We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very good position. excellent service and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
Ranked #52 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good position. excellent service and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I've been visiting Athens 3 days and I liked very much this hotel i was staying in.
very good location, far minutes walking from main city interest places.
syntagma square is only 100 metres away so is plaka and monasteriki . an useful subway line takes you everywhere in minutes from syntagma square.
coming from the airport, you take the bus 95 (fare is 5 euros) and you're in Syntagma square. very easy.
The rooms are cleaned twice a day. They may seem you small rooms but they are very comfortable. Good Simple breakfast , with fantastic yogurt, adequate personnel, nice staff very useful and handy for every request, speaking perfect english and also my language italian. if i know about people going to athens i will surely indicate them this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    389
    189
    36
    13
See reviews for
126
427
73
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very disappointed. On check-in I was told that I would have to check out at 10am instead of 12 midday which messed up my plans. There was a problem in my room which I asked to be fixed. When I came back to the hotel I was told it had been fixed, it hadn't! In fact a member of staff told me it had been fixed while we both stood and looked at it and it clearly wasn't fixed!!! WiFi was very poor and I could hardly check my email never mind anything else. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skalarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Right in the heart of Athens, just meters away from the tube, the airport bus stop and the parliament. Busest to and fromt the airport run non-stop on a 24 hour basis and this hotel costs less than half of what airport hotels charge.... Just make sure the buses and trains are not on...strike!!!
Single beds could be a bit of a problem if you are too big or too tall. So you better check it out.
Rest is perfect, value for money and not only. Clean hotel, really nothing to complain about

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I always stay at this hotel when in Athens, the location is great for getting to all the usual tourist attractions and the price is reasonable.

Rooms have always been good for the price, however this time when we stayed we got one of the refurbished rooms which was very nicely decorated and had both a waterfall shower and a hand held one. Yes the room and bathroom are a little on the small side but enough room to put clothes, suitcases etc. The place is spotless and the staff are always polite.

Breakfast is also more than adequate with a good choice of continental style buffet and some hot choices such as eggs, bacon etc.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Bagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The X95 bus from the airport is 5€ (or 2.50€ for seniors) and in one hour drops you about 5 minutes' walk from the hotel. Excellent.

This hotel is quiet, comfortable, and clean. Free wireless internet works well. Great location ... safe, many restaurants,shops, etc. Friendly and very helpful staff. (Nadine called many laundries on a Saturday to find an open facility.)

The breakfast is good, but is the same every day. I would make the owner/manager eat it 30 days in a row and then perhaps we would experience a nice variety of excellent greek meats, breads, cheeses, etc. Why can't a hotel manager figure this out so it's not even an issue?

My room was small and the shower even smaller, and one chair in a double room presents its own challenges.

This hotel is very good and I would recommend it to anyone. With a better management focus I could recommend it as excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#27 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#55 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
Address: 19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,498 - ₹ 25,678
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing