We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only thing 5* are the prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only thing 5* are the prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

My partner and I returned on 23rd September after a disappointing two week stay at the St. Nicholas Bay hotel. The hotel itself is nice enough but certainly not the 5* it purports to be. Most of the staff are ok but one of the breakfast restaurant managers (of which there are several) was downright rude when my partner asked for the breakfast menu and simply pointed to the buffet and motioned that we should help ourselves. Service is also rushed. The food and drinks in each of the restaurants was extortionately expensive (for example, 24 euros for a club sandwich). There were no tea and coffeemaking facilities in the rooms and a very limited amount of English speaking tv channels (BBC World News being one which was frozen all the time we were there. We also had to ask for our room to be cleaned on one occasion despite our having been out all day. The location is not at all covenient - a very hot boring walk into Agios Nikolaos with nothing much to look at or a 6 euro each way taxi ride (notwithstanding there was a two day taxi drivers strike while we were there) and there are no conveniently situated supermarkets.. On the plus side, the pool was beautiful and the views from the rear of the hotel lovely. We have stayed at 5* hotels on other Greek Islands and found them to be superb but if we travel to Crete again, I'd choose Elounda over Ag Nik, and certainly would not return to the St Nicholas Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    188
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
242
559
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ubud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

In June, my daughter and I had the good fortune to stay in St Nicolas Bay Resort, for almost a week.
I just want to thank all the staff for a magical experience. Firstly, we found the lack of signs and commercialism around the grounds of the hotel charming. The architecture and art collection stunning. It truly was like staying with family in a gorgeous location. We were surprised that so many of the guests were regular visitors, some having come 25 times, but they also were very friendly and helpful to us new-comers.

Two highlights.. The beach was breathtaking- pristine, picturesque, and very well equipped with relaxing lounges and great service.
And the other would have to be the FOOD & WINE! Being welcomed with a platter of Baclava on arrival really set the mood for the dining experience. I commend the decision to feature only Greek food and especially Cretan specialities. What a treat, and paired with local wines, we couldn’t be happier.

My final memory.. the BEST hotel soap ever.. made with local Olive Oil, I think…. It really shows the attention to the smallest details. All staff showed true professionalism- the best I have experienced anywhere. I hope I will be able to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The essential positives: an exceptional location, an elegant and well designed hotel, very well maintained, relaxed ambience and "good guests", very good but informal service, all grades of room offering something special. The rooms are stylish and uncluttered.

A special thanks to the front of house and Nicos who is very committed to making things work for his guests. This is one of those hotels where you should ask for advice and help if you need it.

We loved breakfast and lunch in the Blue Bay. The "Kafenion" greek restaurant often has very good fish, and the Minotaur restaurant is definitely worth trying. The evening buffet is perhaps a bit too samey for the price. Prices are high, but comparable to the more upmarket places in Agios - its expensive in greece now! There are good and cheaper places to find of course (there is a Greek/ pizza combo at the top of the main tourist street in Agios which was the best we found, but there are other good choices in the TA entries below). You can also use the room service menu in the evenings - they put on a good show, and it is (relatively) good value.

If you like the sea, there is some good snorkelling going up the coast - a lot better than many med locations, and there are 2 dive schools which you can access through the hotel if you want.

Many of the staff have worked there for many years, and they really do work well as a team.

Try a cocktail by the sea or on the rooftop terrace, both lovely spots.

simon w

Room Tip: For the simple double rooms, talk about what you want when booking - some have a more open aspect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We booked this hotel as it was secluded, but within walking distance of the town - it was small (100 odd rooms) and had a very clean, uncluttered look to it. Well, we booked with Thomas Cook and the cost included individual transfer - definitely recommend this if you can afford it. Everything about this hotel was superb - the staff, the location, the rooms.

What we really loved about this place was there actually wasnt much to do - other than chill out, have a drink, swim, maybe hire a canoe, have some lunch....

We loved it, especially the upgrade we were given to help celebrate our anniversary. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou - we felt very special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our travel agent recommended this hotel and of course, after checking on TA, we booked to go.
We travelled with First Choice Premier and the flight out was OK. Heraklion airport is organised choas, but we eventually set off for the hotel.
Check in was friendly and speedy. The duty Manager took our luggage and us to our junior suite room No 415. He said it was his favourite room, for the views and the position in the hotel grounds - we have to agree!
The room was kept spotlessly clean and was comfortable. It does need a media update - who these days has a collection of cassette tapes & takes them away? An Ipod dock would be more useful.
The breakfast was fresh and delicious and varied every day. We had lunch at the Bay bar/restaurant once, very nice but expensive.
We trotted down to the local supermarket and purchased water, ham, fruit, cheese etc and ate on our terrace otherwise.
We ate out each night, with varied success. In Ag Nik we'd recommend Monte Mare, definately NOT Knossos unless chips with everything is your thing.
In Elounda - we enjoyed The Ferryman. Olondi would have been as good if they had got the lamb right, but the owner did everything he could to make up for it. He was very upset that the lamb was not his usual excellent quality.
The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful, we couldn't fault any of them.
The cocktail reception was an interesting affair, where you could mingle or watch the other guests, always enjoyable!
We very rarely return to an hotel, but this could prove to be one of those that choose to return to. Other guests are mostly repeat vistors. some even over the last 30 years.
Well done to the St Nicolas Bay Hotel - just the restful break we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
107.8 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.8 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.7 km away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
9.9 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,098 - ₹ 56,794
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing