We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic building, great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stayed April 2017 in this restored Venetian Palazzo just behind the historic harbour - comfortable, well serviced, with helpful staff, home prepared buffet breakfast and fantastic views over the lighthouse and Turkish mosque. Convenient to all pedestrianized centre of fantastic old town: all facilities very near, spoilt for choice. No lift so be prepared for stairs, Parking hire car necessarily outside pedestrianized zone- so not so good for the less mobile. But we managed at the free car park western end of harbour, a pleasant stroll.

Room Tip: You pay more for rooms with sea view. Stairs impediment to less mobile.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank July284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Owner at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Mrs Green,

Thank you so much for your review and we are very happy that you had a good time with us. We wish to see you again sometime

Best Regards
Porto Del Colombo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Porto del Colombo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

We enjoyed a week at this lovely small Hotel, a delightful, historic building, our bedroom was furnished to a high standard and had six bright lovely windows. All staff were very pleasant but Voula was such an exceptional host, fresh eggs cooked at breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice. The Hotel arranged our taxi transfer with George, he was so polite, he even carried our suitcases up a few floors, as this Hotel has no lift.
Location is perfect, We highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 4 is light with lots of windows and quality furniture
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 164jenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Manager at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for finding time to write about your experience during your stay to our hotel.
We are very happy that we managed to make your stay so pleasant.
Hope to visit us again in the future.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Lovely old boutique hotel in the old town part of Chania. Sister hotel to the Belmondo which we have stayed in before. Our room was not as big as in the Belmondo, but it was more than adequate for just a two night stay. Breakfast was OK, but choice for us Brits was a bit limited. Sadly, no boiled eggs, only a nearly cold omelette dish. There are three flights of stairs, and no lift, so if you are on the top floor, as we were, and if you are as old and unfit as we are, you will need oxygen half way up! This would have been a five star review, but for the inadequacy of the heating. It was January, and it was freezing. Only an A/C unit to heat the room, and despite being on full temperature all night it never really got toasty warm. The breakfast room was freezing! Only other negative was that our towels did not get changed, which would not have been a problem in Spring/Summer, but in January they were still damp the following morning. Still, a pleasant stay and a nice little hotel, with more than helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank srwally2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Owner at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding time to write a review for our hotel. We always do our best to make you feel comfortable here, so if you have told us about your concerns and requests we would definately do our best to fulfill them.
At breakfast, we can prepare boiled or fried eggs if you wish to, you just have to ask for (if they are not already available).
Also the same for the towels, you can let us know so can change them every day.
However, we appreciate your feedback and we will try harder in the future so we can meet your expectations.

Best Regards
Porto Del Colombo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The staff are very welcoming and the lady that does the breakfast never stops, cleaning all the rooms too.
We asked for a room with a bath as I am a little closterphobic and cannot do showers...
The bath was a sit up and beg bath but that was fine, the problem was NO BATH PLUG which we advised them of on the first night, hopeing they would source one the next day, no such luck we had to use servettes all week.
We found the rooms dark but ours did have aircon which was a life saver as it never stopped raining. There are no English channels on the TV, but the WIFI service was good.
If you have any problems with stairs, this is not a place for you, the breakfast room is also down narrow stairs... we hired a car and it is to be pointed out that you cannot park near the hotel, at best it's a 5-10 minuet walk to the hotel and all up hill.
The breakfast was ok... The lady went out of her way I think to get us bacon to go with our eggs which was gratefully received .

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write your comments regarding your staying at Porto del Colombo.

We feel sorry for your inconveniences during your stay but we can ensure you that we are in continuous efforts to improve the general experience for all our clients.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

A very beautiful hotel with nice style as its history. Spectacular view if you ask for the top rooms! The hotel is some steps away from the port! Breakfast was fresh and delicious and the staff was very pleasant and helpfull. We will defenitely come back soon! Thank you for everything. You really make us feel like home!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AntoPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to rate us and leave your kind comments, while sharing your experience regarding your stay at Porto del Colombo.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#49 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.3 km away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#42 of 111 in Chania Town
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#59 of 111 in Chania Town
118 reviews
0.1 km away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#85 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Colombo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Colombo Hotel

Address: Theofanous & Moshon Streets, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: ₹ 2,993 - ₹ 39,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto del Colombo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel, an imposing, tall, 600 year old building, has gathered a rich history over the passing of the centuries. During the days of Turkish Rule, the building housed members of high ranking Turkish military who made many changes to the buildings architecture - even built a Hamam.In the garden and next to that, a room to secure their slaves (where you can still see the metallic rings nailed to the walls). In the beginning of the 19th Century, the building was used as a French embassy and later was inhabited by the great Greek political figure, Eleftherios Venizelos, who also used it as his political offices until his move to Athens, when he took power as Prime Minister of Greece. The Hotel has 10 beautiful rooms - the 2 of which are maisonettes - fully restored and traditionally decorated to provide our guests with an especially warm and welcome feeling. All rooms have modern conveniences (WC, telephone, TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and Central Heating in winter) ensuring our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto del Colombo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Colombo Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing