We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent four nights in one of Esplanade's apartments and it was great. The rooms were large and clean, and included a kitchenette, pool, a/c, and free wifi. The apartments are about 15 minutes outside of Chania, but are within walking distance of a beach and two grocery stores. There are no sidewalks in the area though, so renting a car is probably a good idea. The apartments are an incredibly good deal, we only paid 60 euro per night. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and had lots of suggestions for day trips and sightseeing around Crete. We had a wonderful time at Espanade, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel last year after finding it accidentally. But what an amazing find! Yianni the hotel owner was overjoyed when I emailed him to tell him that we were coming back.

Lovely clean apartment, very big room, nice clean bathroom with a bath and shower. From the swimming pool there is an amazing view of the sea and mountains. So close to two of my favourite beaches in Crete.

Yianni was helpful and chatty and would do anything to help. A nice personal touch that you do not get in many hotels.

I was very sad to leave but I hope to go again next year!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
14  Thank smusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

It is the second year in a row I stay in this hotel which I found accidentally last year. It is great value for money. Cheaper than any other hotel in the area, it provides all basic comforts (a/c in all rooms, kitchenette, pool), it is very clean and quiet and Iannis is very very helpful. I will probably choose it every year. It is very close to the beach of Kalathas. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank c0rrupted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have been in Crete 5 times and it goes without saying that we choose Esplanade every year. The hotel is situated 10 min by car from the centre of Chania and 9 km from the airport which is the ideal location to be used like a base to explore the beautiful west side of the island.

Renting a car is a must since the rooms at Esplanade are all self catering apartments, there is no restaurant, pub or shop on the premises. Esplanade is not really in the centre of any action but the surroundings are nice and calm and you get a feeling that you pay a visit to Yiannis (the hotel owner) at his private place far away from the impersonal tourist industry.

The nearby sandy beach of Kalathas (a few minutes from the hotel) offers you a good standard with stools, umbrellas, toilets, change cabin, showers and lifeguard and it is situated in a little bay with shallow crystal-clear water perfect for young children.
The rooms are spacious and simply but tastefully and robustly furnished with telephone, wireless network connection and TV set. The blinds and curtains are very good and keep the room dark enough for sleeping late! The remote controlled air conditioning is excellent, rooms are cleaned every day and sheets and towels are changed every third day. Beds and bedding feel nice and fresh, kitchen facilities are very good with pots, pans, plates, glasses, cups, cutlery, coffee machine, bowls and toaster. The stove is a two ring cooker without oven, but serves well for simple cooking. All rooms have spacious balconies with tables and chairs and the view facing the pool is breathtaking with the sea and the sunset in the background.

The hotel has a small but wonderful pool with lighting appliance, loungers and tables and a beautiful surrounding garden with a wide array of different flowering bushes and trees.

Only a few minutes from Esplanade there is two supermarkets where you can buy everything you need and freshly baked bread in the mornings. You can phone from the room for pizzas or gyros (phone number is in Yiannis' excellent information binder)
If you get really hungry and don't feel like cooking, we can recommend the Bouraki Taverna five minutes from Esplanade on the way to Chania with excellent Cretan specialities exclusively using Cretan virgin olive oil in all their meals including stews or fried dishes.

But remember one thing: your absolutely best experience will be Yiannis himself. People on Crete are generally very friendly and helpful, but Yiannis’ friendliness and warmth really helps you to feel comfortable in every way... really something to remember!

Stayed a couple of weeks June-July 2011 with my family

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LuckyLuciano53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Situated 15 min from the center of Chania it was the ideal location for us. The nearby beaches of Kalathas and Tersanas were perfect for our young children.
The hotel has a small but wonderful pool that kept our children busy for hours in the afternoon while my wife and I enjoyed out coffee.
The small kitchen in the apartment was enough for basic cooking and saved us a lot of money by not having to run three times a day to feed the little ones.
Renting a car is a must to get around and we used the hotel as a base to explore that side of the island. It was really nice coming back tired to jump in the pool after being in the car under the hot sun.
The owner Yanni is always there to answer and provide you with any help.
We've been in Crete many times, next time we'll stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 km away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#79 of 111 in Chania Town
31 reviews
10.3 km away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
91 reviews
10.1 km away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#40 of 111 in Chania Town
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
11.5 km away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
0.3 km away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: ₹ 2,519 - ₹ 4,428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Esplanade Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing