the pool, the BBQ area, the facilities and the location. We travelled with our 18 month old daughter and our whole experience from start to finish was pure joy. For me, Elounda Solfez villas offer THE best views of the Elounda Bay and beyond and you can see them from your bedroom window. The road up is worth it for the view alone! Elounda is a fantastic base for a stay in Crete as there are a number of short day trips within easy reach and it is a culinary dream! The management team Nikos and Hippo could not do enough for us! We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F
Lisboa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get - Excellent”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week between 25 July and 3 August. 4 adults 3 children. We had great excpectations about the house and the place. The house is exactly as you see in the pictures. We were a litle bit concerned about we read regarding the path to the houses. No problem at all. There is a road all the way trough, large enough and there is no risc at all. Any car even with full load will climb all the way. A piece of cake !

The house as said is exactly as shown. We found great food in the frige specially the feta cheese. We will need to by some extras (milk, butter, bread, drinks..) but in general the food is enough for 6 during a week. The have a fabulous chicken. The vegs are also very good.

The pool is ok with 2.0 meters in the deepest part and is cleaned every day. The water is clean and there is no sign of over use of cleaning produtcs. The children used quite a lot without any problem.

The AC worked just fine all over the house. They have a TV / DVD system with a very good sound. They had a excellent collection of CD's with Greek an international music. We enjoyed the Greek music that help to create an ambient.

The wifi is fast and worked everyday.

The house have also a great BBQ we used.

We were received by Ippo at 2PM who was waiting for us ! Explained everything and is most helpfull ! Gave us an excellent guide of things to do arround the house.

Great place to be ! Enjoy the house !

Avoid the restaurants in Elounda. Go to Agios Nikolaus. You will find better, more typical and cheaper places. All the city is full of nice shops to by food like fish or meat or fruit. Very nice restaurants surrounding the lake. Ask Ippo for advice about rests in Agios Nikolaus.

Loved Crissy Island in July not so good in August. Take about 1 hour for ever 50km drive if you leave the Ieraklion <-> Agios Nikolaus main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The beaches arround Elounda
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klebe2
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an eight-day stay. The owner was incredibly accommodating and made sure we lacked for nothing during our stay. The villa is BEAUTIFUL. When we signed the agreement, they told us what you see is what you get. I was skeptically, but it was true! The property seats on a hilltop and has an amazing view of the water and landscape. I stayed with my husband, our two boys and a friend. Everyone loved it! The boys enjoyed the pool and the gorgeous sites & beaches of Crete. We had a four-year old; management installed a safety net around the pool. Which insured no pool access to the four-year old, without an adult.
The Wi-Fi had no connection problems. Housekeeping kept the villa clean during our stay. The fridge was well stocked with local produce, yogurt, cheese, and other eatables. The owner also recommended a number of restaurants. We tried them and they were all great! A welcome book listed the area's attractions so we had someplace new to visit each day. We really had an amazing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and view!
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing