We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Great Price”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at the Central Hotel for 2 nights in April for the beginning of our adventures in Greece. The room we stayed in faced the courtyard and met all of our needs. Being taller people, we both appreciated the spacious bed and the nicely sized shower. The room was extremely clean and modernly appointed. We also appreciated the in-room fridge to store our beer and wine. The rooftop deck is something that puts this hotel over the top. Nothing can beat gazing at the Acropolis through all the different stages of a sunset with a cold beer/glass of wine in your hand. Also, breakfast was available each morning and was included in the cost of the hotel. The breakfast wasn't anything fancy, but suited our needs perfectly. For our money, we felt that the Central Hotel gave us a stylish place to stay in a great location. With the exception of a cab ride to the National Archeological Museum and a metro/bus ride to Piraeus, we were able to safely walk everywhere that we wanted to see.

I highly recommend this hotel for the budget conscious traveler, or any traveler for that matter! We found Athens to be a lovely and interesting city and thought that the Central Hotel was a great home base for those explorations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    810
    209
    38
    12
See reviews for
258
873
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were a family of 5 (children ages 11, 10, and 6) traveling to Greece for the first time. We stayed 4 nights at the Athens Central Hotel and were very happy with the accomodations. Rooms are on the small side, but are clean and comfortable. The hotel is located on a quiet street not far from the busy Plaka and Syntagma Square, which was ideal for quiet restful sleep. Walking to and from the Metro was 5 - 10 mins. The views from the top of the hotel on the Roof top garden were beautiful. We spent 2 evenings eating a light dinner up there after picking up some fresh fruit and food at a local market. The hotel staff were very nice, helpful and willing to assist. They interacted with the children and made us feel very welcome. The morning breakfast buffet offered many options and was well prepared w/ hot or cold foods depending on your taste.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Found this to be a very nice small hotel in an ideal location. Check in was quick and efficient, the room small, clean with a modern bathroom.
Breakfast area was was pleasant with a decent range of food of good quality.
Location of the hotel is excellent if you're planning to walk around the sites in the Plakka area. Its also easy to get to from Athens airport - an airport bus will take you direct to Syntagma square, from where the hotel is an easy 3 min walk.
There was no view from our room window, but the rooftop has a large space for sitting with wonderful views of the acropolis and athens.
We booked this hotel through travelzonegreece.com for 89 Euro a night.
i would definately stay here again if i wanted to be in the Plakka area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a small well laid out hotel. The staff were friendly and the general impression good. The hotel's neighborhood was safer then some parts of central Athens I have experienced.

The major sites are all within walking distance, and there is some car-parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokeystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I first stayed at the Central in August 2003 for several weeks when they were completing their renovation, and have since stayed there many times (more than 5 times). I keep going back because the location is so good, it's a quiet and comfortable hotel with a modern feel, and the service is very friendly.

The beds are really comfortable, the A/C is good, the rooms are well designed to feel roomier than they are, nice recessed lighting and clean lines, and the hotel is very quiet even though you are in the center of the center of Athens (thus the name). Lots of mirrors too.

You can tell that the towels, which were a dream back in 2003, need to be replaced, and the bed covering is not very warm in the winter. The breakfast is decent and in a pleasant dining area. The staff are very friendly and responsive to requests although I haven't had to make many (which is also good).

The one drawback which has actually led me never to stay in this hotel with another person (I'll only stay there by myself) is that the bathroom wall and door is made of glass, and although the glass is smoked so you can't see through it, around the edges it's actually clear and you CAN - so unless you want your roommate to see you going about you bathroom activities, you might want to send them onto the balcony. This made this prudish American reluctant to stay here with anyone but my husband, so if you are also a prudish American, bear that in mind.

Overall though, it's a great hotel and it's very close to Syntagma Square, the metro, the airport bus, many other buses and trolleys, the tram... it's the best location in the city because in addition to being super close to all that, AND super close to Plaka, it's actually quiet.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,980 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,623 - ₹ 75,194
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing