We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athens International Youth Hostel
Ranked #41 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I was staying in this hostel for a few days only, so take my words with a grain of salt.

+ cheap
+ close to the metro
+ clean beds
+ all-you-can-eat breakfast included, although very restricted selection (bread, butter, one kind of jam, tee, orange juice)
+ air-conditioner
+ free-internet

- location is smelly
- no public kitchen
- old furniture
- elevator is small for two standing person without luggage
- bathrooms are awful, water is only mostly warm
- cheating taxi driver (the hostel offers to call a taxi for you. The one which I got took me to the Syntagma Square for 10 Euros, while normal ones on the street would have made it for around 5 Euros. The driver tried to convince me on the trip, that I'm late for my flight, because I need to checkin two hours in advance. In my opinion he tried to suggest, that I have to take the taxi to the airport otherwise I would miss my plane. I would expect, that at least I should get an honest driver when I use the service of the hostel)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pionere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    25
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
3
19
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed in this hostel during my backpacking vacation. The rooms are ok and the best is you get free Internet and 24hrs reception that is as good as a tourist information. The hostel offers breakfast and dinner for a low cost.
The only thing I could complain about is the location. It is about a 30 minute walk to the Acropolis. And it seems like the hostel is not in the best neighbor hood. Trash on the street and I saw an old guy getting his pack of drugs ready.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIKORegensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

The hostel was clean, but not really near anything you'd come to Athens to see. There's a nice souvlaki place around the corner. There was fast wifi available in the room which was nice. My biggest (and really only) complaint was the air conditioning in the rooms. It was VERY hot while we were there and at night, I would wake up sweating. The other people in our room had the same problem. The two guys at the reception desk seem very nice and helpful. They stored our bags in the bag room each day and there were lockers available in the room if you bring your own lock. They also have towels for rent. Our room wasn't smoky, but there is smoking downstairs in the lobby almost 24/7.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gte926p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

Negatives
- Noisy hostel, too many school kids around who destroyed the atmosphere
- Lack of shops/ restaurants/ cafe nearby
- Dirty room with cracks in walls and old furniture
- Sheets, blanket provided not particularly clean
- Need to pay extra for air-conditioning, without the remote control which prevents you from adjusting it to a desirable temperature
- No where near the standard of other international hostels in western Europe (e.g. YHA England, HI Switzerland)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lemon_ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

We found the hostel to be a nice cheap option within a comfortable walking distance of the sights (and close to the metro when you get tired). The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, with an ensuite bathroom and 4 beds (2 bunks) to a room. One thing we weren't so keen on was the fact each room only had one key, so the late-to-bed would have to wake up whoever was in the room to get in, but everyone was pretty considerate.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — wet floor in bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a padlock for the luggage lockers in the rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Chameleon Youth Hostel
#12 of 60 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Zorbas Hotel
#21 of 60 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Omonia
Hostel Zeus
Hostel Zeus
#43 of 60 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 60 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
City Circus Athens
#1 of 60 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#39 of 60 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens International Youth Hostel

Property: Athens International Youth Hostel
Address: 16 Ougo Viktoros, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 840 - ₹ 2,133
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Athens International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens International Youth Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing