We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at several hotels during our two weeks in Greece and this was our favorite because the staff was amazingly kind and helpful. Despite arriving late, we were met with a warm welcome and greeted as the "honeymooners", which was very sweet and unexpected. The women at the front desk helped us find an inexpensive rental car, lent us a GPS and a good map, and helped us find things to do in and around Chania. Our room had a TV with one channel playing bad American TV after a certain hour, a small fridge, a four poster bed with canopy, and remodeled bathroom. Shower was a bit small, but only a problem if you're a very big person. Very old building with interesting history and lots of character. The facilities and amenities were perfectly modern. Breakfast was very good and the ladies actually cared about what we might like. The cleaning lady even let us look at another room because we were curious to see what the rest of the building looked like--so cool. On our last day, we didn't get a message from our travel agency about our transfer to the airport. The woman at the front desk spent 20-30 minutes tracking down a contact to find out what we needed to do. That was exceptional service. We loved our stay at Porto del Columbo. It was the perfect ending to our honeymoon in Greece.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank treepetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Warm welcome for our group. Free wi-fi in rooms, good shower, hairblower installed right where you need it, TV (but no English channels), mini-fridge.
The bathroom window of a top-floor room has a view of a slice of the harbour.
Friendly staff. Perfect location, just up from the waterfront.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When you first arrive at the hotel your are greeted by the most friendly and welcoming staff, you can instantly feel that this is a family-run hotel. The staff were eager to make recommendations of what to see and what to do in the city.
The location of the hotel is amazing right behind the old port and in the heart of the old city.
The only reason we rated the hotel with 4/5 is because we believe the cleaning service could have been better. We stayed for 5 days and we would prefer it if the sheets were changed on the second or third night and also the shampoo and bath shower were replaced daily.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have a problem climbing stairs better to request a room on the first or secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agathoklis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am enjoying the Porto Del Colombo in Chania even as I write these words. Before coming to Chania I had fears connected with my veeeeery late arrival (02:00 in the morning), knowing that the reception was open until 22:30 in the evening. But everything with finding the keys was well organized. The hotel is really old - not only full of history, located in the old town of Chania, perfect location, very close to the "limani". It has the flair of getting old as a Cathedral - clean, a little bit dark, smelling at old laces and herbs, but cosy.
The rooms have the most needed. The fridge was a little bit noisy.
Rula from the reception was (and still is) very helpful in finding place for parking the car, finding the good beaches nearby, finding a tasty food in restaurants, offering "karameles":). In the restaurant - tasty food, the most amazing fresh orange juice, home made delicacies. Great time in Chania!

Room Tip: I was in room Number 7 - my colleague was complaining by the noise, but with me everything was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great experience staying at Porto del Colombo in Chania. The house is very old, built at the time of the Venetian occupation and has undergone many transformations following the adventurous history of the city. It is of course renovated and converted into a rather comfortable hotel.
We were greeted at the Reception by Athina, who is very friendly, hospitable, and helpful. She gave us very helpful hints about restaurants in town, beaches, and how to get around. The breakfast was ample, tasty, and the lady in charge is friendly and fun. Furthermore, the hotel is quite close to the city gate, which is very important since you cannot drive a car inside the old town.
This is a great place to stay for anyone visiting old town Chania!

Room Tip: There are three stories and no elevator, so choose a first floor room if you are lazy, and a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
112 reviews
0.1 km away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#82 of 111 in Chania Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 111 in Chania Town
173 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
389 reviews
0.3 km away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Colombo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Colombo Hotel

Address: Theofanous & Moshon Streets, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: ₹ 3,280 - ₹ 8,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto del Colombo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel, an imposing, tall, 600 year old building, has gathered a rich history over the passing of the centuries. During the days of Turkish Rule, the building housed members of high ranking Turkish military who made many changes to the buildings architecture - even built a Hamam.In the garden and next to that, a room to secure their slaves (where you can still see the metallic rings nailed to the walls). In the beginning of the 19th Century, the building was used as a French embassy and later was inhabited by the great Greek political figure, Eleftherios Venizelos, who also used it as his political offices until his move to Athens, when he took power as Prime Minister of Greece. The Hotel has 10 beautiful rooms - the 2 of which are maisonettes - fully restored and traditionally decorated to provide our guests with an especially warm and welcome feeling. All rooms have modern conveniences (WC, telephone, TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and Central Heating in winter) ensuring our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto del Colombo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Colombo Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing