We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athens Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 1,273
US$ 162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 253
US$ 235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 205
US$ 191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 311
US$ 277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 441
US$ 392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Athens Lotus Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 123
US$ 116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 224
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 226
US$ 205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
214
226
66
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
226
66
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking tourbed dormrooftop bargreat locationfemale dormfree breakfastperson rooma nice place to staycommon areasmetro stationminute walkacropolis museumshower curtainmain attractionshostelkitchenettegreece
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a good few days at the hostel. The breakfast is great, the rooftop is gorgeous and even though the bar was not yet serviced, the staff was super friendly to let us go up there anytime by giving us their key.

generally, the rooms are fine, some of them have large balconies, everything is quite nicely set up. the location is absolutely amazing and hard to beat!

however, the bathroom was unfortunately quite dirty (even for hostel conditions, believe me, i have stayed at a few ;) ) and didn't appear any cleaner the next days either. another unfortunate feature are the very thin walls. you can hear anything from the room next door and also the doors bang loudly when closing. also, the staff could have been just a tiiiiiny bit more cheerful ;)


all in all, a great place for max. 2 or 3 nights but not much longer than that ;) the rooftop is amazing though!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not use one of the hostelrooms with several beds, but had a small appartment with kitchenette, shower facilities etc. This was a good choice. We also stayed in Backpackers nr 2 which is nearby nr 1. Overall good deal, nice staff, decent breakfast and recommended if you do not want to stretch your budget

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank werdlerswereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location with all the must see sights within walking distance. There is a metro line nearby and plenty of restaurants to choose from.

The free breakfast is ok considering that it's free, l wasn't expecting much. It consists of bread, boiled egg, ham, cheese, tomato, cucumber, feta cheese and a small piece of cake. I actually wasn't disappointed with it.

I was a bit disappointed with the tiny bathroom in the 6 bed dorm, after a shower the floor is wet even though there's a shower curtain. There's a little squeegee attached to a long stick that is used to sweep the water into the floor drain. The nice and lovely cleaners clean the bathroom everyday.

I would come again because of the good location and great price.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank 9globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for writing a review and for your kind comments. We are happy you were pleased with the location and the breakfast. Excuse any inconveniences you might have experienced during your stay. We appreciate all feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Great ubication, you have to take 1 subway from the internation airport (10 euros. - the taxi to the airport is 40 euros). When we arrived at the hostel, they moved us to another hostel near it (Athens Studios) without our knowledge. The rooms are spacious without lockers and you have the space to cook in ther. The bathroom is small and it floods everytime you take a bath. The terrace isn´t open in winter. I 'd go back if i have the chance

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juanimohorade97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review and for your kind words. We appreciate all comments and hope to see you again in the future! Till then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Very near to acropolis museum. Near the museum there are brothers who sell the simit bread that cost u only 1€. Around the neighborhood have many shops to buy card or survenior to buy with cost 1 -2€ also.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank nurulfahmie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hey! Thanks so much for your kind words! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location super convenient. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews