We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, tiny room”
Review of Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Hotel
Ranked #63 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location and service, tiny room”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in October. The staff were all lovely and helpful and breakfast was limited but fine. The room was below standard. We had to rearrange the furniture to fit our suitcases and the powerpoints seemed to be hanging out of the wall and our converters kept falling out too. The location was great but I doubt I would stay here again. There is a cute little restaurant across the road which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    259
    103
    18
    10
See reviews for
128
180
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

perfect location for a tourist in athens. can not be better! Good value for price. Rooms are not too nice, but all you need is a bed when you are a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The pan hotel is near to the main square in athens and offers a perfect location for all of the sights and nightlife. The hotel is small but clean , the lift is small and you can only get one person in it at anyone time with a suitcase. Upon entering the room it was clean and fresh the bed was comfatable and had a mini bar which wasnt really to much of a rip off. all the rooms have a tv as well. a good touch was the airconditioning it was free which going in august was so essential. We asked for a safe which you can hire for 5 euros deposit which is given back to you. They are safety deposit boxes in front of the hotel reception. You are given one key and the hotel have another key so when you want to open it you have to ask reception. the only fault i could find with the rooms was my shower head was loose and would not stay above my head so i had to have it midway down my body which was a pain also some of the rooms have balconys and others dont just a window.
The hotel reception staff cannot do enough for you and help you to get anywhere you want but just be prepared to have to double check things. The breakfast is typical continental , crossiants , cereal and tinned fruit with cold meat and cheese aswell. Not really my thing so ended up going elsewhere for breakfast.
Heres a little about athens in general, Athens doesnt many bars there are a couple of irish bars and we only found 1 nightclub. The food in the restaurants is very good but be very carefull check prices, also the restuarant owners have a bad habit of bringing you out bread and watemelon for desert even though you havn't ordered them and charging you for the privilage. if you see them bringing any thing out to youwhich you havn't ordered send it straight back otherwise you will be charged. one night we order a fish platter fo 2 which we stupidly didn't check the price of as the owner just sold it to us and starters we got caught out with the bread and melon and the bill came to 125euros without the tip whe we came to pay the bill the owner stood over us and virtually demanded a good tip aswell.
Athens beaches are well worth a visit and you can catch a tram which costs 50cent its about 45 mins away but well worth it . you can go to free beaches but you will get hasssled by beach sellers my advise is to go the the ones where you pay a 5 euro entrance fee and you dont get any hassle
seeing the sites in athens is essential and the is a hop on hop off bus which goes round all the site and goes from sitagma square its only 15 euros for 2 days and is an ideal way of visiting them.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and ejoyed combining both a city break and a beach holiday . The staff are really nice and the room are clean and well kept

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westhammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We booked two different hotels for our two stays in Athens, before / after going to the islands. The Pan Hotel was ok, but for the same cost I'd definately recommend you go and stay at the Airotel Parthenon instead because it was way better.

Rooms - size was really small and we could only get two single beds. The door to the room couldn't open all the way because it hit the end of one of the beds. The bathroom door was an old sliding door that was noisy and didn't offer a lot of privacy. The bathroom was a good size, although not really any vanity space to put your toilet bag. OK cleanliness, but the general impression of the bathroom / room/ hotel is that it is tired and needs to be done up. Our room looked out on to another building and the room was noisy because of the air conditioning units from other rooms outside the window.

Staff - nice enough. When we checked in we weren't told that the window had to be shut to make the air con work. We didn't realise that housekeeping kept opening the window slightly, so although it looked shut, the aircon wouldn't work. Was a horrible first night until we worked out what was happening. We also had them come and fix the light which wouldn't work and even after it was 'fixed' it worked only occasionally.

Breakfast is pretty ordinary. Very little on offer. It's ok if you just want bread, corn flakes, coffee or juice.

Location was good. Right in the heart of the shopping section and beside Syn Square. We walked everyone, including to the sites, which was all easy to find and not too far away but..... quite noisy. Location of the Airotel Parthenon much better and much quieter area.

All in all - it is an OK hotel but for the same price you can get something much better at the Airotel Parthenon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robward61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley CA
Level Contributor
300 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We spent the first three days of our trip to Greece at the Arethusa and then a couple of nights after our cruise and tour at the Pan Hotel. The Arethusa was 10euros more per night. Here is a review of the Pan (you can see my review of the Arethusa) and a brief comparison of the two.

The room at the Pan hotel was large enough for two twin beds, an easy chair, desk and chair and a couple of night stands. There was a small balcony with table and chairs, but to be honest, it unnerved me to be seven stories up, so I didn’t spend a lot of time out there. The furniture was basic, but didn’t look dated. A small closet was extended out on to the balcony.

The bathroom was adequate, with a bathtub and handheld shower head, with a holder. There was a limited number of limited electrical outlets, so we had to unplug the TV or minirefrigerator as needed. The lighting was adequate for reading at night.

The carpeting has been well worn and should be replaced. A decent attempt at upgrading has been made, but it is an older hotel and it is obvious. (On our second one-night stay, we were on the 2nd floor, where the rooms had been upgraded – wood-look flooring, new tile in the bathroom, walls painted.)

Breakfast is served in the lobby with a very limited selection of juices, coffee/tea, cold meats/cheeses, canned fruit salad, breads and yogurt.
Internet access is available for a charge, but there is a free wifi network in Syntagma Square. As well, there are many coffeehouses with wifi access, including the café at the Public store next to the Everest and McDonalds.

The Pan is just a few steps away from the Arethusa. The room was larger at the Arethusa, and the breakfast had hot foods. As well, wifi was free. Was it worth the extra 10 euros ? Perhaps not, but we didn’t have a choice at the time. Since we were at the Arethusa for several days, the free wifi was convenient and the better breakfast kept us fueled for the long days of walking all over Athens.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#87 of 326 in Athens
814 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 326 in Athens
938 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#74 of 326 in Athens
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#60 of 326 in Athens
612 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,681 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#111 of 326 in Athens
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Hotel

Property: Pan Hotel
Address: 11 Mitropoleos | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,699 - ₹ 7,374
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pan Hotel! So, what is the element that has made this 3 star city hotel of Athens operating for more than 50 years? The fact that is operated from the 3rd generation, something that effortlessly proves that tourism and hospitality run within the family, together with our friendly staff, are two of the most important aspects of our hotel that have made guests prefer us over and over again when visiting Athens. Our unique location (Syntagma Square), only adds to help you make the choice whether you are a family, a couple or a solo traveler, whether travelling for business or pleasure. The Parliament, National Garden, Panathinaic Stadium, Zappion, Plaka (old city of Athens), Monastiraki, Greek taverns, restaurants of national cuisines, Lycabetus Hill, churches of different religions, The Acropolis and Parthenon, numerous museums such as The Acropolis Museum, Archaeological Museum, The Benaki Museum, etc., central shopping areas, department stores, banks and embassies, etc. are all within walking distances from our hotel. Enjoy a walk or a swim at the beach by taking the Tram where its terminal is only 100m. from our hotel. Easily reached from the airport (El. Venizelos) or Piraeus port, as the Metro and the Airport Express Bus stop within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing