We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to the Plaka”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #20 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff at the Philippos Hotel were wonderful and very helpful. It is right next to the Acropolis Museum and the Acropolis. The rooms were an average size but clean. They do have breakfast in the mornings with an assortment of baked goods, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee and of course the wonderful Greek yogurt. They let us leave our luggage there while we traveled to different destinations in Greece, so nice.We stayed there a total of three different nights. I would stay there again!!

Room Tip: room 505 has a nice view of the acropolis
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windowdress25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for Philippos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 633 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I traveled with family in and out of Athens several times and they held our luggage for us even on the nights we weren't there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms look out to the acropolis. It isn't luxurious, but it is clean, well located, and provides comfortable accomadations. Breakfast is delicious in the morning. You do have to pay for wifi though. There is a Starbucks nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Location is great. Used to stay near syntagma, but this is much better--quieter, but only a couple of blocks away from several delightful cafes including two recoomended by rick steves. Atrium in the lobby area is a great place to relax. The staff was frindly and very helpful--particularly when we had a health crisis with a member of our group. Breakfasts were good and rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Bathrooms were a bit on the small side, but that is not unusual in greece.
Easy access to the plaka, the new acropolis museum and the acropolis itself. Just a few blocks from a metro stop.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a great experience staying at Philippos Hotel. It is in an ideal location. The rooms are a little small, but you will hardly be in there because there's so much to do around the hotel. You can walk to the Acropolis and The Plaka. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful. I had left my cell phone at a hotel in Glyfada and they called and found it for me. I definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Positives? The one female at the desk was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Negatives? The elevator stopped unevenly on the 4th floor and no one seemed to care. Our room faced a ghetto. The bathroom was so small you could not turn around in it with the toilet at such an weird angle you could brush your teeth at the same time. And the bathtub was on 2 levels and very, very small. In addition the air did not work properly even after it was "fixed". No free wi-fi, and expensive for a short time to rent, and when we needed some assistance to contact our transfer company for the airport, they were "not allowed" to call a mobile phone. The extra money would have been better spent at their 4 star sister the Hotel Herodion which was right around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monroegcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to write your positive comments and your criticism.
The Philippos has no room facing any "ghetto" , only a few rooms looking in an alley with other terraces. Nonetheless the neighborhood of the Acropolis museum is one of the most beautiful in all Athens. We would have been able to give you better room if you had given us the chance.
The elevator functions properly , there was indeed a problem for a few hours of self-leveling, still running though satisfactory, while the service company was attempting to fix it.
We were surprised by the misunderstanding with the receptionist because there is no such policy. We are investigating how the employee did not understand your request and it ended negatively.
We hope to see you back in either Philippos or Herodion hotels and have the opportunity to satisfy you.
Katia Tsimidopoulou
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,336 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
736 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,846 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,363 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 6,036 - ₹ 11,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing