We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
112
292
174
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
292
174
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssygrou fixminute walknice hotelmetro stationroof gardenclean roomsbreakfast buffetbit datedpedestrian streethotel is locatedbusiness hotelrestaurants and barstravel agentmain sightsby footlate at nighttourist attractions
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Once you know how to find the Ilissos Hotel on public transit the hotel is lovely! Unfortunately, we got off at the wrong tram stop and struggled a bit to get to the hotel. We knew we were in the right place, because we could see it – the problem was that the hotel was on the opposite side of the expressway from where we were standing! The best way to get to the property via public transit from the airport, as we learned, is to buy the 3-day tourist pass for 22 Euro. This allows a return trip to the airport and unlimited used of the Metro for 72 hours. Take the Metro to Syntagma station and then transfer to the red line and exit at Sygrou-Fix. When you exit the metro station you will have about a 10-minute walk to the hotel (with luggage). The hotel is essentially on the same street as the Metro station, walk towards the area where it becomes an expressway!

Check-in was flawless and the clerk was kind and knowledgeable. The lobby and breakfast area are very pleasant and the breakfast buffet was excellent. All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were very helpful and friendly. This hotel has the added bonus of a rooftop terrace where you can take in a lovely view of the Parthenon. The room itself was quite spacious and actually featured a bathtub – not always the case. I would stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank TravelGirl181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in the middle of the most important attractions to be seen in Athens, like the acropolis. We could do Athens in two days because of the hotel location. Tip: Uber works nicely in Athens.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hussein E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop is incredible, and the beer is cold. The beds are comfortable and the staff are very friendly. But the breakfast is poor (stale pastries and artificial fruit juice) and the shower temperature is dangerously erratic. Nevertheless good value and a useful location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ScotFish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely horrible. I can't even imagine where they have gotten 4 stars!This hotel in max 2 stars.The receptionists and management are rude and ignorant. The Stanley hotel much,much better!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILISSOSHO, Διευθυντής at Ilissos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear madam,

for your information, the hotel has been characterized as 4 stars after government approval as all hotels.

Our rating especially for our personnel and customer service is the highest we have in all booking channels.

I assume that if we provided free breakfast as you strongly demanded , although it was not included in your reservation, you would not characterize the staff of the hotel as rude. Our policy is not to offer services free of charge to guests that demand them by threatening us with bad reviews in booking channels.

Kind regards,

Ria Sigala, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The hotel was extremely clean with a view of the Acropolis from our balcony.. There was also a comfortable roof top open air lounge that was a welcoming site after a long flight from Canada. Although our stay was short, I would have no problem in staying there again in the future.
The complimentary breakfast was high quality and very tasty.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the Acropolis
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnpwilliams3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews