We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Hotel
Ranked #6 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Great 5 star hotel. Easy to get to from the airport on the metro and then only a short walk from the metro station. Close to eating places and the acropolis. The rooms are very funky and the beds are very comfortable. We got great service from all staff and the breakfast was very good. We even used the gym which was basic but all we needed. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you as our guest at New Hotel and we will be happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    350
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
728
67
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metter, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The pictures on the website are true pictures. The decor is an experience not to be forgotten. This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. My family finished our 10 day trip to Greece with the last two nights spent in Athens at the New Hotel. The breakfast was wonderful with the best pastries I have ever eaten anywhere! Don't skip any of them. The hotel staff, from check in to check out, and everything between were so very helpful and accommodating. They arranged our transportation to the airport and included the cost in our hotel bill. We did not have to worry about getting more Euro at the last minute. The location is very convenient. One block away we took the hop on hop off bus tour and used it as transportation too. Easy walk to shopping and flea market. I'm 55 and my mother is in her 70's, we both thought the location was very good. The New Hotel really made our trip to Athens a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in New Hotel and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the New Hotel in Athens in June 2012. I booked this hotel based on the previous reviews placed on Trip Advisor.
The hotel is situated about 2 minutes from Syntagma Square where there are good transport links to anywhere in the city. There is a sight-seeing tour bus stop at the square which is very convenient for jumping on and off when required.
The hotel is also very close to the Plaka (10min walk), which is a delightful area with many restaurants and shops, and comes alive at about 10pm at night.
The hotel staff were incredibly efficient, friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well situated hotel in the heart of Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPenhaligon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and very happy with our stay. Would 100% recommend to anyone and would stay here again!

- Convenient - walking distance to train to airport in Syntagma Square, 10 minutes to Acropolis/Parthenon, and 5 minutes to Plaka district (cafes, boutiques) & Flea Market
- Great service - friendly staff, great included brunch, can arrange airport transfer with taxi if you don't want to take train from airport to Syntagma Square
- Accommodations - Rooms are a little small but very modern, clean; gym downstairs has basics

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess_nyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your last visit in Athens as well as your kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
We remain at your disposal.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I spent the first leg of our honeymoon at the New Hotel. Having never been to Greece, we were not sure what to expect. We were so so pleased with the facility, our cool yet very comfortable sleeping room, the *excellent* breakfast, and the warm and helpful staff. They gave us recommendations on where to go in the area and were so kind to help us figure out a few of our tours and transfers. The hotel is located central to everything - Plaka, the Acropolis and the new Museum, Syntagma Square, the gardens Temple of Zeus... the list goes on. We walked everywhere and didn't need a single cab. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsaySiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in New Hotel and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,090 - ₹ 20,061
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing