We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
578
716
259
57
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
716
259
57
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews makri street great location acropolis metro station within walking distance side street souvenir shops quiet street can't beat the location hadrian's arch minute walk triple room the hotel staff plaka district breakfast buffet decent size greek yogurt visit athens
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful front office staff with good English-always helpful! Kitchen/bar/waitress/ staff excellent. Loved "happy hour" in the bar during evenings. Breakfast great with huge and tasty choices. Our room was small and probably in need of some updating but was clean, tidy and good shower at the end of the day. Clean towels every day despite us hanging up our used towels for the next day and room made up each day. Didn't like single beds pushed together to make a double but realised that many hotels through Greece have the same set up. So close to major attractions-we walked everywhere! Restaurants and shopping just around the corner.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Julianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights in the hotel. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. The towels were changed every day and we had hot water at all time. The staff was very friendly yet mannered and attentive. However breakfast wasn’t so good. Location is the very best (very close to the Parthenon, Acropolis Museum and all the main attractions). Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina_abb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A "very good" rating might be a little deceptive, but I would consider staying here again. No frills, but no particular disqualifying complaints.

The location is just about perfect. This hotel is near everything a tourist wants to be near in Athens. That alone makes this hotel worth considering.

Also, the price was right for a well-placed hotel in a big city.

The room was fine. Not great, but fine. The bed was acceptable. The room was clean. The shower worked well - good pressure and plenty of hot water. The internet connection worked consistently. There was a working small refrigerator. The air conditioner was adequate (although we stayed here in October, so I have no idea if it was up to the task of an Athens summer).

The staff was very good. They were pleasant, helpful and informative.

On the other hand, the place lacks any sort of pizzazz. The decorating is dull. Although it has fresh paint, the painter did a poor job (e.g., slopping paint on marble). The room is bland. The "double" is nothing more than two twin sized beds pushed together. The sheets and blankets are thin and inexpensive. The room television (who needs television?) is about the size of a small computer screen. We had no view (I have no idea if some rooms have a view).

Breakfast was laid out nicely, and there was a lot of food, but it also is not great. The eggs were terrible. Scrambled eggs were grossly runny, and a so-called omelet was an overcooked egg casserole. Bacon was undercooked. Fruits were not great. There was good bread, plenty of coffee and excellent juices, so it was possible to fill-up for a day.

Overall, in the States, this would be comparable to a average chain hotel. If you are looking for a luxurious foreign trip hotel, this is not it. If you need a place to sleep while being a tourist, this is fine. The location and price make it worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WILawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear WILawyer,

Thank you for your preference to our hotel. It is our honor that you shared your personal experience with us, even more for spending your personal time.

Your comments always give us the chance to improve our products and services in order to reach the best possible level for our guests. Please accept our apology for the parts which caused you that uncomfortable feeling. It was always in our intention to provide a pleasant stay. Moreover, our services are upgrading day by day and we will continue until we succeed the ideal result. We are sure that with your next accommodation your experience will be much more positive for us.

Kind regards,
Dimitris Koursaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night and that was more than enough. The lobby of the hotel is probably it's best quality (along with the free breakfast) but the rooms were small, old, and stinky. Location is great (we wanted something close to the metro), however, the hotel rooms are run down and bland. Staff at the reception desk, however, were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Olga,

At first we would like to thank you for choosing the Airotel Parthenon for your stay in Athens. According to your recent review about our hotel, is obvious that you left disappointed and we sincerely deeply regret it.

Even if your accommodation was for one night, please allow us to express our apologies, especially for the experience you encountered with your room and let me inform you that a scheduled partial upgrade will take place soon in our guest rooms.

We are happy of having you as a guest and it will be our pleasure to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,
Dimitris Koursaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This hotel is placed perfectly!
Close to the Parthenon, honestly at the end of the street turn left and walk on the largest pedestrian area to view the acropolis, and walk to the top. Not far from the Plaka, great restaurants and shops, the new museum on the pedestrian walkway , is amazing. Very modern and houses the oldest of pieces !!!
We loved it.
we were fortunate to go to the odeon of Herodis Atticus, on our first night , also on the pedestrian way, to watch Tango Argentine. A once only , event , we were very lucky , seats were reasonably priced and to view this in such a historic environment was for us awesome .
We also used the hop on hop off bus to get around. Well worth the money. will go back again one day. !!

Room Tip: It's an old part of town, our room overlooked the back gardens, I don't know what the others are like
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews