We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 75 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Amazingly located in the centre. The rooftop bar is a must visit but you cant beat how strategicially it is located in Athens. Everything is walking distance. From the shopping streets to the food area of Psiri to even the Pantheon.
The amount I saved in taxi fare/metro fare beats every drawback this place has. And this place doesnt have that many disadvantages. The staff is very helpful and always smiling & happy to greet you.

Issues:
Breakfast was usual fare. Nothing spectacular. Was repeated for the 2 days I did have it.
The lift was small and as per all the other reviews, there is always a line there. As guest you do get priority when going up but the waiting involved when going down is still a problem.
My room window was broken and hanging by a hinge. This increased the overall noise in my room. The street is noisy and bustling with activities all the way till 3am.

Minor nitpicks though in the overall picture.

If I visit Athens again, this would def be the place I would visit again. The location. You will not get another place so centrally located at such a bargain price anywhere in Athens. I would stay here and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a 4th floor/3rd floor/2nd floor room to balance out the walking down the stairs from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    342
    82
    34
    19
See reviews for
151
472
75
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

On a recent 3 day trip to Athens, we stayed at A For Athens hotel. It was just before the special elections and we were a bit concerned about demonstrators, riots, etc. We could not have been more pleased with the location of this hotel. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful - one day time staffer even offered to help get our daughter a "go phone" the following day on his day off. Because of the bar on the top of the hotel, it can get a bit noisy. But there is no doubt that this is the hotel we will book if/when we return to Athens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
805 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I chose this hotel for our 3 night Athens stay after quite extensive Tripadvisor research, attracted by the largely appreciative reviews and its central location and Acropolis views. I was a little disappointed on arrival as it is situated on a rather crummy street and its entrance and reception look somewhat budget. Spirits were lifted a bit by the fantastic chap who manned reception during the day, he checked us in promptly and was so helpful and friendly, though this is a place where you manage your own luggage. Our room was pleasant enough,simple but reasonably spacious and with the requested Acropolis view. The bathroom had decent quality fittings and the only room complaint would be the paltry 5 coat-hangers (though there is nearly always a dearth of coathangers in hotels - why can't they put loads more in?!) The roof top bar is sensational for a drink and has what must be the best view in the city, wrap around Acropolis and city views. Drinks are cheap and service speedy and friendly, the place buzzes from day to dawn. And therein lies the big problem with this hotel. The noise from the bar is crazy. I had requested a quiet room following my TA research, but the music and chatter pounded away until the wee hours and we could not sleep. When that noise subsided we were kept awake by the dragging of chairs and tables as staff turned the bar around ready for breakfast. In addition, the hotel suffers from a lot of street noise as it is slap bang on busy Monastiraki Square . We asked to move rooms the next day (our lovely man on reception said ours was a quiet room!). We were swiftly and helpfully moved to a room on a lower level,( losing the Acropolis views but hey ho). Sadly the noise was little better. So we took to staying out very late ourselves in a bid not to suffer such long sleepless nights. Another huge problem with the hotel is the completely inadequate 3 person lift. This serves not just hotel residents but the queues of revellers wanting to reach the famous 6th floor bar. Invariably a line of 10 or more people are waiting. At check in we were informed that as hotel guests we had priority and we would be jumped ahead of the queue but this didnt work in practice as the reception staff were invariably tied up and few people felt inclined to jump the queue anyway. Due to this traffic the lift was never available to use coming down from our room either. So its the stairs! Breakfast is a simple self service affair, no frills, juice and pastries were run down towards the last half hour of breakfast. Once it was gone it was gone! It felt like breakfast staff were focused on getting through that session and getting things moved on to the next stage, (after breakfast the rooftop space becomes a cafe-bar). Focus was not on guests having a great breakfast and no-one informs you the buffet is closing. It just disappears! You have to commend them as a business for maximising the space though! To conclude, this is not a bad hotel,it is friendly, helpful, well situated,offers the possibility of great views, its reasonable value, (we paid around £135 a night for a room for 2 adults and a sm child with bkfast and the view - though it must be said there are plenty of bargains to be had in Athens right now) But, unless you are one of the revellers, and if you are looking for full frills service, its not for you. Despite all this, we came away with good memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Beg to avoid the bar noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is amazing and good value. You MUST pay the extra for an Acropolis view. The most amazing uninterrupted view of the Acropolis. Rooms were clean and modern with good showers. Breakfast on the roof top bar was very good with stunning views. We also had cocktails on the roof on Friday night. Very busy but friendly with great cocktails. Got talking Greek politics with locals. Staff were all great and very helpful and welcoming. Yes, lift is an issue but walking up 3 flights of stairs to our room was ok. Also the staff will let you push in if you are competing for the lift with people going to the bar. We stayed on 3rd floor so were not disturbed by noise and still had great views. Well worth the money and would return without question.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilDowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It is our third stay in this wonderful hotel. In spite of its great success and glowing reviews, the staff still takes the time to help you in anyway they can. They consistently go out of their way with both warmth and genuine sincerity to help with the many different problems that can arise when traveling abroad.
The satisfying morning breakfast on the covered roof top with one of the best view of the Acropolis is just a great way to start the day .
Evangelos, Christos, Kyriakos, and all, are really there to make their guests feel at home.
One caveat, do not stay on the 5th floor under the bar on the 6th floor. The bar is so popular that music can go on til 3am ! And then they clean til 4am !
Just remember to request a quiet room.

Room Tip: ask the staff t help you choose the best quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelizSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,234 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
1,454 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,966 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,082 - ₹ 27,894
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing