We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Small Accomodations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value, Small Accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed in the Amazon Hotel for one month while based in Athens for a class.

Upside: The location is really great. I was within walking distance of everything I could ask for. If you need to go further, the public train is a few blocks away and with that you can easily reach the coast and suburbs. This area is not very car friendly, keep that in mind if you plan on renting a car. The hotel is very clean and tidy and they serve a great breakfast every morning.

Downside: The hotel is very small, in all respects. The elevator can barely fit a person and their luggage. Shower is small and takes some maneuvering to get used to. Beds are really slim and my mattress kept sliding off onto the floor.

Fine place to stay for a place to crash right in the middle of Athens. I would recommend elsewhere if you like to do more "living" in your hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    398
    194
    36
    13
See reviews for
135
440
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed in Athens for two nights. The first impression was fine, as the location of the hotel was really excellent and the welcome from the front desk was very friendly. as soon as I stepped in the room, I was a bit disappointed. The furniture was fine but the size of the room was really small. They also must change the curtains as they are not thick enough as a result the room when there are is light outside it does not get dark. I called the reception and ask if they have a bigger room and I will pay for any extra cost and she told me they were overbooked but there will be some rooms available the next day and they will be more than happy to help me out. Indeed the next day around noon I went to the reception and asked whether there was an empty room. He told me there was but it is a room with two single beds. I took it. It was indeed much better and roomier. The furniture were not that modern though and the toilet looked a bit dated while the tiny room had a nice modern toilet. The downside of the room was again the curtains were not thick enough and there was a smell coming out from the bathtub.
The breakfast was poor but for the price I got, I can not really complain. By the time the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, you can forget the rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in Amazon hotel for 1 night. Our friends stayed in Achilleas hotel nearby for a similar price but their hotel was definitely better (bigger room with a balcony, bigger lobby). We didn't check elevators in Achilleas but in Amazon the levator is quite tiny, 3-4 people can hardly fit in.
Comparing these two hotels I suggest Achilleas. An unrelated note: one day is more than enough for Athens.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is an average hotel but it was worth it for the price. Rooms are very standard. I think some were redone but ours wasn't. It's not like we spent any time in our room anyways. It's a very convienent location which is a plus. Just a few blocks to the train station, and a few blocks the other way is plaka. Breakfast was pretty good here. If your staying in Athens for just a couple days I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed in Athens for 3 nights at the Amazon. This was our second honeymoon and I wanted something special. Well special it was. We got the best room in the hotel. Room 700 is a suite with the view of the Acropolis. We arrived at night, and this was our first time in Greece. We walked inside our suite which was amazing, but better still we could see the Acropolis lit up with lights from our lounge room. We also had our own balcony and when we went outside to see the Pathanon, it was just breathtaking. It was unreal, and Amnazon is so close to everything in Athens. Will only stay there again if we can ever do it again. Breakfast too was good.

Room Tip: Room 700. Top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#54 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#60 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#62 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
Address: 19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,730 - ₹ 31,348
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing