We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amalia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Acropolis Hill Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$ 172
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$ 309
US$ 295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hermes Hotel(Athens)
US$ 161
US$ 156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 250
US$ 237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 135
US$ 126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 192
US$ 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 166
US$ 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 225
US$ 206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$ 223
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 186
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveller rating
877
815
120
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
815
120
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational gardenssyntagma squaregreat locationparliament buildingairport buswithin walking distancegreek parliamentolympic stadiumbalcony overlookingcentral locationshort walkdeluxe roombreakfast buffetexcellent hoteli highly recommend this hotelstreet noiseon foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Athens, within walking distance to the Plaka district and the Acropolis as well as Syntagma Square.

There is free internet service in the Lobby and coffee and biscuits (cookies) for early morning risers. Connection to your own computor is 5 Euros per day..

Single rooms small so if you are a single see if hotel is not full and ask for larger room!
Great view of Athens from rooftop..

Breakfast plentiful - try the Greek Yoghurt with honey

Room Tip: As mentioned above if single ask if they are full and if they are not see if they can move you to a larger room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishywog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here as our third stop on our honeymoon for four nights in August 2011.

The main positive for this hotel is its location, being right on Syntagma Square was great - close to the main shopping, walking distance to Plaka, the Acropolis, etc. provided you are able bodied and don't mind walking.

The staff were average at best. Most didn't really care to be helpful and the front desk staff was some of the least pleasant I have ever dealt with. Even when simply paying for internet (which you shouldn't have to in this era), they acted like they simply did not want to be bothered with anything.

The breakfast was great and provided a good experience to start every day. There was not nearly enough wait staff for the breakfast however and while they were doing as best they could, there were just too many customers for them to handle.

The room was okay. It was small and not particularly comfortable, but we knew we weren't paying for luxury at this place. The bathrooms were nice enough. One thing that was strange was that it was very warm in the hallways outside of the rooms. That wasn't pleasant.

Overall, I would not stay here again if I ever return to Athens. The location was spot on, but from what I saw, I am certain you could get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JusPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Loved Amalia, close to the Plaka and hop on hop off bus stop, rooms were comfortable but a little stuffy only and this was with the air conditioning on, had to open the balcony door as our arrival was just after the riots there was alot of police around so this seemed to keep the traffic down however in the mornings that was a different measure. Staff were great, we returned after our trip to Mykono's and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaroo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has a wonderful buffet breakfast however, there are some issues that we had. It was hot in our room and the hotel staff would not turn on the air conditioning. When the doors to the patio were open, the traffic noises were extremely loud so we had to pick between the two evils. We were on the east side, facing the main street so this might not be the case for all rooms.

In addition, a giant cockroach crawled up the bathroom grate and when we mentioned this, we were blamed for having our patio door open and allowing the insect to fly (without wings) into the room.

The overall attitude of the front desk was fairly poor and it was only when the cockroach made an appearance that they offered any sort of friendly behavior. We were even subtly blamed for our key cards repeatedly not working over the last three days of the visit.

Not a hotel I will return to but it didn't ruin our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicoleontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Amalia hotel is a very nice hotel in the city centre of Athens. Polite and ready to help stuff, nice and clean rooms. BUT I find that their internet policy belongs to another era. First of all the fact that you have to pay for it (even though the price is small ) while in all cafes around the hotel is free and secondly it is not stable. When you need to connect remote to your work account to check data you have to go a well needed in our days verification process. Once the wifi network you are using is not responding ( and happen various times) then you need to restart the verification process.
And one comment for the breakfast buffet : good quality buffet but when in Greece I expect to see a more prominent presence of fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YIannisBrusells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews