We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“As expected (mainly the good parts)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“As expected (mainly the good parts)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked 2 rooms here for three nights. Got a pretty good deal through Hotwire for this property. Very nice rooms, just as I hoped and expected from such a hotel. Good amenities overall.

The evening and night staff were extremely friendly and helpful in answering questions and providing directions (more so than the daytime concierge who seemed to have better things to do)!

The buffet breakfast and Internet charges are outrageously expensive and not in line with the prices of other hotels, no matter what anyone might say. However, a la carte options at the hotel restaurants and for breakfast, combined with the free wifi found all around the city can be suitable alternatives if you're not on a business account and don't mind saving 50 euros a day.

For a more local feel, there is a really good little restaurant a couple of minutes away that had great good and friendly service. Definitely worth trying.

Besides that, the hotel is pretty far from anything worthwhile and not an especially pleasant walk to the Parthenon or to the temple of Zeus, but it is certainly possible to walk there (it takes about 20 minutes or so at a decent pace).

The hotel does also provide a shuttle, just make sure you time it accurately.

Overall, a good option in Athens if you can afford it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your visit to Athens last May. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standard for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We are delighted to learn that the comfort of our rooms and the facilities at our hotel met with your expectations. We have also noted your comment about our prices and would like to take this opportunity to clarify that our prices for breakfast and internet connection are in line with our competitors in Athens. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    776
    232
    64
    24
See reviews for
389
625
119
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
johnjirl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few times never disappointed. Very impressive reception area. Some of the rooms have not been refurbished, so some are better than others. The service from the staff is excellent. There is a regular bus service to the centre of the city, runs every 30 mins and is free. The tram runs all the way to the airport. Breakfast is expensive so we opted to eat in many of the nearby tavernas which were far more reasonable and were beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnjirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding the high level of service you received from our staff. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our luxurious and spacious rooms. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Having stayed a few times in the Athenaeum Intercontinental I would like to finally review the Hotel.
1) Very nice room decoration and interior design. Even the standard rooms have enough space for a sitting area. Some are renovated and have a better view than others.
2) Excellent breakfast at Cafe Zoe, and the Club floor buffet is ok although it could have more variety of snacks. You get a lower price for breakfast so the upgrade is worth it.
3)The location is near metro and bus stop so its convenient to reach Athens center very fast.
4) The Hotel Staff was friendly and helpful as always.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated or Acropolis view. If you will use the Club lounge often and have breakfast for ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Grumpytravell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visits to Athens and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are happy to learn that the service from our staff and the facilities at our hotel met with your expectations. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I've been in this hotel several times. The hotel facilities are renovated and very elegant as well as the deluxe rooms. Bit very careful because there is no difference between standard and superior, it is only a matter of floors. Those two level of rooms are very bad maintained and very outdated. Most of the fares don't include breakfast and it is unreasonable expensive. Hotel restaurant closes very soon and the roof bar it was closed without any reason. My recommendation is to check other hotel in town since the price you pay here really doesn’t worth the deployed quality and the location is very bad. Anyway a special mention deserve the hotel personnel, very qualified, kind and professional.

Room Tip: Only deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visits to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We have noted your comments about the quality of our rooms and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have categories ranging from Superior rooms to Club InterContinental rooms, our most recent room product being our Deluxe rooms. While our superior rooms have not yet been renovated, they are well maintained and we plan to renovate them in the very near future. As far as room rates are concerned, one has the option of making a room reservation for either a room only or a room including breakfast. We have also noted your kind comments about the quality of service you receive from our staff and would like to thank you for your commendations. May we also take this opportunity to inform you that our Premiere roof top bar operates daily from 6:30pm till 2:00am except Sunday and Monday, whilst the award winning Premiere restaurant operates on the same days from 7:30pm till 2:00am. As a regular and valued patron at our hotel, your feedback is very important and we are grateful that you took the time to share it with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Spent 2 nights there for a busines event, great location, good food, convenient, rooms clean and p

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMartin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your visit to Athens this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#19 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,140 - ₹ 19,166
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing