We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A for Athens
Nearby Hotels
US$ 322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amalia Hotel(Athens)
US$ 207
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Areos Hotel(Athens)
US$ 130
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 411
US$ 336
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 187
US$ 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$ 234
US$ 206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 293
US$ 280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 292
US$ 198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 189
US$ 173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 276
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
615
371
86
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
371
86
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonastiraki squarerooftop barmetro stationbusy squaretop flooracropolis viewbring earplugslight sleeperan amazing viewhotel guestsflea marketwhere breakfast is servedperfect locationnoisy at nightfirst floorrooms are largewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

On a recent 3 day trip to Athens, we stayed at A For Athens hotel. It was just before the special elections and we were a bit concerned about demonstrators, riots, etc. We could not have been more pleased with the location of this hotel. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful - one day time staffer even offered to help get our daughter a "go phone" the following day on his day off. Because of the bar on the top of the hotel, it can get a bit noisy. But there is no doubt that this is the hotel we will book if/when we return to Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I chose this hotel for our 3 night Athens stay after quite extensive Tripadvisor research, attracted by the largely appreciative reviews and its central location and Acropolis views. I was a little disappointed on arrival as it is situated on a rather crummy street and its entrance and reception look somewhat budget. Spirits were lifted a bit by the fantastic chap who manned reception during the day, he checked us in promptly and was so helpful and friendly, though this is a place where you manage your own luggage. Our room was pleasant enough,simple but reasonably spacious and with the requested Acropolis view. The bathroom had decent quality fittings and the only room complaint would be the paltry 5 coat-hangers (though there is nearly always a dearth of coathangers in hotels - why can't they put loads more in?!) The roof top bar is sensational for a drink and has what must be the best view in the city, wrap around Acropolis and city views. Drinks are cheap and service speedy and friendly, the place buzzes from day to dawn. And therein lies the big problem with this hotel. The noise from the bar is crazy. I had requested a quiet room following my TA research, but the music and chatter pounded away until the wee hours and we could not sleep. When that noise subsided we were kept awake by the dragging of chairs and tables as staff turned the bar around ready for breakfast. In addition, the hotel suffers from a lot of street noise as it is slap bang on busy Monastiraki Square . We asked to move rooms the next day (our lovely man on reception said ours was a quiet room!). We were swiftly and helpfully moved to a room on a lower level,( losing the Acropolis views but hey ho). Sadly the noise was little better. So we took to staying out very late ourselves in a bid not to suffer such long sleepless nights. Another huge problem with the hotel is the completely inadequate 3 person lift. This serves not just hotel residents but the queues of revellers wanting to reach the famous 6th floor bar. Invariably a line of 10 or more people are waiting. At check in we were informed that as hotel guests we had priority and we would be jumped ahead of the queue but this didnt work in practice as the reception staff were invariably tied up and few people felt inclined to jump the queue anyway. Due to this traffic the lift was never available to use coming down from our room either. So its the stairs! Breakfast is a simple self service affair, no frills, juice and pastries were run down towards the last half hour of breakfast. Once it was gone it was gone! It felt like breakfast staff were focused on getting through that session and getting things moved on to the next stage, (after breakfast the rooftop space becomes a cafe-bar). Focus was not on guests having a great breakfast and no-one informs you the buffet is closing. It just disappears! You have to commend them as a business for maximising the space though! To conclude, this is not a bad hotel,it is friendly, helpful, well situated,offers the possibility of great views, its reasonable value, (we paid around £135 a night for a room for 2 adults and a sm child with bkfast and the view - though it must be said there are plenty of bargains to be had in Athens right now) But, unless you are one of the revellers, and if you are looking for full frills service, its not for you. Despite all this, we came away with good memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Beg to avoid the bar noise!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is amazing and good value. You MUST pay the extra for an Acropolis view. The most amazing uninterrupted view of the Acropolis. Rooms were clean and modern with good showers. Breakfast on the roof top bar was very good with stunning views. We also had cocktails on the roof on Friday night. Very busy but friendly with great cocktails. Got talking Greek politics with locals. Staff were all great and very helpful and welcoming. Yes, lift is an issue but walking up 3 flights of stairs to our room was ok. Also the staff will let you push in if you are competing for the lift with people going to the bar. We stayed on 3rd floor so were not disturbed by noise and still had great views. Well worth the money and would return without question.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilDowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It is our third stay in this wonderful hotel. In spite of its great success and glowing reviews, the staff still takes the time to help you in anyway they can. They consistently go out of their way with both warmth and genuine sincerity to help with the many different problems that can arise when traveling abroad.
The satisfying morning breakfast on the covered roof top with one of the best view of the Acropolis is just a great way to start the day .
Evangelos, Christos, Kyriakos, and all, are really there to make their guests feel at home.
One caveat, do not stay on the 5th floor under the bar on the 6th floor. The bar is so popular that music can go on til 3am ! And then they clean til 4am !
Just remember to request a quiet room.

Room Tip: ask the staff t help you choose the best quiet room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelizSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were a group of 4 staying 4 nights. 2 of us had a room on level 1 , the other 2 on level 5.
On level 6 is the breakfast patio/bar/nightclub, and visitors tie up the small lift although the staff insist on guests taking priority.
Those on level 5 were awake half the night with nightclub noise and then were woken by the shifting of furniture in the early morning in preparation for breakfast.
Despite this we loved the hotel, it is new, modern and the staff are excellent. The breakfast is the best I've had so far this trip with plenty of fruit, bacon (very rare) and homemade jams.
The level 5 room had spectacular views of the Acropolis and a small balcony overlooking Monisteraki square. The neighborhood was rather seedy, but for tourists it was perfect, with the acropolis and syntagma square, amazing shops and markets all in easy walking distance. The metro station is right out the front of the hotel so you couldn't get a better location. Plenty of cafes, restaurants nearby and it's hard to decide where to eat, although they all basically offer the same menus.
Highly recommend this hotel, despite the nightclub on the rooftop.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank sparklespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews