We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Hotel Amalia was everything we were looking for in a Hotel. My husband and I stayed for only one night after coming back from Santorini, but the staff was very accommodating, and we could walk to everything we wanted to see (New Athens Museum, Acropolis, shopping district, Parliament). The hotel was decently priced, clean, and could see the Acropolis from our room (which is stunning at night when they light it up). All around a good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    701
    106
    28
    11
See reviews for
308
763
99
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in the Amalia for one night in early April on our return journey to Athens and were pleased with our choice.

The hotel is centrally situated, adjacent to Syntagma Square and opposite the Parliament Building and National Gardens. It is about a 10-15 minute stroll through the Plaka to the Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum.

We took the X95 express airport bus which stops a few yards from the hotel, although the journey from the airport would be just as easy by the Metro which run twice an hour from the airport. The hotel is situated on a very busy road, but our room was located to the side of the hotel and we had a spectacular view of the Acropolis from our balcony. The hotel makes a small daily charge for wifi but does provide a free computer and printing facility in the lobby. The reception staff were helpful and responded to an earlier email request efficiently and promptly.

Our room was modern, very clean and larger and better furnished than others we stayed in during our trip to Greece and the bed was very comfortable. Very nice bathroom with robes and slippers, good quality toiletries, hairdryer etc provided. The selection at breakfast was the best we came across during our trip and was more than adequate to set you up for the day. Make sure you visit the terrace on the seventh floor for great views of Athens and the Parthenon.

Earlier in our trip we stayed in the Airotel Parthenon which I can also recommend if you are looking for a cheaper option. It beats the Amalia in terms of its close proximity to the Acropolis but the Amalia was superior and the more comfortable of the two and thankfully (for us) a bit away from the tourist trap of the Plaka/Acropolis area.

Overall we found the area to be safe, although we were approached by a guy selling drugs in one of the dark side streets going down to the Plaka. We thoroughly recommend the Amalia in terms of location and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. Room 611 had a stunning view of the Pathenon from the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishandambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremont ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Athens, within walking distance to the Plaka district and the Acropolis as well as Syntagma Square.

There is free internet service in the Lobby and coffee and biscuits (cookies) for early morning risers. Connection to your own computor is 5 Euros per day..

Single rooms small so if you are a single see if hotel is not full and ask for larger room!
Great view of Athens from rooftop..

Breakfast plentiful - try the Greek Yoghurt with honey

Room Tip: As mentioned above if single ask if they are full and if they are not see if they can move you to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishywog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here as our third stop on our honeymoon for four nights in August 2011.

The main positive for this hotel is its location, being right on Syntagma Square was great - close to the main shopping, walking distance to Plaka, the Acropolis, etc. provided you are able bodied and don't mind walking.

The staff were average at best. Most didn't really care to be helpful and the front desk staff was some of the least pleasant I have ever dealt with. Even when simply paying for internet (which you shouldn't have to in this era), they acted like they simply did not want to be bothered with anything.

The breakfast was great and provided a good experience to start every day. There was not nearly enough wait staff for the breakfast however and while they were doing as best they could, there were just too many customers for them to handle.

The room was okay. It was small and not particularly comfortable, but we knew we weren't paying for luxury at this place. The bathrooms were nice enough. One thing that was strange was that it was very warm in the hallways outside of the rooms. That wasn't pleasant.

Overall, I would not stay here again if I ever return to Athens. The location was spot on, but from what I saw, I am certain you could get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JusPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Loved Amalia, close to the Plaka and hop on hop off bus stop, rooms were comfortable but a little stuffy only and this was with the air conditioning on, had to open the balcony door as our arrival was just after the riots there was alot of police around so this seemed to keep the traffic down however in the mornings that was a different measure. Staff were great, we returned after our trip to Mykono's and would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaroo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,134 - ₹ 17,607
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing