We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel that I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solomou Athens
Ranked #179 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We booked this hotel for one night based on it's close proximity to an office we needed to visit the following day. The area it's in is very rough - we went out for dinner and had to weave our way through drug addicts and prostitutes. However, more research may have warned us of this.
The bigger issue for me though was the hotel itself. Our room looked nothing like the photos on the website - it was dirty and tired. It looked like it had not been redecorated since the building went up. It certainly was not refurbished (at least our room wasn't) as some reviews suggest. I was very glad to check out the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

Last weekend we spent with 7 people 1 night in hotel solomou in Athens. It was a very nice hotel for not much money!!
The owner was very friendly and so was its entire staff!
even breakfast was ok and included in the price. On Sunday morning we were sitting on the roof terrace with a view on Lycabettes Hill that we had visited the day before.
It was a very enjoyable stay and we can highly recommend this hotel which is nearby a metro and also on walking distance to plaka and other interesting sites. Neighbourhood is not so nice!!! But we took that for granted for the one night we stayed in this friendly clean and really cheap hotel!!

1  Thank happyhollllliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

SO-So. Bathroom pretty trashy. Close to station though.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank tashie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

The hotel solomou is a refurbished hotel 5 blocks from Omonia Square via September 3rd Street.

It is a family run hotel with decent breakfast, bar and all rooms have air conditioning.

The bathrooms are spotless, as is the bedding - an excellent feature.

Curiously the cleaners collect the tv remote controls in each day which becoms very irritating if you actually manage to get any of the cable channels on the wall mounted portable tv's.

This is a hotel for the bargain traveller. If it was in a better location you would pay a lot more than the 50 EUR per night I did.

What sadly lets this hotel down extremely badly is it's location. 5 blocks above Omonia Square, Solomou Street is littered with rubbish, abandoned cars and distasteful smells. It is basically a slum street which is a real shame as the family who run the hotel have clearly tried so hard to make the place attractive.

The nearest pick up point for day trips around Athens is the Novotel and taxi drivers have never heard of the hotel so it's important to always quote Omonia Square and then point down September 3rd street!

Around the corner are a couple of half decent bars with food so you can at least come and go as you please.

If you can get over the scruffy unpleasant street, you have a very nice little hotel and I didn't find any of the surrounding streets as bad or uninviting so do balance a decision before discarding this as an option for the budget traveller.

19  Thank spectrafashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Romina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Aristoteles
#206 of 282 in Athens
620 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#121 of 282 in Athens
155 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#83 of 282 in Athens
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Alter Athens Hotel
Alter Athens Hotel
#126 of 282 in Athens
16 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#147 of 282 in Athens
321 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#115 of 282 in Athens
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solomou Athens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solomou Athens

Address: 72 Solomou, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 2,770 - ₹ 3,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solomou Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solomou Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomou Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing