We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, room size and staff.”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Arrived at bus station to find strike on, caught Taxi to hotel and could not believe how cheap it was. Great reception in English and we tried out our Greek and they understood! Lovely room with a view of the Acropolis, great buffet breakfast and then just up the road to the Acropolis, Piaka district (nice cheap food) and the Hop on and off bus we had pre-boked. Loved this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the Acropolis - lights up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranz-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 664 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Philippos is in an excellent location and offers a great value for travellers not looking to spend a fortune. The hotel is modern and comfortable, but falls a bit short on some key factors, especially for those accustomed to the size and ammenities of American hotels. The staff was very friendly, meeting us at the airport, and attending to the needs of our group very well. For our purposes, our stay was excellent, but if you are expecting anything more than a comfortable place to sleep, check your email, and a light breakfast, you will have to find it outside the hotel. Our room had a balcony; just large enough to step out and get some fresh air. The bathroom was, even by European standards, very small, and had no ventilation. I'm 6'1" and 230# and found it difficult to negotiate opening and closing the door once inside the bathroom. You almost have to sit on the toilet and THEN close the door. The shower was big enough, but had an odd "step" on the floor that made it difficult (dangerous, actually) to comfortable stand and shower, but the hose on the wand was not long enough to use while seated (and besides, who under the age of 80 sits down in the shower?). The tv was not a flat screen and could not be fully viewed from the bed, due to the angle from within it's enclosure. It also had broken buttons, and the remote did not have a power button. Breakfast was light; typical European continental breakfast. There is no other dining option on-site, but of course there are many excellent restaurants within a short walk. The internet was 9EUR for 24 hours. It wasn't the price that bothered me, but rather the fact that you had to physically go down to the front desk to sign up and get a little piece of paper with the username and password on it, even to re-up for an additional 24 hours. The big plus to this hotel is the proximity to the Acropolis; perhaps a 4-5 block walk (uphill of course). However, if you're looking for a real treat of a place to stay and are not as value-conscious, stay at the Herodion up the block, under the same management.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pglein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Herodion (a sister hotel) on our first trip eleven years ago, and it is more upscale than the Phillippos, but also cost more. As you are probably there to visit the Acropolis and the new museum, this is a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful (especially the night clerk!). Yes the rooms are small, but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean.

For a "Double" the two beds are pushed together. The breakfast was included. WiFi was extra. They had computers off of the lobby. I didn't manage to get the wifi in our room, but I think someone else was successful.

Room Tip: Others in our group said the first floor rooms off of the lobby were a bit noisy. Our room (Acropoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNWTravelr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stay at the Philippos a lot when I come to Athens, predominantly for that rarest of all commodities in the city - a bit of peace and quiet.
Everything changed around the area when the Dionysiou Areopagitou (the main road beneath the Acropolis just a short walk up the hill from the hotel) was pedestrianised and, as a result, all the roads around the hotel became quiet surburban streets.
Already in a fantastic location just 5 minutes walk from the Acropolis, things have been improved still further since the opening of the new museum which is very close nearby.
And you need have no fear about getting to the restaurant areas as Monastiraki is just a pleasant peaceful walk around the other side of the Acropolis; Hadrian's Arch, the Temple of Olympian Zeus, the National Gardens, Syntagma, Zappeton, etc are all within 20 minutes walk in the other direction and, anyway, there are buses and taxis nearby if even this is too much for you.
Every room I've stayed in has been very clean and pleasant, although there is some variation in the size that you get (especially when travelling solo), but try to get a balcony room overlooking the street and you'll be thrilled with the view.
The staff are extremely helpful and speak excellent English. Breakfast is a typical buffet affair but there is no restaurant on site for evening meals. The Philippos will recommend its sister hotel just round the corner for dinner and take some time to look at some of the tavernas in the area. Most offer a genuine local experience without stinging you with tourist prices.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking Mitzeon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Lipsiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at the Philippos Hotel for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon. The hotel is located a block or two from the Acropolis and about a 15 minute walk to Monastiraki. We liked that it was slightly outside of the main tourist area because it was in a more local Greek neighborhood. The front desk was always helpful/friendly and they upgraded us to what must've been the best room in the hotel. Our room was a suite on the top floor with a huge terrace with a view of the Acropolis. Couldn't have asked for a better end to our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,887 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 5,838 - ₹ 11,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing