We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,287 results
Traveller rating
715
448
93
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
448
93
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria square great hotel larissa station whirlpool bath two metro stations green line didn't feel unsafe free wifi late at night after dark central athens hotel is located spacious room small balcony min walk yogurt greek islands
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,287 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after visiting the Greek islands and before heading back to Australia.
The hotel is new, perfectly clean, and our room was more than large enough for our family of 4.
What was best about this hotel was the staff. I cannot express strongly enough how friendly, welcoming and helpful they were! The desk staff were more than happy to look at the provided map with us, show us the best places to visit and how to get there, recommend places, order taxis etc.
On our 2nd night, we were tired after being out in the sun all day, so decided to stay in our spacious room for the evening. My husband went out for take-away dinner from the Kabul restaurant up the street (AMAZING food!), and when he returned, the staff happily brought plates and cutlery for us to eat in our room, and took it all away afterwards.
We then had breakfast the following morning in the hotel restaurant- a delicious spread and well priced.
The hotel is a short walk or taxi trip to the Acropolis (4-5 €).
I can't recommend this hotel and it's delightful staff highly enough!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We spent a pleasing week at this hotel, the building is nice and new, staff is polite and friendly, very professional. They gave us a big double room with balcony, a super spatious bathroom with bathtube, AC and all comforts. Accurate daily cleanings. Comfortable bed and simple but nice room decor (the little lights on the roof were so nice and romantic). The reception is open also at night and the nearby area is not noisy at all so we slept very well. The area around is not the coolest or more elegant and is quite crowded at night, but we felt safe all the time and honestly we liked the location: a bit outside the turistic area, but 1-2 minutes walking from the Victoria metro station (2 stops and you are in the heart of Athens); taxis are also availble if you prefer. We choose the option without breakfast so we cannot give our opinion on that. The price was more than onest for the service we received. We surely recommend to stay here while in Athens!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benedetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Have you ever wondered what a refugee camp is looking like?

Don't go no further if you plan to visit Athens! You will experience a genuine immersion in not one but several refugee camps surrounding Centrotel hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Yes, location is not the greatest and initially can intimidate a guest. Its a run down neighborhood inhabited with low income peaceful immigrants. But its quite safe even at night and a short walk from from Victoria Metro station. Once you get familiar with your surrounding, you will quite comfortable. Here you will find more non-greek restaurants to choose from with competitive prices. Probably the best value in Athens. Staff is very helpful and rooms are well appointed but nothing fancy. I enjoyed the balcony. No complaints

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mirza100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

My wife and I had a great stay at Centrotel. It's modern, clean and well maintained. We had a double bed and balcony room on the 4th floor. Decent size and plenty of storage, lovely bathroom too with whirlpool bath tub - which you could only use between certain hours which was strange but up till 10pm. The shower was a hose one connected to the bath taps which was okay but the hook for it was too low down unless you're short, and with full pressure from the tap it would spray in a different direction to how you wanted it, but this was a minor gripe. It had two sliding doors out to the balcony to block out noise and light which it did very well, actually the room was pitch black with both closed even at the brightest part of the day! The bed was oddly low to the ground and mattress quite firm.

Free Wifi with good connection.

Aircon.

Underground Car park but I wouldn't advise driving in central Athens and the roads around the hotel are narrow and many parked cars both sides.

Despite the relatively run down area the location is good, metro stops 5-10min walk left (Larissa Station) or right (Victoria) out of the front door, a 5 day long metro ticket can be bought for 5 Euro per person and will get you to most places quickly - 10-15mins to the Acropoli / Syntagma central stops (trains run every 5mins too!) and conveniently. The same ticket can be used on all other public transport too, trams and buses, we used the tram to ride along the coast to visit the beaches and Glyfada. We actually never needed to use a taxi. We walked back at all sorts of times, including close to midnight and didn't feel unsafe, although there are a few people lingering around at all hours and some paths dimly lit which might bother some people.

Our bus excursions didn't pickup from this hotel - probably due to the narrow street, however they did pickup outside Hotel Oscar a 5min walk away on a much wider road.

Staff were polite, friendly and accommodating - when we asked for extra pillow withing minutes someone knocked on the door with them.

We didn't eat the €7.5 pp breakfast and opted for eating local Koulouri (Greek Sesame Bread rings) or croissants that were very cheap at around €1-€2 each.

Would happily recommend and stay there again.

Room tip: If you're a couple ask for a double bed and room with balcony.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews