We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, very friendly hotel close to Kifissou Bus Station and Metro!!!”
Review of Hotel Diethnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diethnes
Ranked #218 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A lovely neo classical style hotel with very friendly staff, clean rooms (TV fridge complimentary toiletries) and lift access to all floors. Nothing was too much trouble and the friendly English speaking night manager ordered me in a tasty Italian meal even though it was after midnight. For the price paid, this hotel was terrific and I can recommend it for stays in Athens rather than stay in Psirri, the Plaka area or other city locations. It is literally next to Larissis Metro and only 10 mins by taxi to Kifissou Bus Station for travel all over Greece with KTEL coaches. The hotel is handy if arriving on an evening flight into the airport and needing to get an early bus out of the city to the Peloponnese or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

I went 2 times to this hotel mainly because of the position near the Metro station, cheap price and view of the roof-top where your can serve breakfast.
It's good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Really close to metro station, although the area itself is pretty run-down. It doesn't feel unsafe, it's just a bit tatty. The hotel is quiet and the building has some character, but has a lift which was welcome. The room was fine - even had a tiny balcony to sit out on, not that the view was very inspiring. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice. The air conditioner struggled a bit, but it really was very hot outside and it did the job of cooling the room down enough. Friendly and helpful staff and really very good value for the price. Would definitely recommend for budget travellers - hostel prices and offers a whole lot more than most hostels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

stayed here for 2 nights and would've done more. Pedros, Helen and Panos gave me such a welcome and were very helpful and created a great atmosphere. I agree with some other reviews that this is not in the best location and it is further out then I was led to believe by description on booking.com, however the metro is only short walk away and run late at the weekends, taxi will cost you about 8Euros to get back from downtown Athens. My room was clean, functional, good size and met my own needs. If you want luxury and something more central be prepared to pay for it, everyone has different priorities and each review based on our own experiences at the time, my was fab. any shortcomings were made up for the time I spent in the company of lovely people. At the end of the day we get out of any experience what we are willing to put in.

Room Tip: ask to see what you are going to get before you committ if possible or at least speak to the hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Panos, on reception, was really helpful and suggested a takeaway (of typical Greek food) for dinner so didn't go out in the evening which suited me so can't comment on restaurants. The room was clean and basic but comfortable enough. Very close to the metro and a 9euro taxi trip to the bus station. I booked the hotel because of its proximity to the bus station (had a very early start) and so it ticked all the boxes for my requirements. Panos was super friendly and helpful and so if I needed a hotel for the bus trip again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Neos Olympos
#196 of 282 in Athens
255 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#148 of 282 in Athens
324 reviews
Exarchia
Exarchion Hotel
Exarchion Hotel
#129 of 282 in Athens
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#150 of 282 in Athens
203 reviews
Exis Boutique Hotel
#133 of 282 in Athens
45 reviews
Hotel Semeli
#98 of 282 in Athens
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diethnes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diethnes

Address: 52 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 1,947 - ₹ 3,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diethnes 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Diethnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diethnes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing