We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and close to everything”
Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
Ranked #121 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here two nights before a cruise and came back for two nights after. We found the location excellent, free wifi was great and breakfast good. Our shower in both rooms had a little drainage issue but nothing too bad. Our room backed onto some kind of theatre or pub or something very noisey on sat night. We didn't have a view but the rooms were clean, cheap and comfortable. I would definatly stay again and definatly reccommend

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

Spent three nights at the Carolina, very clean, free WiFi and good continental breakfast. Noisy as many clients arrive and depart at all hours and the hotel is an old building, clean and well maintained. If you want to be in central Athens, close to Metro stations, one in Monastiraki at 5 minutes walk, second in Syntagma square 10 minutes, then it will be a good choice. Having meetings in the area was right for me and the price affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

On the basis of description and pictures on the website we thought we had booked a quiet room on the top floor, with two big glass doors and a spacious terrace with chairs and a table overlooking the Acropolis. But no ...... this is what we got ..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlokswc4Nw0

Room Tip: Location is ok, so just bring your ear plugs and go for the cheapest room. And if you want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veeeeerydisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Spent one night in athens at this lovely hotel.
the location is amazing if you want to stay in the centre close to or within the hustle and bustle of athens. its two minutes walking from the monastiraki metro station from where the metro takes you straight to the airport. it is also where the flea market is and a five minute walk is the plaka area which is a charming bazaar of handicrafts jewelry and other touristy goods amongst many cute little eateries and restaurants.
the staff are friendly and cheerful. the breakfast was pretty good: the basic fare plus eggs.
prices in this part of athens are generally high but i found this hotel to be a very good deal. definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanoobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This Hotel was perfectly located and close to all the main attractions in Athens. We reached it easily from the closest subway stations (Monistiraki) and walked to all the venues we visited during our stay. The room was more spacious than we thought, clean and recently updated, but the bed cover looked like it had been used for century!! Our room was on the 4th floor and had a balcony with a view on the Acropolis and were not bothered by any traffic noise at all. The breakfast was also excellent as was the wireless internet connection which is not common in Europe (well, at least not in Greece). We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Canadian_Montreal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#112 of 281 in Athens
237 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#109 of 281 in Athens
385 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#80 of 281 in Athens
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#124 of 281 in Athens
370 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#87 of 281 in Athens
259 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#45 of 281 in Athens
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Address: 55 Kolokotroni, Athens 105 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 3,682 - ₹ 7,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing